Ships from/sold by
See All Buying Options

Anthology (1999)

Artist: Oingo Boingo
Earn Rakuten Super Points™: Write a Review
Sorry, this selection is currently unavailable.
Anthology CD 1 of 1
(Save 23%)
$23.58 + $1.90 SHIPPING
EARN 24 RAKUTEN SUPER POINTS™ Rakuten Super Points™
What are Rakuten Super Points™?
Get rewarded when you shop! Earn 1 point per dollar spent. That's like getting cash back on every purchase. Easy to see matured points in checkout. Use points just like cash.
Learn More
IN STOCK: Usually Ships within 24 hours
Very few left In Stock! Order soon -- product may sell out.
1 New
See all sellers
45 day return policy
More Buying Options

Learn more about Anthology:

Format: CD
Sku: 60366150
UPC: 606949049423
UPC 14: 00606949049423
Release Date: 11/2/1999
See more in Pop

Song Listing

Disc 1
Song Title
1. Intro: Tender Lumplings - (previously unreleased, live) ~ Oingo Boingo
2. Ain't This The Life ~ Oingo Boingo
3. Nasty Habits ~ Oingo Boingo
4. On The Outside ~ Oingo Boingo
5. Only A Lad ~ Oingo Boingo
6. Little Girls ~ Oingo Boingo
7. Grey Matter ~ Oingo Boingo
8. Wild Sex (In The Working Class) ~ Oingo Boingo
9. Private Life ~ Oingo Boingo
10. No Spill Blood ~ Oingo Boingo
11. Nothing Bad Ever Happens To Me ~ Oingo Boingo
12. Sweat ~ Oingo Boingo
13. Who Do You Want To Be ~ Oingo Boingo
14. Gratitude - (with Danny Elfman) ~ Oingo Boingo
15. It Only Makes Me Laugh - (with Danny Elfman) ~ Oingo Boingo
16. Everybody Needs - (with Danny Elfman) ~ Oingo Boingo
17. Dead Man's Party ~ Oingo Boingo
18. Weird Science - (alternate mix, from "Weird Science") ~ Oingo Boingo
Disc 2
Song Title
1. Just Another Day ~ Oingo Boingo
2. Stay ~ Oingo Boingo
3. Not My Slave ~ Oingo Boingo
4. Where Do All My Friends Go ~ Oingo Boingo
5. Mama ~ Oingo Boingo
6. Cinderella Undercover ~ Oingo Boingo
7. Flesh 'N' Blood ~ Oingo Boingo
8. When the Lights Go Out ~ Oingo Boingo
9. Out Of Control ~ Oingo Boingo
10. Insanity - (Brian Malouf remix, medium version) ~ Oingo Boingo
11. Mary ~ Oingo Boingo
12. We Close Our Eyes - (live) ~ Oingo Boingo
13. Whole Day Off - (live) ~ Oingo Boingo
14. Piggies - (live) ~ Oingo Boingo
15. Insects - (live) ~ Oingo Boingo
16. Goodbye, Goodbye ~ Oingo Boingo

Album Notes and Credits

Notes & Personnel Info
Muze PNote Liner notes feature an interview with Danny Elfman.
Muze PNote Oingo Boingo: Danny Elfman (vocals, guitar); Richard Gibbs (vocals, trombone, keyboards, synthesizer, programming); Carl Graves (vocals, keyboards); Kerry Hatch (vocals, synthesizer, bass); John Avila (vocals, bass); Steve Bartek (guitar); Sam Sluggo" Phipps (clarinet, soprano & tenor saxophones); Leon Scheiderman (alto & baritone saxophone); Dale Turner (trumpet, trombone); Paul Fox (synthesizer); Johnny "Vatos" Hernandez (drums, percussion).
Muze PNote Additional personnel: Jimmie Wood (harmonica); Doug Lacy, Kenny Kotwitz, Brian Mann (accordion); Yvonne S. Moriarity (French horn); Bruce Fowler, George McMullen (trombone); Ralph Grierson (piano); Katurah Clark (percussion); Marko Babineau, Mike Gormley (background vocals).
Muze PNote Compilation producers: Bob Garcia, Laura Engel, Dana Smart.
Muze PNote Recorded in 1980 through 1996. Includes liner notes by Bob Garcia.
Muze PNote Digitally remastered by Dave Collins (A&M Mastering Studios, Hollywood, California).
Muze PNote Personnel: Carl Graves (vocals, keyboards); Danny Elfman (vocals, percussion, programming); Kerry Hatch, John Avila (vocals); Richard Gibbs (bass voice, trombone, keyboards, synthesizer); Steve Bartek (guitar); Jimmie Wood (harmonica); Kenneth Kotwitz, Brian Mann (accordion); Sam Phipps (tenor saxophone); Leon Schneiderman (baritone saxophone); Dale Turner (trumpet, trombone); Yvonne S. Moriarty (French horn); George McMullen, Bruce Fowler (trombone); Ralph Grierson (piano); Marc Mann (keyboards, sampler); Mike Bacich (keyboards); Johnny Hernandez (drums); Katurah Clarke (percussion); Mark Babineau, Mike Gormley (background vocals).
Muze PNote Audio Remixer: Brian Malouf.
Muze PNote Liner Note Author: Bob Garcia.
Muze PNote Photographers: Dennis Keeley; Gwendolen Cates; Steve Jennings; Francis Delia; Paddy Reynolds.
Muze PNote One of the positive effects of the Seagrams/Polygram merger is that several bands who had recorded for different labels--A&M and MCA in this case--during their careers, were able to release comprehensive career compilations now that one company controlled all of their master tapes. ANTHOLOGY is the first comprehensive Oingo Boingo compilation, and it makes the previous single-label efforts, SKELETONS IN THE CLOSET and BEST O' BOINGO, redundant.
Muze PNote Anthology includes previously unreleased tracks, remixes and live performances alongside well-known Oingo Boingo gems like "Ain't This the Life," "Private Lives," and "Where Do All My Friends Go." With a handful of tracks from Danny Elfman's 1984 solo album, this excellent two-disc set redefines Oingo Boingo for those who knew them only as "the new wave band Danny Elfman was in before he became a soundtrack composer."

Musical Guests
Muze Guest Artist Danny Elfman

Artist Overview

Oingo Boingo began in 1972 as the Mystic Knights of Oingo Boingo, a cabaret-influenced musical theater troupe. In 1980 they pared down to an octet and changed their sound to reflect new wave, ska, post-punk, and world music elements. Their eponymous EP spawned the hit single "Only a Lad," and a full-length by that name appeared in 1981. The hit "Nothing Bad Ever Happens to Me," from 1983's GOOD FOR YOUR SOUL, continued the band's winning streak, as did 1985's DEAD MAN'S PARTY. Songs from the album appeared in several films, including WEIRD SCIENCE and BACK TO SCHOOL. Four less successful album followed, including BOINGO, which featured a more guitar-driven sound. Around this time, original member Danny Elfman left to pursue a successful career in film composing. Oingo Boingo disbanded in 1996.
Artist Followers
Mr. Bungle | Primus | Weird Al Yankovic

Compilation Appearances

Muze Music Compilations I Want My 80's Box! (Box Set)
Muze Music Compilations Halloween Classics

Technical Info

Music Release Date Release Date : 11/02/1999
Music Original Release Date Original Release Date : 1999
Music CatalogId Catalog ID : 490494
Music Label Name Label : Hip-O
Music Number of Discs Number of Discs : 2
Music Studio or Live Studio/Live : Mixed
Music Mono or Stereo Mono/Stereo : Stereo
Music SPAR code SPAR Code : n/a
Music UPC UPC : 00606949049423

Advertisement Bottom