Ships from/sold by
See All Buying Options

Collateral (2004)

Artist: Soundtrack
Sorry, this selection is currently unavailable.
Collateral CD 1 of 1
(Save 22%)
$8.50 + $1.90 SHIPPING
EARN 9 RAKUTEN SUPER POINTS™ Rakuten Super Points™
What are Rakuten Super Points™?
Get rewarded when you shop! Earn 1 point per dollar spent. That's like getting cash back on every purchase. Easy to see matured points in checkout. Use points just like cash.
Learn More
IN STOCK: Usually Ships within 24 hours
Very few left In Stock! Order soon -- product may sell out.
1 New
See all sellers
45 day return policy
More Buying Options

Learn more about Collateral:

Format: CD
Sku: 61016765
UPC: 602498634691
UPC 14: 00602498634691
Release Date: 8/3/2004
See more in Soundtracks & Scores

Song Listing

Disc 1
Song Title
1. Briefcase - Tom Rothrock ~ Original Soundtrack
2. Seed, The (2.0) - Cody ChesnuTT/The Roots (extended radio edit) ~ Original Soundtrack
3. Hands Of Time - Groove Armada ~ Original Soundtrack
4. Gero Canelo - Calexico ~ Original Soundtrack
5. Rollin' Crumblin' - Tom Rothrock ~ Original Soundtrack
6. Max Steals Briefcase - James Newton Howard ~ Original Soundtrack
7. Destino De Abril - Green Car Motel ~ Original Soundtrack
8. Shadow On The Sun - Audioslave ~ Original Soundtrack
9. Island Limos - James Newton Howard ~ Original Soundtrack
10. Spanish Key - Miles Davis ~ Original Soundtrack
11. Air - Cuba Percussion/Klazz Brothers ~ Original Soundtrack
12. Ready Steady Go - Paul Oakenfold (Remix, remix) ~ Original Soundtrack
13. Car Crash - Antonio Pinto ~ Original Soundtrack
14. Vincent Hops Train - James Newton Howard ~ Original Soundtrack
15. Finale - James Newton Howard ~ Original Soundtrack
16. Requiem - Antonio Pinto ~ Original Soundtrack

Album Notes and Credits

Notes & Personnel Info
Muze PNote Composer: James Newton Howard.
Muze PNote Personnel: Richie Havens (vocals); Jimmy Wood (harp).
Muze PNote Audio Mixers: Craig Schumacher; Jim E. Hill; Groove Armada; Johannes Wohlleben; John Avila; Questlove; Michael Farrow; Paul Oakenfold; Russell Elevado; Shawn Murphy; Tom Rothrock; Cisco DeLuna.
Muze PNote Editors: John Paterno; Mike Tarantino.
Muze PNote Photographer: Frank Connor.
Muze PNote Arrangers: Tim Hahn; Tobias Forster; Kilian Forster.
Muze PNote Director Michael Mann is known for modifying moods through music, particularly in urban settings. There were all those rain-slicked tracking shots in Miami Vice, for example, accompanied by Phil Collins and Dire Straits. For 1995's Heat it was Moby, Lisa Gerrard, and Kronos Quartet, all contributing pieces that heightened the film's dense, psychological air. And for Mann's return to the crime caper genre in 2004's Collateral, it's a stellar mixed bag of gripping, tense instrumentals and evocative, sonically varied artist contributions. Producer Tom Rothrock gets things rolling in a Mann-ish direction with "Briefcase" -- the track throbs like a power cable buried under a city street. Score excerpts from James Newton Howard and City of God composer Antonio Pinto are equally powerful, offering a mix of knives glinting in shadows (Pinto's "Car Crash") and serviceable chase scene dynamics (the Howard piece "Vincent Hops Train"). Latin-flavored selections by Calexico and Green Car Motel hint at the film's traverse through L.A.'s ethnic patchwork, there's a lovely excerpt from Miles Davis' Bitches Brew classic "Spanish Key," and the Roots with Cody ChesnuTT offer some streetwise, vibey soul with "The Seed (2.0)." The only misstep here is a noneventful remix of Oakenfold's "Ready Steady Go." Its substance-less big beat thump feels like 21st century soundtrack filler; in fact, it fits better with Oakenfold's work on Swordfish. Sequence out "Ready Steady," and Collateral is comparable to Mann's greatest meetings of music and film. ~ Johnny Loftus

Producer: Cody Chesnutt; Craig Schumacher; Groove Armada; James Newton Howard; Jim Weidman; Joey Burns; John Avila; John Convertino; Ahmir Thompson; Kathy Nelson; Paul Oakenfold; Rick Rubin; Tom Rothrock; Cisco De Luna

Engineer: Craig Schumacher; Johannes Wohlleben; John Paterno; Jon Smeltz; Michael Farrow; Russell Elevado; Shawn Murphy; Carlos Martinez; Mike Tarantino

Associated Artists and Works

California Dreams
Original Soundtrack

Technical Info

Music Release Date Release Date : 08/03/2004
Music Original Release Date Original Release Date : 2004
Music CatalogId Catalog ID : 000325902
Music Label Name Label : Hip-O
Music Number of Discs Number of Discs : 1
Music Studio or Live Studio/Live : Studio
Music Mono or Stereo Mono/Stereo : Stereo
Music SPAR code SPAR Code : n/a
Music UPC UPC : 00602498634691

Advertisement Bottom