Ships from/sold by Importcds
Seller Rating:
See All Buying Options
Artist: Various
Earn Rakuten Super Points™: Write a Review
Sorry, this selection is currently unavailable.
Classic Railroad Songs From Smithsoni CD 1 of 1
(Save 37%)
$7.54 + $2.98 SHIPPING
EARN 8 RAKUTEN SUPER POINTS™ Rakuten Super Points™
What are Rakuten Super Points™?
Get rewarded when you shop! Earn 1 point per dollar spent. That's like getting cash back on every purchase. Easy to see matured points in checkout. Use points just like cash.
Learn More
IN STOCK: Usually Ships in 1 to 2 business days
5 New
See all sellers
View My Store
More Buying Options
Seller Information

Learn more about Classic Railroad Songs From Smithsoni:

Format: CD
Sku: 202098201
UPC: 093074019221
UPC 14: 00093074019221
Release Date: 1/10/2006
See more in Folk

Song Listing

Disc 1
Song Title
1. Rail Dynamics (Excerpt) - Emory Cook (Excerpt) ~ Various Artists
2. Train 45 - The New Lost City Ramblers ~ Various Artists
3. Kassie Jones - Furry Lewis ~ Various Artists
4. Jay Gould's Daughter - Pete Seeger ~ Various Artists
5. Railroad Bill - Walt Robertson ~ Various Artists
6. Linin' Track - Leadbelly ~ Various Artists
7. Freight Train - Elizabeth Cotten ~ Various Artists
8. Drill, Ye Tarriers, Drill - Cisco Houston ~ Various Artists
9. Zack, The Mormon Engineer - L.M. Hilton ~ Various Artists
10. Lost Train Blues - Virginia Mountain Boys ~ Various Artists
11. F.F.V., The - Annie Watson (previously unreleased) ~ Various Artists
12. He's Coming to Us Dead - The New Lost City Ramblers ~ Various Artists
13. Train That Carried My Girl From Town, The - Doc Watson ~ Various Artists
14. Rock Island Line - Leadbelly ~ Various Artists
15. Lonesome Train - Cisco Houston/Sonny Terry/Woody Guthrie ~ Various Artists
16. John Henry - Cisco Houston/Woody Guthrie ~ Various Artists
17. Wreck Of The Number Nine, The - Rosalie Sorrels ~ Various Artists
18. Freight Train Blues - Brownie McGhee ~ Various Artists
19. New Market Wreck, The - Mike Seeger ~ Various Artists
20. Jerry, Go and Oil That Car - Harry McClintock ~ Various Artists
21. Way Out In Idaho - Rosalie Sorrels ~ Various Artists
22. Old John Henry Died On The Mountain - Henry Grady Terrell ~ Various Artists
23. Casey Jones - John D. Mounce ~ Various Artists
24. Wreck Of The Old 97 - Pop Stoneman ~ Various Artists
25. Midnight Special - Leadbelly ~ Various Artists
26. Wabash Cannonball - Doc Watson ~ Various Artists
27. Lost Train Blues - Vernon L. Sutphin ~ Various Artists
28. New River Train - Iron Mountain String Band ~ Various Artists
29. Three Little Engines and 33 Cars (Excerpt) - Vinton Wight (Excerpt) ~ Various Artists

Album Notes and Credits

Notes & Personnel Info
Muze PNote Personnel: Mike Seeger (vocals, guitar, banjo, autoharp); Tracy Schwarz (vocals, guitar, fiddle); Doc Watson (vocals, guitar, harmonica); Cisco Houston, Elizabeth Cotten, Furry Lewis, Walt Robertson , Lead Belly, Woody Guthrie, Brownie McGhee (vocals, guitar); Eric Davidson, Pete Seeger (vocals, banjo); Henry Grady Terrell (vocals, percussion); Rosalie Sorrels, Annie Watson (vocals); John Cohen (guitar, banjo); Bobby Harrison (guitar); Ivor Melton (mandolin); Caleb Finch, Glen Neaves (fiddle); Vernon L. Sutphin, Sonny Terry, John D. Mounce (harmonica).
Muze PNote Recording information: Athens, GA (02/20/1942-07/03/1981); New York, NY (02/20/1942-07/03/1981).
Muze PNote Editor: Carla Borden.
Muze PNote Arrangers: Doc Watson; Huddie Ledbetter; A.P. Carter.
Muze PNote Smithsonian Folkways ninth installment of its popular Classic Series chronicles the golden age of the American railroad. Classic Railroad Songs from Smithsonian Folkways picks up where 2004's Classic Maritime Music collection left off, unearthing previously unheard of gems from their archives along with classics from some of the genre's finest practitioners. Twenty-one of these remarkable folk songs, field recordings, tall tales, and work songs appear on CD for the first time, from the crisp a cappella "F.F.V.," performed by Annie Watson (mother of Doc Watson), to Cisco Houston's rousing "Drill, Ye Tarriers, Drill" from his 1968 Sings American Folk Songs anthology. Compiled by Grammy Winner Jeff Place, Classic Railroad Songs is enriched by rare photos from the Library of Congress and there are detailed liner notes for each and every one of the 29 cuts which provide a glimpse into the hobo lifestyle of legendary characters like Harry McClintock, Leadbelly, and Furry Lewis -- the latter lost a leg in 1917 in a railway accident. ~ James Christopher Monger

Producer: Jeff Place (Compilation)

Technical Info

Music Release Date Release Date : 01/10/2006
Music Original Release Date Original Release Date : 2006
Music CatalogId Catalog ID : 40192
Music Label Name Label : Smithsonian Folkways Recordings
Music Number of Discs Number of Discs : 1
Music Studio or Live Studio/Live : Studio
Music Mono or Stereo Mono/Stereo : Mixed
Music SPAR code SPAR Code : n/a
Music UPC UPC : 00093074019221

Professional Reviews

Dirty Linen (p.86)
- "[S]tocked full of beloved and obscure trains songs. This generous collection brings together 29 blues, country, old-time, and folk tunes with railroad themes..."

Advertisement Bottom