Sold Out
This product is currently not available.

High Fidelity (2000)

Artist: Soundtrack
Earn Rakuten Super Points™: Write a Review
Sold Out!
Sorry, this selection is currently unavailable.
High Fidelity CD 1 of 1

Learn more about High Fidelity:

Format: CD
Sku: 60396399
UPC: 720616218827
UPC 14: 00720616218827
Release Date: 3/28/2000
See more in Soundtracks & Scores

Song Listing

Disc 1
Song Title
1. You're Gonna Miss Me - 13th Floor Elevators ~ Original Soundtrack
2. Everybody's Gonna Be Happy - The Kinks ~ Original Soundtrack
3. I'm Wrong About Everything - John Wesley Harding ~ Original Soundtrack
4. Oh! Sweet Nuthin' - The Velvet Underground ~ Original Soundtrack
5. Always See Your Face - Love ~ Original Soundtrack
6. Most Of The Time - Bob Dylan ~ Original Soundtrack
7. Fallen For You - Sheila Nichols ~ Original Soundtrack
8. Dry The Rain - The Beta Band ~ Original Soundtrack
9. Shipbuilding - Elvis Costello & The Attractions ~ Original Soundtrack
10. Cold Blooded Old Times - Smog ~ Original Soundtrack
11. Let's Get It On - Jack Black ~ Original Soundtrack
12. Lo Boob Oscillator - Stereolab ~ Original Soundtrack
13. Inside Game - Royal Trux ~ Original Soundtrack
14. Who Loves The Sun - The Velvet Underground ~ Original Soundtrack
15. I Believe (When I Fall In Love It Will Be Forever) - Stevie Wonder ~ Original Soundtrack
This soundtrack includes some of today's hottest artists including, The Kinks "Everybody's Gonna Be Happy", Velvet Underground "Oh Sweet Nuthin'", Bob Dylan "Most Of The Time", Elvis Costello "Ship Building" and Stevie Wonder "I Believe (When I Fall In Love)". This album includes 15 tracks in all and is a must have for your soundtrack collection.

Album Notes and Credits

Notes & Personnel Info
Muze PNote HIGH FIDELITY was nominated for the 2001 Grammy Award for Best Compilation Soundtrack Album for a Motion Picture, Television or Other Visual Media.
Muze PNote Personnel: Harry Nilsson (vocals).
Muze PNote The film adaptation of Nick Hornby's cult novel relocates its independent record store setting from London to Chicago, but the HIGH FIDELITY soundtrack thankfully retains the book's eclectic spirit. Though many of the featured artists tend to get caught up in the classic-rock meat grinder, the compilers at least demonstrate great sense by bypassing obvious choices. So, instead of "Like a Rolling Stone," we find OH MERCY's terrific "Most of the Time" filling the obligatory Dylan spot. And, for once, the jittery British Invasion nugget "Everybody's Gonna Be Happy" represents the Kinks-not "You Really Got Me."
Muze PNote The soundtrack's lineup also includes a pair from the Velvets ("Oh Sweet Nuthin" and "Who Loves the Sun"), garage-rock icons Thirteenth Floor Elevators ("You're Gonna Miss Me"), and cutting-edge newcomers such as The Beta Band ("Dry the Rain"). There's even a surprisingly soulful cover of "Let's Get it on," done by Jack Black-half of HBO's Spinal Tap-like Tenacious D duo. HIGH FIDELITY is an unusual soundtrack, closer in spirit to a clever mix tape made by that old college roommate whose two lovers were his hi-fi and his bong.

Producer: Chris Allison; Clive Langer; Daniel Lanois; Adam; Alan Wistanley; Gary Burnette; Geoffrey Haslam; Gordon Bynum; James Harrah; Sheila Nicholls; Shel Kagan; Stevie Wonder; The Beta Band; The Velvet Underground; Bill Callahan; Jim O'Rourke

Associated Artists and Works

California Dreams
Original Soundtrack

Technical Info

Music Release Date Release Date : 03/28/2000
Music Original Release Date Original Release Date : 2000
Music CatalogId Catalog ID : 162188
Music Label Name Label : Hollywood
Music Number of Discs Number of Discs : 1
Music Studio or Live Studio/Live : Studio
Music Mono or Stereo Mono/Stereo : Stereo
Music SPAR code SPAR Code : n/a
Music UPC UPC : 00720616218827

Professional Reviews

Q (10/00, p.132)
- 4 stars out of 5 - "...Provides solace for the quiet moments: there's spunky rebellion from the Thirteenth Floor Elevators and the whole thing is completed by Stevie Wonder's 'I Believe'..."

Melody Maker (7/18/00, p.56)
- 4.5 stars out of 5 - "...This rather wonderful soundtrack album has got all the bases covered..."

Advertisement Bottom