Sold Out
This product is currently not available.

Crybaby (2000)

Artist: Melvins
Earn Rakuten Super Points™: Write a Review
Sold Out!
Sorry, this selection is currently unavailable.
Crybaby CD 1 of 1

Learn more about Crybaby:

Format: CD
Sku: 60387428
UPC: 689230000624
UPC 14: 00689230000624
Release Date: 3/7/2000
See more in Pop

Song Listing

Disc 1
Song Title
1. Smells Like Teen Spirit - (featuring Leif Garrett) ~ The Melvins
2. Blockbuster - (featuring David Yow) ~ The Melvins
3. Ramblin' Man - (featuring Hank Williams III/Henry Bogden) ~ The Melvins
4. G.I. Joe - (featuring Mike Patton) ~ The Melvins
5. Mine Is No Disgrace - (featuring Jim Thirlwell) ~ The Melvins
6. Spineless - (featuring Skeleton Key) ~ The Melvins
7. Divorced - (featuring Tool) ~ The Melvins
8. Dry Drunk - (featuring David Yow/Godzik Pink) ~ The Melvins
9. Okie From Muskogee - (featuring Hank Williams III/Henry Bogden) ~ The Melvins
10. Man With The Laughing Hand Is Dead, The - (featuring Bliss Blood) ~ The Melvins
11. Moon Pie - (featuring Kevin Sharp) ~ The Melvins

Album Notes and Credits

Notes & Personnel Info
Muze PNote Melvins: King Buzzo (guitar, bass); Kevin Rutmanis (bass); Dale Crover (drums).
Muze PNote Additional personnel: Mike Patton (vocals, guitar, percussion, samples); Hank Williams III (vocals, guitar); Bliss Blood (vocals, electric sitar, musical saws, samples); Jim Thirlwell, Kevin Sharpe (vocals, samples); David Yow, Leif Garrett (vocals); Henry Bogden (steel guitar); Rick Lee (samples); Godzik Pink, Tool, Skeleton Key.
Muze PNote Personnel: Kevin Rutmanis (vocals, guitar, harmonica); Dale Crover (vocals, guitar, drums); Erik Sanko (vocals, guitar); Bliss Blood (vocals, electric sitar, Wurlitzer organ, sampler, musical saw); J.G. Thirlwell (vocals, sampler); David Yow, Leif Garrett (vocals); Bruce Bromberg, Buzz Osborne (guitar); Henry Bogdan (steel guitar); Rick Lee (sampler).
Muze PNote Audio Mixers: J.G. Thirlwell; Tim Green ; Billy Howerdel .
Muze PNote Recording information: Flohovia Studios; Louder Studios; Mad Cow Studios, NY, Unites States; Self Immolation Studios; Sun Valley Stoner Studios; The Lodge, Hollywood, CA, Unites States; Vulcan Studios.
Muze PNote The Melvins' The Crybaby, the final volume in their Ipecac Recordings trilogy, applies their uncompromisingly dense sound and irreverence to a collection of covers and original material. A motley crew of guest artists, including Tool, Foetus' Jim Thirlwell, the Pain Teens' Bliss Blood, the eclectic New York City rockers Skeleton Key, and Brutal Truth's Kevin Sharpe, assist them -- and the results are predictably unpredictable. Helmet's Henry Bogner and Hank Williams III team up with the group on drastic reworkings of two country classics, Hank Williams' "Ramblin' Man" and Merle Haggard's "Okie From Muskogee." The Jesus Lizard's David Yow joins the Melvins on a cover of the Lizard's "Blockbuster" and "Dry Drunk," which also features the surf-jazz band Godzik Pink. "G.I. Joe" showcases the vocal talents of Ipecac founder Mike Patton, and in one of The Crybaby's most inspired turns, '70s teen-dream Leif Garrett sings on the band's surprisingly faithful rendition of Nirvana's "Smells Like Teen Spirit." One of their most creative albums, The Crybaby reaffirms the Melvins' ability to venture outside of their trademark style while still remaining quintessentially Melvins. ~ Heather Phares

Producer: Tim Green; The Melvins; Ryeland Allison; Vince De Franco

Engineer: J.G. Thirlwell; Kevin Rutmanis; Tim Green

Musical Guests
Muze Guest Artist Mike Patton
Muze Guest Artist J.G. Thirlwell
Muze Guest Artist David Yow
Muze Guest Artist Leif Garrett
Muze Guest Artist Hank Williams III
Muze Guest Artist Henry Bogden
Muze Guest Artist Tool
Muze Guest Artist Skeleton Key
Muze Guest Artist Godzik Pink
Muze Guest Artist Bliss Blood
Muze Guest Artist Kevin Sharp

Compilation Appearances

Muze Music Compilations NEVER BREATHE WHAT YOU CAN'T SEE [Vinyl Record]

Associated Artists and Works

Never Breathe What You Can't See ~ Biafra, Jello
Brian Walsby
Millennium Monsterwork ~ Fant?mas
Millennium Monsterwork 2000 ~ Fantomas
Pigs of the Roman Empire ~ Lustmord
The Jon Spencer Blues Explosion
Walsby, Brian

Technical Info

Music Release Date Release Date : 02/14/2000
Music Original Release Date Original Release Date : 2000
Music CatalogId Catalog ID : IPC 6CD
Music Label Name Label : Ipecac (Label)
Music Number of Discs Number of Discs : 2
Music Studio or Live Studio/Live : Studio
Music Mono or Stereo Mono/Stereo : Stereo
Music SPAR code SPAR Code : n/a
Music UPC UPC : 00689230000624

Professional Reviews

Magnet (6-7/00, pp.84-5)
- "...The least predictable of their trilogy....This is their self-described 'demented take on the concept of the duets album'....A salute to those few remaining humans for whom the band can claim respect..."

CMJ (4/24/00, p.23)
- "...Ensures that the series [CRYBABY, being the 3rd installment] goes out with a bang....An all-star cast of guest vocalists contributes to the fray...of their distorted wallops..."

Advertisement Bottom