Ships from/sold by
See All Buying Options
Artist: Various
Earn Rakuten Super Points™: Write a Review
Sorry, this selection is currently unavailable.
Classic Protest Songs From Smithsonia CD 1 of 1
(Save 21%)
$9.45 + $1.90 SHIPPING
EARN 10 RAKUTEN SUPER POINTS™ Rakuten Super Points™
What are Rakuten Super Points™?
Get rewarded when you shop! Earn 1 point per dollar spent. That's like getting cash back on every purchase. Easy to see matured points in checkout. Use points just like cash.
Learn More
More inventory may be available. Place your order today and be one of the first to receive this product when it arrives!
Alert me when this item is in stock.
5 New
See all sellers
45 day return policy
More Buying Options

Learn more about Classic Protest Songs From Smithsonia:

Format: CD
Sku: 210793568
UPC: 093074019726
UPC 14: 00093074019726
Release Date: 3/24/2009
See more in Folk

Song Listing

Disc 1
Song Title
1. Freedom Now Chant - Mass Meeting Participants In Hattiesburg, MS ~ Various Artists
2. Jesus Christ - Woody Guthrie ~ Various Artists
3. Bourgeois Blues - Leadbelly ~ Various Artists
4. Black, Brown, And White - Big Bill Broonzy ~ Various Artists
5. Baby, I've Been Thinking - Janis Ian ~ Various Artists
6. Blowin' In the Wind - The New World Singers ~ Various Artists
7. This Land is Your Land - Jill Burkee/Jack Hardy/Mark Dann/Steve Forbert ~ Various Artists
8. Turn, Turn, Turn - Liz Getz ~ Various Artists
9. As Long as the Grass Will Grow - Peter La Farge ~ Various Artists
10. Talking Pay TV - Phil Ochs ~ Various Artists
11. Masters of War - The Bergerfolk ~ Various Artists
12. Waist Deep In the Big Muddy - Pete Seeger ~ Various Artists
13. Agent Orange - Peggy Seeger ~ Various Artists
14. Strange Fruit - Brother John Sellers ~ Various Artists
15. How Can a Poor Man Stand Such Times and Live - The New Lost City Ramblers ~ Various Artists
16. I'm Going To Write the Governor of Georgia - Champion Jack Dupree ~ Various Artists
17. When We Make It Through - Barbara Dane ~ Various Artists
18. Evicted Tenant - Agnes "Sis" Cunningham ~ Various Artists
19. Corrido de C?sar Ch vez - Perros Del Pueblo Nuevo ~ Various Artists
20. Gone, Gone, Gone - Red Shadow ~ Various Artists
21. Spirits of the Revolution - Larry Estridge ~ Various Artists
22. We Shall Overcome - Guy Carawan ~ Various Artists

Album Notes and Credits

Notes & Personnel Info
Muze PNote Personnel: Liz Getz, Larry Estridge, Claudia Jane Berger, Gil Turner, Delores Dixion, Guy Carawan, Happy Traum, Bob Cohen, Agnes "Sis" Cunningham, Jack Hardy, Janis Ian, Lead Belly, Pablo Menendez, Peter La Farge, Phil Ochs, Steve Forbert, Barbara Dane, Woody Guthrie, Big Bill Broonzy, Brother John Sellers (vocals, guitar); Pete Seeger (vocals, banjo); Peggy Seeger (vocals, autoharp); Mike Seeger (vocals, fiddle); Champion Jack Dupree (vocals, piano); Ele Vald?s, Jill Burkee, Carlos Alfonso (vocals); John Cohen (guitar); Tom Paley (banjo); Frank Padilla (drums).
Muze PNote Audio Remasterer: Pete Reiniger.
Muze PNote Liner Note Author: Jeff Place.
Muze PNote Editor: Jacob Love.
Muze PNote Photographer: Diana Davies.
Muze PNote Unknown Contributor Roles: David Maestas; Miguel Gabriel V zquez; Lorenzo Martinez.

Producer: D.A. Sonneborn; Daniel Sheehy

Technical Info

Music Release Date Release Date : 03/24/2009
Music Original Release Date Original Release Date : 2009
Music CatalogId Catalog ID : 740197
Music Label Name Label : Smithsonian Folkways Recordings
Music Number of Discs Number of Discs : 1
Music Studio or Live Studio/Live : Studio
Music SPAR code SPAR Code : n/a
Music UPC UPC : 00093074019726

Professional Reviews

Dirty Linen (p.53)
- "[S]ome of the 20th century's most influential music....The album opens with 'Freedom Now Chant,' a 26-second field recording of participants at a Hattiesburg, Mississippi mass meeting in 1964."

Advertisement Bottom