Ships from/sold by
See All Buying Options
Artist: Various Artists
Earn Rakuten Super Points™: Write a Review
Sorry, this selection is currently unavailable.
Chicago/Blues/Today! CD 1 of 1
(Save 24%)
$18.16 + $1.90 SHIPPING
EARN 19 RAKUTEN SUPER POINTS™ Rakuten Super Points™
What are Rakuten Super Points™?
Get rewarded when you shop! Earn 1 point per dollar spent. That's like getting cash back on every purchase. Easy to see matured points in checkout. Use points just like cash.
Learn More
IN STOCK: Usually Ships within 24 hours
Very few left In Stock! Order soon -- product may sell out.
4 New
See all sellers
45 day return policy
More Buying Options

Learn more about Chicago/Blues/Today!:

Format: CD
Sku: 60321408
UPC: 015707017220
UPC 14: 00015707017220
Release Date: 8/24/1999
See more in Jazz

Song Listing

Disc 1
Song Title
0. DISC 1:
1. Help Me (a Tribute To Sonny Boy Williamson) ~ Junior Wells' Chicago Blues Band
2. It Hurts Me Too (When Things Go Wrong) ~ Junior Wells' Chicago Blues Band
3. Messin' With the Kid ~ Junior Wells' Chicago Blues Band
4. Vietcong Blues ~ Junior Wells' Chicago Blues Band
5. All Night Long ~ Junior Wells' Chicago Blues Band
6. Going Ahead ~ J.B. Hutto & The Hawks
7. Please Help ~ J.B. Hutto & The Hawks
8. Too Much Alcohol ~ J.B. Hutto & The Hawks
9. Married Woman Blues ~ J.B. Hutto & The Hawks
10. That's The Truth ~ J.B. Hutto & The Hawks
11. Marie
12. Burning Fire
13. S. P. Blues
14. Sometimes I Wonder
15. Spann's Stomp
Disc 2
Song Title
0. DISC 2:
1. Cotton Crop Blues ~ Jimmy Cotton Blues Quartet
2. Blues Keep Falling, The ~ Jimmy Cotton Blues Quartet
3. Love Me or Leave ~ Jimmy Cotton Blues Quartet
4. Rocket 88 ~ Jimmy Cotton Blues Quartet
5. West Helena Blues ~ Jimmy Cotton Blues Quartet
6. Everything's Going To Turn Out Alright ~ Otis Rush
7. It's a Mean Old World ~ Otis Rush
8. I Can't Quit You Baby ~ Otis Rush
9. Rock ~ Otis Rush
10. It's My Own Fault ~ Otis Rush
11. Dust My Broom ~ Homesick James & His Dusters
12. Somebody Been Talkin' ~ Homesick James & His Dusters
13. Set A Date ~ Homesick James & His Dusters
14. So Mean To Me ~ Homesick James & His Dusters
Disc 3
Song Title
0. DISC 3:
1. One More Time
2. Kid Man Blues
3. My Black Mare
4. Stealin' Back
5. I Got Mine In Time
6. Tighten Up On It
7. Dynaflow Blues ~ Johnny Shines
8. Black Spider Blues ~ Johnny Shines
9. Layin' Down My Shoes and Clothes ~ Johnny Shines
10. If I Get Lucky ~ Johnny Shines
11. Rockin' My Boogie ~ Big Walter Horton
12. Mr. Boweevil ~ Johnny Shines
13. Hey, Hey ~ Johnny Shines

Album Notes and Credits

Notes & Personnel Info
Muze PNote Performers include: Junior Wells, J.B. Hutto, Otis Spann, Jimmy Cotton, Otis Rush, Homesick James, Johnny Young, Johnny Shine, Big Walter Horton, Memphis Charlie.
Muze PNote All tracks have been digitally remastered.
Muze PNote Personnel: Johnny Young (vocals, guitar, mandolin); Homesick James Williamson, J.B. Hutto, Johnny Shines, Otis Rush (vocals, guitar); Jimmy Cotton, Junior Wells (vocals, harmonica); Otis Spann (vocals, piano); Robert Crowder (alto); James "Pee Wee" Madison, Luther Tucker, Buddy Guy (guitar); Big Walter Horton, Charlie Musselwhite (harmonica); Roger Jones , Floyd Jones , Willie Dixon, Herman Hassell, Hayes Ware, Jack Myers (bass instrument); Elga Edmonds, Willie Lion, Fred Below, S.P. Leary, Frank Kirkland (drums).
Muze PNote In early 1966, blues history was made with the issuance of a three-volume set of new recordings produced by blues historian Samuel Charters. This series was known as Chicago/The Blues/Today! and the release sent shock waves through the world of rock & roll. Every artist on the three volumes had recorded before (some, like Otis Rush and Junior Wells, had actually seen small hits on the R&B charts), but these recordings were largely their introduction to a newer -- and predominately white -- album-oriented audience. The "Today!" part of the title was no bit of hyperbole, either. This series accurately portrayed a vast cross section of the Chicago blues scene as one could hear it on any given night in the mid-'60s. Rather than record full albums (which Charters had neither the budget nor the legal resources to pull off), each artist simply came in for a union-approved session of four to six songs, with each volume featuring three different groupings. With these recordings, blues suddenly gained respectability as something much more vital and vibrant than just a poor cousin of jazz. A new market for this music began, one that exists today in full blossom. Their effect on musicians was enormous. It's fair to assume that most blues-influenced artists had all three volumes in their respective collections, and the songs on them ended up in the repertoires of everyone from Jimi Hendrix (Junior Wells' "Rock Me") to Led Zeppelin (a note-for-note copy of Otis Rush's "I Can't Quit You Baby") to Steppenwolf (Junior Wells' "Messin' with the Kid") and beyond. These recordings have stayed in print and have been reasonably good sellers over the years since their original release, all coming out on compact disc. This new packaging puts all three volumes together, but with no bonus tracks, as no extras were recorded for these sessions.
Muze PNote So if one already owns these sides, what's the incentive this time around? That's easy: the sound is massively improved, with the bass that was rolled off the vinyl and original CD versions now being restored. This makes the tracks truly come alive, especially on the Otis Rush and Junior Wells sides, both fortified with some major amounts of badass bass thumping by Roger Jones and Jack Myers, respectively. One can really hear the spaciousness of the old RCA studios where this stuff was cut for the first time, and the detailing of the mix is in sharp focus throughout, although the increased bass causes some unwanted distortion on the Homesick James Williamson tracks. The other plus is the new packaging, which features a nice booklet with detailed, updated notes from Charters, a nice appreciation from Ed Ward, and absolutely eye-boggling session photos taken by Charters' wife, Ann, that alone are worth the price of the set. With the glut of blues reissues out there, it is often a coin toss regarding where best to spend your hard-earned money. Even if you still have the original vinyl or CDs, this is one of the times when it would be best to spend the dough and add this one to your collection, because blues records seldom come as important, innovative, or just plain pleasurable to listen to as this set. File under "essential." ~ Cub Koda

Producer: Sam Charters; Rom Vickers (Reissue)

Technical Info

Music Release Date Release Date : 07/27/1999
Music Original Release Date Original Release Date : 1999
Music CatalogId Catalog ID : 172/74-2
Music Label Name Label : Vanguard
Music Number of Discs Number of Discs : 3
Music Studio or Live Studio/Live : Studio
Music Mono or Stereo Mono/Stereo : Stereo
Music SPAR code SPAR Code : n/a
Music UPC UPC : 00015707017220

Professional Reviews

Dirty Linen (2-3/00, pp.53-4)
- " of the most eye-and-ear-opening sets in the history of blues music....for any musician who traveled the road from rock to blues in the 60s, these recordings were a vital bridge....a must for blues lovers."

Advertisement Bottom