Sold Out
This product is currently not available.
Earn Rakuten Super Points™: Write a Review
Sold Out!
Sorry, this selection is currently unavailable.
Complete Vanguard Recordings (Bonus Tracks) CD 1 of 1

Learn more about Complete Vanguard Recordings (Bonus Tracks):

Format: CD
Sku: 60507179
UPC: 015707000222
UPC 14: 00015707000222
Release Date: 11/13/2001
See more in Folk

Song Listing

Disc 1
Song Title
1. Dandelion River Run - (TRUE instrumental) ~ Mimi & Richard Farina
2. Pack Up Your Sorrows ~ Mimi & Richard Farina
3. Tommy Makem Fantasy - (TRUE instrumental) ~ Mimi & Richard Farina
4. Michael, Andrew And James ~ Mimi & Richard Farina
5. Dog Blue - (TRUE instrumental) ~ Mimi & Richard Farina
6. V - (TRUE instrumental) ~ Mimi & Richard Farina
7. One-Way Ticket ~ Mimi & Richard Farina
8. Hamish - (TRUE instrumental) ~ Mimi & Richard Farina
9. Another Country ~ Mimi & Richard Farina
10. Tuileries - (TRUE instrumental) ~ Mimi & Richard Farina
11. Falcon, The ~ Mimi & Richard Farina
12. Reno Nevada ~ Mimi & Richard Farina
13. Celebration For A Grey Day - (TRUE instrumental) ~ Mimi & Richard Farina
Disc 2
Song Title
1. Reflections In A Crystal Wind ~ Mimi & Richard Farina
2. Bold Marauder ~ Mimi & Richard Farina
3. Dopico ~ Mimi & Richard Farina
4. Swallow Song, A ~ Mimi & Richard Farina
5. Chrysanthemum - (TRUE instrumental) ~ Mimi & Richard Farina
6. Sell-Out Agitation Waltz ~ Mimi & Richard Farina
7. Hard-Loving Loser ~ Mimi & Richard Farina
8. Mainline Prosperity Blues ~ Mimi & Richard Farina
9. Allen's Interlude ~ Mimi & Richard Farina
10. House Un-American Blues Activity Dream ~ Mimi & Richard Farina
11. Raven Girl ~ Mimi & Richard Farina
12. Miles - (TRUE instrumental) ~ Mimi & Richard Farina
13. Children Of Darkness ~ Mimi & Richard Farina
Disc 3
Song Title
1. Quiet Joys Of Brotherhood, The ~ Mimi & Richard Farina
2. Joy 'Round My Brain ~ Mimi & Richard Farina
3. Lemonade Lady ~ Mimi & Richard Farina
4. Downtown - (TRUE instrumental) ~ Mimi & Richard Farina
5. Almond Joy ~ Mimi & Richard Farina
6. Blood Red Roses ~ Mimi & Richard Farina
7. Morgan The Pirate ~ Mimi & Richard Farina
8. Swallow Song, A - (with Joan Baez) ~ Mimi & Richard Farina
9. All The World Has Gone By ~ Mimi & Richard Farina
10. Pack Up Your Sorrows ~ Mimi & Richard Farina
11. Leaving California (One-Way Ticket) ~ Mimi & Richard Farina
12. Sell Out Agitation Waltz ~ Mimi & Richard Farina
13. Pack Up Your Sorrows - (with Peter Yarrow) ~ Mimi & Richard Farina
14. House Un-American Blues Activity Dream ~ Mimi & Richard Farina
15. Bold Marauder, The ~ Mimi & Richard Farina
16. Hard Lovin' Loser ~ Mimi & Richard Farina
17. Dopico ~ Mimi & Richard Farina
18. Celebration For A Grey Day ~ Mimi & Richard Farina
19. Shady Grove - (with Jean Ritchie) ~ Mimi & Richard Farina

Album Notes and Credits

Notes & Personnel Info
Muze PNote REFLECTIONS IN A CRYSTAL WIND (1965)/MEMORIES (1968) plus previously unissued
Muze PNote performances from the 1965 Newport Folk Festival.
Muze PNote Personnel includes: Richard Farina (vocals, dulcimer); Mimi Farina (vocals, guitar, autoharp); Peter Schickele (arranger); Joan Baez, Peter Yarrow, Jean Ritchie (vocals, guitar); Bruce Langhorne (electric guitar, dulcimer, tambourine); John Hammond, Gyle Garahan (harmonica); Charlie Smalls (piano, electric piano, celeste); Russ Savakus (acoustic & electric basses); Felix Pappalardi (electric bass); Fritz Richmond (washtub bass); Alvin Rogers (drums).
Muze PNote Producer: Richard Farina.
Muze PNote Reissue producer: Tom Vickers.
Muze PNote Recorded in New York, New York and live at the Newport Folk Festival, Newport, Rhode Island in 1965. Includes original liner notes by Richard Farina and reissue liner notes by Todd Everett.
Muze PNote Digitally remastered by Jeff Zaraya.
Muze PNote Though he's remembered by few other than '60s folk aficionados, Richard Farina was one of the most innovative singer-songwriters of the post-Beatles era. On a par with Dylan (in whose company he was often found in the '60s), Farina was one of the first to meld folk tradition with poetic lyrical imagery, not to mention folk and country forms with pop-rock arrangement/instrumentation. Playing dulcimer and accompanied by the high harmonies and acoustic guitar of his wife Mimi (younger sister of Joan Baez), Richard was one of the most important artists of the '60s folk boom, equally renowned for his literary work (his novel BEEN DOWN SO LONG IT LOOKS LIKE UP TO ME successfuly bridged the gap between the beats and the hippies). Richard's tragic death in 1966 ended the duo's career, but THE COMPLETE VANGUARD RECORDINGS is the definitive testament to the lasting value of their legacy, featuring every note the pair ever recorded.
Muze PNote From the warm-hearted country lilt of "Pack up Your Sorrows" (later recorded by Johnny Cash) to the striking war imagery of "Bold Marauder," the songs on the Farinas' two albums offer some of the most distinctive, forward-looking "folk" music you'll hear. This set's third disc's first half features outtakes previously released as MEMORIES, many just as impressive as the original albums. The second half is a full live set from the 1965 Newport Folk Festival, where the pair's keening harmonies enliven some of the best songs from their albums. Listen and learn.

Musical Guests
Muze Guest Artist Peter Yarrow
Muze Guest Artist Joan Baez
Muze Guest Artist Jean Ritchie

Compilation Appearances

Muze Music Compilations Rare Live & Classic
Muze Music Compilations Vol. 1-Bread & Roses Festival
Muze Music Compilations Ring Them Bells

Technical Info

Music Release Date Release Date : 11/13/2001
Music Original Release Date Original Release Date : 2001
Music CatalogId Catalog ID : 200
Music Label Name Label : Vanguard
Music Number of Discs Number of Discs : 3
Music Studio or Live Studio/Live : Studio
Music Mono or Stereo Mono/Stereo : Stereo
Music SPAR code SPAR Code : n/a
Music UPC UPC : 00015707000222

Advertisement Bottom