Essential Hip Hop Vol 1 CD (2005)

Artist: Various

Customer Reviews   Write a Review

Be the first to review this item and earn 25 Rakuten Super Points™

Product Overview


Label Tommy Boy Entertainment/ada
SKU 202041992
UPC 661868163421
UPC 14 00661868163421
Format CD
Release Date 11/8/2005
Author Various
Technical Info
Producer Cory Robbins; Doug E. Fresh; Al Eaton; Marley Marl; Stu Fine (Compilation); Victor Lee (Compilation)
CatalogID 66186816342
Lable Name Tommy Boy
Released 11/08/2005
Original Release 2005
Number of Discs 1
SPARE Code n/a
Length 72m : 2s
Mono/Stereo Stereo
Studio/Live Studio
UPC 00661868163421
Album Notes and Credits
Liner Note Authors: Nelson George; Jeff Chang.
Photographer: Martha Cooper.
An ambitious, admirable, and necessary undertaking, Tommy Boy rolled out a dozen-volume series focusing on rap's early years, treating "Rapper's Delight" as ground zero and cutting off at 1991. If the first four volumes -- released before the following eight -- are an accurate representation, the series will slant heavily toward the late '80s, when the rap industry really gathered steam, and regularly mix politically charged tracks with party jams and classics with novelties (the difference between the distinctions, of course, wasn't always clear). Some listeners will be displeased with the decision to go with edited versions when necessary. Then again, we're not talking about a period of rap history when tracks required rhyme-to-rhyme profanity to be taken seriously (ask Skee-Lo or Paperboy), so it's really not that much a factor. Apart from automatic picks, like the 14-minute version of Sugarhill Gang's "Rapper's Delight," Boogie Down Productions' "South Bronx," and Doug E. Fresh's "La Di Da Di," the first volume of the series includes several cuts that are just as integral: Marley Marl's star-studded "The Symphony," Fearless Four's ecstatic "Rockin' It," and J.J. Fad's Dr. Dre-produced "Supersonic." The liners contain a brief essay from multimedia hip-hop don Nelson George (which appears in each volume), as well as a personal intro and track-by-track commentary from Jeff Chang (who, with the spectacular Can't Stop Won't Stop, wrote the book on hip-hop). ~ Andy Kellman
Disc 1
1 Rockin' It - Fearless Four
2 Hey Ladies - Beastie Boys
3 South Bronx - Boogie Down Productions
4 Egypt, Egypt - The Egyptian Lover
5 Tramp - Salt-N-Pepa
6 Symphony, The - Marley Marl
7 La Di Da Di - Doug E. Fresh
8 Rapper's Delight - The Sugarhill Gang
9 Genius Rap - Dr. Jeckyll & Mr. Hyde/Dr. Jeckel
10 Ghetto, The - Too Short
11 Scorpio - Grandmaster Flash
12 Supersonic - J.J. Fad
$13.84 + free shipping
$13.98 You save $0.14
Rakuten Super Points Earn 14 ($0.14) Rakuten Super Points™
What are Rakuten Super Points™?
Get rewarded when you shop! Earn 1 point per dollar spent. That's like getting cash back on every purchase. Easy to see matured points in checkout. Use points just like cash.
Learn More
Format: CD
Condition: Brand New
In Stock. Usually Ships in 1 to 2 business days
Please select an option to buy
Add to Cart

Sold By:  Blow It Outa Here
What is a Marketplace and Shop Owner?
  • Our marketplace is a platform where approved third-party retailers (Shop Owners) can sell their products
  • Items are sold and shipped by Shop Owners
  • Your credit card and personal information remain secure; meets all PCI Security Standards.
  • Purchases can only be returned to the Shop Owner
  • All purchases receive Rakuten Super Points™