Crucial Guitar Blues CD (2003)

Artist: Various Artists

Customer Reviews   Write a Review

Be the first to review this item and earn 25 Rakuten Super Points™

Product Overview


Label Ryko Distribution
SKU 60585219
UPC 014551011422
UPC 14 00014551011422
Format CD
Release Date 1/21/2003
Author Various Artists
Technical Info
CatalogID 114
Lable Name Alligator Records
Released 01/21/2003
Original Release 2003
Number of Discs 1
SPARE Code n/a
Mono/Stereo Stereo
Studio/Live Studio
UPC 00014551011422
Album Notes and Credits
Performers include: Luther Allison, Albert Collins, Lonnie Mack, Stevie Ray Vaughan, Johnny Winter, Roy Buchanan, Coco Montoya, Little Charlie & The Nightcats, "Gatemouth" Brown.
Personnel: Bob DePugh, Bruce Iglauer (sampler).
Photographer: Dave Leucinger.
One of three simultaneously released, budget-priced Alligator blues compilations (the other two are Crucial Chicago Blues and Crucial Harmonica Blues), Crucial Guitar Blues is a 12-track, hour-long anthology of some of the hottest guitarists in the label's extensive catalog. Although the word "electric" is not featured in the title, this is definitely a plugged-in affair. Kicking off with Luther Allison's intense "All the King's Horses," the track list of Albert Collins ("Lights Are on but Nobody's Home"), Johnny Winter ("I Smell Trouble"), Roy Buchanan ("Country Boogie"), and Son Seals ("I Can't Hear Nothing but the Blues") is a roller-coaster ride through Alligator's marquee names. Lonnie Mack with Stevie Ray Vaughan charging through a breathless, self-explanatory "Double Whammy" adds even more firepower, and even the pace-changing, jaunty swing of Clarence "Gatemouth" Brown's instrumental "Pressure Cooker" that closes the disc maintains the fast-fret theme that is the album's calling card. Little Charlie & the Nightcats add some West Coast groove with their instrumental "Percolatin'," but generally tougher blues like Tinsley Ellis' "The Devil for a Dime" dominate. Oddly, there are no tracks from Alligator's two most celebrated guitar albums, Lone Star Shootout and the Grammy-winning Showdown with Albert Collins, Robert Cray, and Johnny Copeland slinging it out. Unfortunately, liner notes are MIA, as are detailed personnel listings for each track. Blurbs describing the albums the songs are picked from are more advertisements than informative, but that doesn't diminish the non-stop power and excitement of this excellent set. ~ Hal Horowitz
Disc 1
1 All The King's Horses - Luther Allison
2 Heartless - Michael Burks
3 Same Old Thing - Coco Montoya
4 Lights Are On But Nobody's Home - Albert Collins
5 Percolatin' - Little Charlie & The Nightcats
6 To The Devil For A Dime - Tinsley Ellis
7 Country Boogie - Roy Buchanan
8 I Can't Hear Nothing But The Blues - Son Seals
9 Phone Line - Dave Hole
10 Double Whammy - Lonnie Mack/Stevie Ray Vaughan
11 I Smell Trouble - Johnny Winter
12 Pressure Cooker - Clarence "Gatemouth" Brown

More Buying Options

Seller Infomation Price & Shipping
$6.20 + $1.90 shipping
Condition: Brand New
In Stock, 45 Day Returns

On Order
Add to Cart
Movie Mars $7.49 + $2.98 shipping
Condition: Brand New
In Stock
Crucial Guitar Blues
Usually ships in 1 to 2 business days
Add to Cart
amitcj $7.36 + $3.16 shipping
Condition: Brand New
In Stock
Buy with confidence. Excellent Customer Service & Return policy. (CRUCIAL GUITAR BLUES)
Usually ships in 1 to 2 business days
Add to Cart
Synergy Data Inc $15.54 + $0.57 shipping
Condition: Brand New
In Stock

Usually ships in 1 to 2 business days
Add to Cart
$6.20 + $1.90 shipping
$7.98 You save $1.78 (22%)
Earn 7 ($0.07) Rakuten Super Points™
What are Rakuten Super Points™?
Get rewarded when you shop! Earn 1 point per dollar spent. That's like getting cash back on every purchase. Easy to see matured points in checkout. Use points just like cash.
Learn More
Format: CD
Condition: Brand New
More coming soon, order now. On Order
Please select an option to buy
Add to Cart

Sold By:
For Books, Music, Movies & TV place over $40 (before tax and shipping charges) of eligible products in your shopping basket. Not valid with marketplace products, other restrictions apply.