Ships from/sold by Buy.com
See All Buying Options
advertisement

53 Days (Hardcover)

Earn Super Points: Write a Review
Sorry, this selection is currently unavailable.
53 Days Perec, Georges/ Mathews, Harry (EDT)/ Roubaud, Jacques (EDT)/ Bellos, David (TRN)/ Bellos, David/ Ma 1 of 1
$23.95
(Save 14%)
$20.45 + $2.90 SHIPPING
EARN 21 RAKUTEN SUPER POINTS™ Super Points
What are Rakuten Super Points™?
Get rewarded when you shop! Earn 1 point per dollar spent. That's like getting cash back on every purchase. Easy to see matured points in checkout. Use points just like cash.
Learn More
FORMAT: Hardcover
CONDITION:  Brand New
TEMPORARILY SOLD OUT.:
More inventory may be available. Place your order today and be one of the first to receive this product when it arrives!
Alert me when this item is in stock.
1 New
from
$20.25
See all sellers
45 day return policy
Share
 
Description
More Buying Options
 

Learn more about 53 Days:

Format: Hardcover
ISBN-10: 1567920888
ISBN-13: 9781567920888
Sku: 202819617
Publish Date: 11/14/2014
Pages:  272
Age Range:  NA
See more in Thrillers
 
Georges Perec, the celebrated author of Life A User's Manual (Godine, 1987), was working on this "literary thriller" at the time of his death. He had completed only 11 chapters of a planned 28, but left extensive drafts and notes supplying the rest of the mystery, as well as numerous twists and subplots. From these, Harry Mathews and Jacques Roubaud have assembled the elements of the unfinished mystery, along the way providing a fascinating view into the author's mind as he fashioned his literary conundrum.

Absorbing, allusive, and joyously playful, "53 Days" is the ultimate detective story. The narrator, a teacher in a tropical French colony, is trying to track down the famous crime-writer Robert Serval, who has mysteriously disappeared. Serval has left behind the manuscript of his last, unfinished novel, which may contain clues to his fate. From this beginning, Perec lures the reader into a labyrinth of mirror-stories whose solutions can only be glimpsed before they in turn recede around the corner.

In the tradition of Agatha Christie's And Then There Were None, Perec's "53 Days" is a supremely satisfying, engrossing, and truly original mystery. Like his previous work, it is also "a kaleidoscope of ingenious juxtapositions" (Le Monde) from one of the century's most inventive and important writers.

Advertisement Bottom