Ships from/sold by Importcds
Seller Rating:
See All Buying Options
Artist: Various Artists
Earn Rakuten Super Points™: Write a Review
Sorry, this selection is currently unavailable.
Black Power: music Of A Revolution CD 1 of 1
(Save 31%)
$13.00 + $2.98 SHIPPING
EARN 13 RAKUTEN SUPER POINTS™ Rakuten Super Points™
What are Rakuten Super Points™?
Get rewarded when you shop! Earn 1 point per dollar spent. That's like getting cash back on every purchase. Easy to see matured points in checkout. Use points just like cash.
Learn More
IN STOCK: Usually Ships in 1 to 2 business days
4 New
See all sellers
View My Store
More Buying Options
Seller Information

Learn more about Black Power: music Of A Revolution:

Format: CD
Sku: 61008364
UPC: 826663739824
UPC 14: 00826663739824
Release Date: 6/1/2004
See more in R&B / Soul

Song Listing

Disc 1
Song Title
1. Black Panther Party Calls For, The - Huey P. Newton ~ Various Artists
2. You're The Man (Part 1) - Marvin Gaye ~ Various Artists
3. Let's Clean up the Ghetto - Philadelphia International All Stars ~ Various Artists
4. Change It - Kathleen Cleaver ~ Various Artists
5. Song To The System - Segments Of Time ~ Various Artists
6. Right On - Sons Of Slum ~ Various Artists
7. Tell It Like It Is - S.O.U.L. ~ Various Artists
8. Mighty Mighty - Earth, Wind & Fire ~ Various Artists
9. Compared To What - Les McCann & Eddie Harris ~ Various Artists
10. I Don't Know What This World Is Coming To - The Soul Children ~ Various Artists
11. Power to the People - Huey P. Newton ~ Various Artists
12. (For God's Sake) Give More Power To The People - The Chi-Lites ~ Various Artists
13. Give The People The Power They Want - The O'Jays ~ Various Artists
14. We Want Black Power - Stokely Carmichael ~ Various Artists
15. I'm Black And I'm Power - James Brown ~ Various Artists
16. Blackenized - Hank Ballard ~ Various Artists
17. So Much Strength - Stokely Carmichael ~ Various Artists
18. Fight The Power Part 1 - The Isley Brothers ~ Various Artists
19. Stop Singing And Start Swinging - Malcolm X ~ Various Artists
Disc 2
Song Title
1. Standing & Fighting - Malcolm X ~ Various Artists
2. Message From A Black Man - The Temptations ~ Various Artists
3. Part E, S - Watts Prophets ~ Various Artists
4. Violence Is As American As Cherry Pie - H. Rap Brown ~ Various Artists
5. Revolution Will Not Be Televised, The - Gil Scott-Heron ~ Various Artists
6. When The Revolution Comes - The Last Poets ~ Various Artists
7. Am I Black Enough For You - Billy Paul ~ Various Artists
8. Black Unity - Stokely Carmichael ~ Various Artists
9. My People...Hold On - Eddie Kendricks ~ Various Artists
10. Be Thankful For What You Got - William DeVaughn ~ Various Artists
11. Chocolate City - Parliament ~ Various Artists
12. We're A Winner - Curtis Mayfield ~ Various Artists
13. We Got More Soul - Dyke & The Blazers ~ Various Artists
14. I Am Somebody Part II - Johnnie Taylor ~ Various Artists
15. Express Yourself - Charles Wright & The Watts 103rd Street Rhythm Band ~ Various Artists
16. Respect Yourself - The Staple Singers ~ Various Artists
17. To Be Young, Gifted and Black - Nina Simone ~ Various Artists
18. Lift Ev'ry Voice And Sing - Kim Weston ~ Various Artists
19. Ain't No Stoppin' Us Now - McFadden & Whitehead ~ Various Artists

Album Notes and Credits

Notes & Personnel Info
Muze PNote Liner Note Author: Gerald Early.
Muze PNote Black Power: Music of a Revolution is a solid collection of soul and funk interspersed with choice spoken word excerpts from the civil rights and black power struggles of the 1960s, beginning with the voice of Huey Newton articulating the demands of the Black Panther Party, which opens onto both parts of Marvin Gaye's astonishing "You're the Man." And we're off. Along with well-known acts such as the Isley Brothers, Gil Scott-Heron, the O'Jays, Parliament, Curtis Mayfield, Charles Wright & the Watts 103rd Street Rhythm Band, Nina Simone, Hank Ballard, the Staple Singers, and James Brown are lesser-known yet necessary performers like the Soul Children, Dyke & the Blazers, and the Philadelphia International All Stars. Interspersed between the musical tracks are revolutionary exhortations by Stokely Carmichael, Kathleen Cleaver, Malcolm X, and Newton. The surprises are additions by Johnnie Taylor, McFadden & Whitehead, Kim Weston, and Billy Paul. But the omissions are glaring: Sly & the Family Stone are nowhere present; neither is Stevie Wonder, or Isaac Hayes. In addition, there is no jazz on this set. Why on earth were Archie Shepp and Sun Ra left off this collection? Why was poet Amiri Baraka (cited in the notes as the major force he was/is) not included? Gerald Early's liners are interesting, but they also belie his musical prejudice in claiming that the jazz vanguard of the 1960s was "...where atonality was clumsily married to bouts of intense, at times almost sentimental, lyricism." Wow, for a second he reads like Stanley Crouch or Wynton pontificating to Ken Burns. Ultimately, Black Power: Music of a Revolution is a sloppy mess to be sure, but a curious and engaging one at times. ~ Thom Jurek

Technical Info

Music Release Date Release Date : 06/01/2004
Music Original Release Date Original Release Date : 2004
Music CatalogId Catalog ID : 37398
Music Label Name Label : Shout! Factory
Music Number of Discs Number of Discs : 2
Music Studio or Live Studio/Live : Studio
Music Mono or Stereo Mono/Stereo : Stereo
Music SPAR code SPAR Code : n/a
Music UPC UPC : 00826663739824

Advertisement Bottom