Sold Out
This product is currently not available.

Blues Is Back (2003)

Artist: Various Artists
Earn Rakuten Super Points™: Write a Review
Sold Out!
Sorry, this selection is currently unavailable.
Blues Is Back CD 1 of 1

Learn more about Blues Is Back:

Format: CD
Sku: 60611194
UPC: 826416001321
UPC 14: 00826416001321
Release Date: 9/2/2003
See more in Jazz

Song Listing

Disc 1
Song Title
1. Airplane Blues - Sonny Terry ~ Various Artists
2. Baby Please Don't Go - Joe Lee Williams ~ Various Artists
3. Blowing The Blues - Blind Boy Fuller ~ Various Artists
4. Drop Down - Sleepy John Estes ~ Various Artists
5. Frankie - J. Hurt ~ Various Artists
6. Good Jelly - Big Bill Broonzy ~ Various Artists
7. Mama's Got The Blues - Bessie Smith ~ Various Artists
8. Revue Man Blues - Charlie Patton ~ Various Artists
9. Jive Blues, The - P. Chatman ~ Various Artists
10. Me And My Chauffeur Blues - Memphis Minnie ~ Various Artists
11. Mean Old 'Frisco Blues - Arthur Crudup ~ Various Artists
12. Sally Dog - Kokomo Arnold ~ Various Artists
13. Susie-Q - John Lee Williams ~ Various Artists
14. T-Bone Boogie - T-bone Walker ~ Various Artists
15. You Can't Get That Stuff No More - Tampa Red ~ Various Artists
16. Booze And Blues - Ma Rainey & Her Georgia Band ~ Various Artists
17. Everyday I Have The Blues - John Davis ~ Various Artists
Disc 2
Song Title
1. Black Gal Blues - John Lee Williamson ~ Various Artists
2. C.C. Rider - Blind John Davis ~ Various Artists
3. Death Of Blind Boy Fuller #1 - Brownie McGhee ~ Various Artists
4. Georgia Rag - Blind Willie McTell ~ Various Artists
5. Howlin' Winds - Big Joe Turner ~ Various Artists
6. Yancey Stomp - Jimmy Yancey ~ Various Artists
7. Joe Louis Strut - Memphis Minnie ~ Various Artists
8. Gamblin' Man Blues - Champion Jack Dupree ~ Various Artists
9. Stomp Boogie - John Lee Hooker ~ Various Artists
10. I Can't Be Satisfied - Muddy Waters ~ Various Artists
11. Pinebluff, Arkansas - Bukka White ~ Various Artists
12. Preaching Blues - Robert Johnson ~ Various Artists
13. Midnight Special - Huddie Ledbetter ~ Various Artists
14. Step It Up And Go No. 2 - Brownie McGhee ~ Various Artists
15. Jasper's Gal - Peter Chatman ~ Various Artists
16. Can't Do Like You Used To - Lightnin' Hopkins ~ Various Artists
17. Cemetery Blues - Bessie Smith ~ Various Artists

Album Notes and Credits

Notes & Personnel Info
Muze PNote This two-disc collection of old blues 78s, most of which date from the 1930s and 1940s (the Bessie Smith track, a stately version of "Cemetery Blues," was recorded in the 1920s), rambles all over the place through the styles and genres of early blues, from Delta slide to guitar rags and early jump blues, and given the lack of liner notes, has the feel of a hastily thrown together set. That ramshackle feel, though, is part of the charm of Blues Is Black, which offers a solid 100 minutes of old blues, and although there are some famous names here (Charley Patton, Robert Johnson, Memphis Minnie, Bessie Smith, John Lee Hooker), they are represented by relatively obscure sides and not their commonly anthologized titles, which is a nice plus. Among the highlights here are Sleepy John Estes' "Drop Down (I Don't Feel Welcome Here)," Mississippi John Hurt's gentle and disarming "Frankie," Charley Patton's powerful "Revenue Man Blues," and Robert Johnson's kinetic slide guitar on "Preaching Blues." The primal ooze of John Lee Hooker's instrumental "Stomp Boogie" makes it sound like it has just crawled out of a prehistoric blues swamp, and it literally gives chills. For some reason two live recordings of pianist Blind John Davis from the early 1970s in Europe are included, and while they don't really fit the time span of the rest of the set, both "Everyday I Have the Blues" and "C.C. Rider" are beautifully nuanced gems. It's hard to know whether Blues Is Black works as a collection by design or by accident, but it does work, and for fans of early blues looking for some rare tracks by both the obvious and not so obvious artists, this anthology is definitely worth a try. ~ Steve Leggett

Technical Info

Music Release Date Release Date : 09/02/2003
Music Original Release Date Original Release Date : 2003
Music CatalogId Catalog ID : 13
Music Label Name Label : 441 Records
Music Number of Discs Number of Discs : 2
Music Studio or Live Studio/Live : Studio
Music Mono or Stereo Mono/Stereo : Mixed
Music SPAR code SPAR Code : n/a
Music UPC UPC : 00826416001321

Advertisement Bottom