Blues Conspiracy:live On The Legendar CD (2010)

Customer Reviews   Write a Review

Be the first to review this item and earn 25 Rakuten Super Points™

Product Overview


Label Stony Plain Records/ra
SKU 216993819
UPC 772532135320
UPC 14 00772532135320
Format CD
Release Date 9/28/2010
Author Joe Louis Walker
Compilation Appearance Blues Summit
Compilation Appearance Blues Routes-Heroes & Trickste
Compilation Appearance Hellhound On My Trail-Songs Of
Compilation Appearance Down The Dirt Road-Songs Of Ch
Compilation Appearance Blues On Blonde On Blonde
Compilation Appearance American Music:hightone Records Story
Compilation Appearance Blues White Album
Associated Artist/Work Cotton, James
Associated Artist/Work Cotton, James (Blues)
Associated Artist/Work Cotton, James (Harmonica)
Technical Info
Engineer Steve Spirn
Producer Joe Louis Walker
CatalogID SPCD1353
Lable Name Stony Plain (Canada)
Released 2010
Original Release 2010
Number of Discs 1
SPARE Code n/a
Length 73m : 46s
Mono/Stereo Stereo
Studio/Live Live
UPC 00772532135320
Musical Guests
Mike Finnigan
Johnny Winter
Curtis Salgado
Deanna Bogart
Tom Poole
Keith Crossan
Tommy Castro
Kirk Fletcher
Jason Ricci
Nick Moss
Paris Slim
Watermelon Slim
Duke Robillard
Todd Sharpville
Kenny Neal
Henry Oden
Kevin Burton
Jeff Minnieweat
Album Notes and Credits
Personnel: Joe Louis Walker (vocals, guitar, slide guitar); Duke Robillard, Johnny Winter, Kirk Fletcher, Linwood Taylor, Nick Moss, Paris Slim, Paul Nelson, Tab Benoit, Todd Sharpville, Tommy Castro (guitar); Jason Ricci, Kenny Neal, Watermelon Slim (harmonica); Keith Crossan (tenor saxophone, baritone saxophone); Deanna Bogart (tenor saxophone); Tom Poole (trumpet); Kevin Burton (piano, organ); Mitch Woods (piano); Mike Finnigan (organ); Jeff Minnieweather (drums).
Audio Mixer: John Paul Gauthier.
Recording information: The Legendary Rhythm & Blues Cruise (01/25/2010-01/27/2010).
Illustrator: Hans Freistatter.
Photographer: Joseph A. Rosen.
The Legendary Rhythm & Blues Cruise is one of those excursions on which a batch of musicians are put on a cruise ship with their fans for a few days of playing on the high seas, which makes it an ideal occasion for a live album packed with guests. Joe Louis Walker, appearing with his regular backup band (Linwood Taylor on second guitar, Kevin Burton on keyboards, Henry Oden on bass, and Jeff Minnieweather on drums), welcomes 18 guests on these 11 tracks, most prominent among them Johnny Winter and Duke Robillard. In fact, his interactions with such fellow guitarists are among the high points on the disc. Walker revisits his own repertoire, dating back to his debut album, Cold Is the Night ("Ten More Shows to Play") and its follow-up, The Gift ("747"), along with tracks from his last couple of records. His is an electric blues sound that, while rooted in tradition, also came along after such blues-rock acts as the Jimi Hendrix Experience and Cream, and there are occasional echoes of that style. It may be that, given the circumstances, the players were inclined to let themselves go a bit more than usual; after all, nobody had to worry about driving home. In any case, the arrangements can be stretched out to the point of being a little loose and ragged, and the singing, while enthusiastic, can be too. Most of that singing is done by Walker himself, and it's possible that he makes a point in a sleeve note of saying the album has no overdubs or fixes as a way of explaining the occasional croakiness in his voice. Such imperfections are more than offset, however, by the enthusiasm with which everybody plays. ~ William Ruhlmann
Professional Reviews
Living Blues (pp.37-38) - "Curtis Salgado and Mike Finnigan's vocals on the soulful ballad 'You're Gonna Make Me Cry' are particularly moving."
Disc 1
1 Slow Down GTO - (featuring Mike Finnigan)
2 Ain't That Cold - (featuring Johnny Winter)
3 You're Gonna Make Me Cry - (featuring Mike Finnigan)
4 Eyes Like a Cat - (featuring Deanna Bogart/Tom Poole/Keith Crossan/Tommy Castro)
5 Ten More Shows To Play - (featuring Kirk Fletcher)
6 Born In Chicago - (featuring Jason Ricci/Nick Moss/Paris Slim)
7 Sugar Mama - (featuring Watermelon Slim)
8 Tell Me Why - (featuring Duke Robillard/Todd Sharpville)
9 A Poor Man's Plea, A - (featuring Kenny Neal)
10 It's a Shame - (featuring Henry Oden/Kevin Burton/Jeff Minnieweather/Linwood Taylor)
11 747 - (featuring Paul Nelson/Mitch Woods/Paul Nelson/Tab Benoit)
Product Attributes
Artist Walker,Joe Louis
Label Stony Plain
Music Format Compact Disc

More Buying Options

Seller Infomation Price & Shipping
$12.95 + $1.90 shipping
Condition: Brand New
In Stock, 45 Day Returns

Usually Ships within 1 business day
Add to Cart
Importcds $11.99 + $2.98 shipping
Condition: Brand New
In Stock, 45 Day Returns
All our items are brand new - Ships directly from our Warehouse in California - Estimated delivery time: 5-7 days after shipment.
Usually ships in 1 to 2 business days
Add to Cart
Blow It Outa Here $15.94 + free shipping
Condition: Brand New
In Stock, 45 Day Returns
All products are BRAND NEW and factory sealed. Fast shipping with tracking and delivery confirmation! 100% Satisfaction Guaranteed.
Usually ships in 1 to 2 business days
Add to Cart
Movie Mars $13.96 + $2.98 shipping
Condition: Brand New
In Stock
Live on the Legendary Rhythm & Blues Cruise
Usually ships in 1 to 2 business days
Add to Cart
amitcj $14.27 + $2.85 shipping
Condition: Brand New
In Stock
Buy with confidence. Excellent Customer Service & Return policy. (BLUES CONSPIRACY:LIVE ON THE LEGENDAR)
Usually ships in 1 to 2 business days
Add to Cart
Load More Buying Options
$12.95 + $1.90 shipping
$16.98 You save $4.03 (23%)
Earn 13 ($0.13) Rakuten Super Points™
What are Rakuten Super Points™?
Get rewarded when you shop! Earn 1 point per dollar spent. That's like getting cash back on every purchase. Easy to see matured points in checkout. Use points just like cash.
Learn More
Format: CD
Condition: Brand New
Very few left In Stock! Order soon -- product may sell out.
In Stock. Usually Ships within 1 business day
Please select an option to buy
Add to Cart

Sold By:
For Books, Music, Movies & TV place over $40 (before tax and shipping charges) of eligible products in your shopping basket. Not valid with marketplace products, other restrictions apply.