12 Tales (Limited Edition) CD (2002)

Artist: Various Artists

Customer Reviews   Write a Review

Be the first to review this item and earn 25 Rakuten Super Points™

Product Overview


Label Koch International Distributio
SKU 60539429
UPC 720841059424
UPC 14 00720841059424
Format CD
Release Date 2/12/2002
Author Various Artists
Technical Info
Producer Christopher Ewen; Henikkinen; Rom Di Prisco; Mo Safder; PK; Harvey; Jim Shaw; Alison Shaw; Melora Creager; Robin Guthrie; Russell Mills; Stephin Merritt; The Creatures; The Legendary Pink Dots; Tom Smyth; Tracy Chisholm
CatalogID INS 594
Lable Name Instinct
Released 02/12/2002
Original Release 2002
Number of Discs 1
SPARE Code n/a
Length 51m : 10s
Mono/Stereo Stereo
Studio/Live Studio
UPC 00720841059424
Album Notes and Credits
Personnel: David Sylvian (vocals).
Liner Note Author: Melora Creager.
Illustrator: Amy Brown.
The ethereal beauty of 12 Tales showcases a dark romance and the fairytale imagery surrounding the album casts an alluring soundscape. Rasputina's "Hunter's Kiss" is enchanting and intricate with its goth-like hues. Stephin Merritt and his Future Bible Heroes is a peculiar selection. Merritt, whose Magnetic Fields brings him much praise among the indie scene, casts an attractive aura. His brooding vocals on "O! What a Dream It Was" are shy and sensitive, proving a perfect fit for this collection. The Cranes' "Flute Song" is pretty traditional. Alison Shaw's childlike vocals tiptoe over scanty drum beats, and goth-rock and darkwave fans will be pleased. The Creatures' "Slipping Away" highlight Budgie's magnificent percussive drive inside Siouxsie Sioux's tantalizing scowl for a hazy electronic swirl of hypnotic breaks. 12 Tales is gorgeous and intriguing while selectively showcasing some of goth-rock's more passionate individuals for an album full of lush melodies. Additional tracks from Violet Indiana, the Legendary Pink Dots, and Miranda Sex Garden are also included. ~ MacKenzie Wilson
Disc 1
1 Hunter's Kiss - Rasputina
2 O! What A Dream It Was - Future Bible Heroes
3 Lick - The Flir
4 Flute Song - Cranes
5 Impossible Gardens - Bitstream Dream
6 Slipping Away - The Creatures
7 Purr La Perla - Violet Indiana
8 Ardera Sempre - Miranda Sex Garden
9 Room Of Sixteen Shimmers - Russell Mills/Undark
10 Flying - Livid Kittens
11 You Could Walk Forever - Devics
12 War Of Silence, The - The Legendary Pink Dots
Sold Out
Sorry, you missed the deal!
This product is currently not available.