Ships from/sold by Movie Mars
Seller Rating:
See All Buying Options

Dance (1999)

Artist: Dave Koz
Earn Rakuten Super Points™: Write a Review
Sorry, this selection is currently unavailable.
Dance CD 1 of 1
(Save 48%)
$6.69 + $2.98 SHIPPING
EARN 7 RAKUTEN SUPER POINTS™ Rakuten Super Points™
What are Rakuten Super Points™?
Get rewarded when you shop! Earn 1 point per dollar spent. That's like getting cash back on every purchase. Easy to see matured points in checkout. Use points just like cash.
Learn More
5 New and Used
See all sellers
View My Store
More Buying Options
Seller Information

Learn more about Dance:

Format: CD
Sku: 60337639
UPC: 724349945821
UPC 14: 00724349945821
Release Date: 9/28/1999
See more in Jazz

Song Listing

Disc 1
Song Title
1. Together Again ~ Dave Koz
2. I'm Waiting For You ~ Dave Koz
3. Can't Let You Go (The Sha La Song) - (with Luther Vandross) ~ Dave Koz
4. Careless Whisper - (with Montell Jordan) ~ Dave Koz
5. Love Is On The Way - (with Chris Botti) ~ Dave Koz
6. Know You By Heart - (with David Benoit) ~ Dave Koz
7. Surrender ~ Dave Koz
8. You Are Me, I Am You ~ Dave Koz
9. Dance, The - (with BeBe Winans) ~ Dave Koz
10. Cuban Hideaway ~ Dave Koz
11. Bright Side, The - (with Jonathan Butler) ~ Dave Koz
12. Don't Give Up - (with Burt Bacharach) ~ Dave Koz
13. Right By Your Side ~ Dave Koz
14. I'll Be There ~ Dave Koz
Dave Koz has been one of smooth jazz's greatest musicians and saxophonist. Luther Vandross, BeBe Winans, and Marc Antoine can be found with Koz on this album. Dave has moved into the Latin sway with "You Are Me, I Am You," which features a fiery flamenco guitar solo by Marc Antoine. This 13 track album is a must for jazz enthusiasts of all ages.

Album Notes and Credits

Notes & Personnel Info
Muze PNote Personnel includes: Dave Koz (soprano, alto, tenor & baritone saxophones, percussion); Montell Jordan (vocals, programming); Luther Vandross, Kevin Owens, Evan Rogers, BeBe Winans, Mervyn Warren (vocals); Wayne Bargeron (trumpet, flugelhorn); Chris Botti (trumpet); Burt Bacharach, David Benoit (piano); Jeff Koz (piano, keyboards, acoustic guitar, programming); Glen Ballard (piano, keyboards, programming); Jeff Lorber, Carl Sturken (keyboards, programming); Mark Portmann, Gregg Phillingaines (keyboards); Dean Parks, Michael Landau, Michael Thompson (acoustic & electric guitars); Bill Sharpe, Nathan East, Johm Pena (bass); Lenny Castro, Paulinho Da Costa, Luis Conte (percussion); Janet Mims, Kathy Hazzard (background vocals).
Muze PNote Producers include: Dave Koz, Glen Ballard, Brad Cole, Burt Bacharach, Dave Koz.
Muze PNote Since his self-titled 1990 smash debut, Dave Koz has been one of smooth jazz's greatest musicians. The saxman scored big on the radio and in retail even when he turned away from his established R&B/pop sound on 1996's Off the Beaten Path, which was done with more acoustic instruments. The Dance brings him back to the hard-hitting R&B funk sounds of that first album and its follow-up, 1993's Lucky Man. Aside from reuniting him with some of the producers who worked on his debut -- Jeff Lorber, Carl Sturken, Evan Rogers, and his brother Jeff Koz -- The Dance is a true testament to the art of collaboration. He surrounds himself with some of pop, R&B, gospel, and his own genre's greatest performers, but never lets you forget that this is a sax player's album. The swinging retro-funk/hip-hop of "Can't Let You Go (The Sha La Song)" features Luther Vandross. Modern R&B star Montell Jordan co-produces and takes lead vocal on a cover of Wham!'s "Careless Whisper" that is perhaps a bit too faithful to the original. Several members of Take 6 help Koz achieve a much more original effect on "I'll Be There." He also works with personal hero Burt Bacharach, who co-wrote and plays piano on the lovely soprano ballad "Don't Give Up." Koz ventures into Latin territory on "You Are Me, I Am You," which features a sizzling flamenco guitar solo by Marc Antoine, while another top smooth jazz guitarist, Jonathan Butler, scats and plays a vibrant acoustic harmony on "The Bright Side." Lest Koz get lost among all the partying with his pals, he does everything himself on the album's most exciting but possibly least commercial track, "Cuban Hideaway." This cut is a Tito Puente-type Latin jazz big band explosion on which he plays all the horn instruments, alto, tenor, soprano, and baritone -- 50 sax tracks in all. This disc is easily one of smooth jazz's finest moments of 1999, but imagine the possibilities had Koz put this sort of thought into creating more tracks so off the beaten path. ~ Jonathan Widran

Compilation Appearances

Muze Music Compilations Bridge To Havana
Muze Music Compilations Best Smooth Jazz Ever
Muze Music Compilations To Grover With Love
Muze Music Compilations Sweet Smooth Sexy Ultimate Collecti
Muze Music Compilations Night To Remember
Muze Music Compilations Rebound
Muze Music Compilations Jewish Songbook:heart And Humor Of A
Muze Music Compilations Playlist:very Best Of Jim Brickman
Muze Music Compilations X2 (As Time Goes By/stardust)
Muze Music Compilations Just What You Need
Muze Music Compilations Golden Slumbers:father's Lullaby
Muze Music Compilations Standards
Muze Music Compilations Ponder The Mystery
Muze Music Compilations Song For You
Muze Music Compilations Visions Of Love
Muze Music Compilations Smooth Jazz Hits:1 Chart Toppers
Muze Music Compilations You Gotta Love The Life
Muze Music Compilations Forever For Always For Luther
Muze Music Compilations Wayman Tisdale Story
Muze Music Compilations Reflection
Muze Music Compilations American Ride
Muze Music Compilations Out Of A Dream
Muze Music Compilations Smooth Jazz Hits:for Lovers
Muze Music Compilations Greatest Hits
Muze Music Compilations Thanks For The Memory Great Americ Iv
Muze Music Compilations Life In The Tropics
Muze Music Compilations Smooth Jazz Hits:ultimate Grooves
Muze Music Compilations Smooth Jazz No 1 Hits

Technical Info

Music Release Date Release Date : 09/28/1999
Music Original Release Date Original Release Date : 1999
Music CatalogId Catalog ID : 99458
Music Label Name Label : Capitol/EMI Records
Music Number of Discs Number of Discs : 1
Music Studio or Live Studio/Live : Studio
Music Mono or Stereo Mono/Stereo : Stereo
Music SPAR code SPAR Code : n/a
Music UPC UPC : 00724349945821

Advertisement Bottom