Orson Scott Card is best known for his science fiction novel Ender's Game and it’s many sequels that expand the Ender Universe. The series is set in a future where mankind is facing annihilation by an aggressive alien society, an insect-like race known colloquially as "Buggers" but more formally as "Formics". The central character, Andrew "Ender" Wiggin, is one of the child soldiers trained at Battle School (and eventually Command School) to be the future leaders of the protection of Earth. The books are organized into the Ender Quintet, the five books that chronicle the life of Ender Wiggin; the Shadow Series, that follows on the novel Ender’s Shadow and are set on Earth; and the First Formic Wars Series, written with co-author Aaron Johnston, that tells of the terrible first contact between humans and the alien “Buggers.” According to the Card, there is no strictly preferred order of reading them, except that Xenocide should be read right before Children of the Mind. The books can be read in the order in which they were originally written or in chronological order.

The Ender Quintet opens with Ender's Game followed by Speaker for the Dead, Xenocide, Children of the Mind and Ender in Exile.

The Shadow Series begins with the novel Ender's Shadow, which parallels the events of Ender's Game from a different character’s point of view. Then comes Shadow of the Hegemon, Shadow Puppets, Shadow of the Giant and Shadows in Flight.

The First Formic Wars Series is thus far comprised of Earth Unaware and Earth Afire.
Advertisement Bottom