Get Free Shipping when you spend at least $0.01 with Blow It Outa Here.
Ships from/sold by Blow It Outa Here
Seller Rating:
See All Buying Options
Artist: Various Artists
Earn Rakuten Super Points™: Write a Review
Sorry, this selection is currently unavailable.
I Want My 80s Box! (Box Set) CD 1 of 1
(Save 34%)
$23.53  + Free Shipping
EARN 24 RAKUTEN SUPER POINTS™ Rakuten Super Points™
What are Rakuten Super Points™?
Get rewarded when you shop! Earn 1 point per dollar spent. That's like getting cash back on every purchase. Easy to see matured points in checkout. Use points just like cash.
Learn More
IN STOCK: Usually Ships in 1 to 2 business days
2 New
See all sellers
View My Store
More Buying Options
Seller Information

Learn more about I Want My 80's Box! (Box Set):

Format: CD
Sku: 60489228
UPC: 731455675825
UPC 14: 00731455675825
Release Date: 7/17/2001
See more in Pop

Song Listing

Disc 1
Song Title
1. Video Killed The Radio Star - Buggles ~ Various Artists
2. Do You Really Want To Hurt Me - Culture Club ~ Various Artists
3. Steppin' Out - Joe Jackson ~ Various Artists
4. 867-5309/Jenny - Tommy Tutone ~ Various Artists
5. Rapture - Blondie ~ Various Artists
6. You Dropped A Bomb On Me - The Gap Band ~ Various Artists
7. Let It Whip - Dazz Band ~ Various Artists
8. Harden My Heart - Quarterflash ~ Various Artists
9. Poison Arrow - ABC ~ Various Artists
10. Heat Of The Moment - Asia ~ Various Artists
11. Mickey - Tony Basil ~ Various Artists
12. Celebration - Kool & The Gang ~ Various Artists
13. Tempted - Squeeze ~ Various Artists
14. Tainted Love - Soft Cell ~ Various Artists
Disc 2
Song Title
1. Love Is A Battlefield - Pat Benatar ~ Various Artists
2. Cuts Like A Knife - Bryan Adams ~ Various Artists
3. Sweet Dreams - Eurythmics ~ Various Artists
4. Take On Me - A-Ha ~ Various Artists
5. Relax - Frankie Goes To Hollywood ~ Various Artists
6. One Thing Leads To Another - The Fixx ~ Various Artists
7. In A Big Country - Big Country ~ Various Artists
8. Come On Eileen - Dexy's Midnight Runners ~ Various Artists
9. Our House - Madness ~ Various Artists
10. Weird Science - Oingo Boingo ~ Various Artists
11. Suddenly Last Summer - The Motels ~ Various Artists
12. Sister Christian - Night Ranger ~ Various Artists
13. Hold Me Now - The Thompson Twins ~ Various Artists
14. Missing You - John Waite ~ Various Artists
Disc 3
Song Title
1. Everybody Wants To Rule The World - Tears For Fears ~ Various Artists
2. Sledgehammer - Peter Gabriel ~ Various Artists
3. She Drives Me Crazy - Fine Young Cannibals ~ Various Artists
4. Everybody Have Fun Tonight - Wang Chung ~ Various Artists
5. Walk This Way - Run-DMC ~ Various Artists
6. Addicted To Love - Robert Palmer ~ Various Artists
7. Looking For A New Love - Jody Watley ~ Various Artists
8. Oh Yeah - Yello ~ Various Artists
9. Luka - Suzanne Vega ~ Various Artists
10. Lady In Red, The - Chris de Burgh ~ Various Artists
11. I Think We're Alone Now - Tiffany ~ Various Artists
12. Here I Go Again - Whitesnake ~ Various Artists
13. My Prerogative - Bobby Brown ~ Various Artists
14. Higher Love - Steve Winwood ~ Various Artists
Fire up those neurons, Sparky, and take my hand as we walk down memory lane, taking a left turn into the decade of excess, and the music of the 1980's. Why did it take us so long to harness the power of flickering video images with the stirring sounds that fired your imagination? MTV launched their initial broadcast with the Buggles, and went on to amaze us with "Sledgehammer", "Take On Me", "Addicted To Love" and more visually stunning eye candy than the human mind could possibly absorb. But, absorb we did. Remember the first time you saw Boy George dance across your TV screen and thought, "What the hell is that"? Sure, the song is great, and catchy as all get-out, but still. And Annie Lennox jumped in from the other side of the gender scale with a look that was just as fascinating, and, well, strangely erotic. We're not in Kansas anymore, Toto, are we? Forty two chart busting hits, no matter how well chosen and influential, can only begin to scratch the surface of a decade that launched popular music into overdrive. But, you've got to admit, this is a really good place to start. Great songs and stellar artists, sumptuously bound together in a strikingly illustrated digipak. Tucked inside is a loving essay from insightful industry veteran Kevin Flaherty, blended together with evocative rekkid bidness advertising from back in the day. So stack them high and (umm) watch them fly.

Album Notes and Credits

Notes & Personnel Info
Muze PNote Liner Note Author: Kevin Flaherty.
Muze PNote Released more or less in conjunction with MTV's 20th anniversary in 2001, this triple gatefold sleeve set (not a box as the title implies), with an appropriately gaudy 27-page book, delivers 42 typical examples of songs associated with the music channel in its fledgling years. With 35 Top Ten tracks, ten of which topped the charts, there's no shortage of video as well as radio memories incorporated into these three loosely chronologically arranged discs. Like many Hip-O releases, this favors music already owned by the Universal conglomerate. As such, some early MTV staples like Men at Work, Cyndi Lauper, and especially Duran Duran are MIA. Although their omission doesn't make this a substantially weaker set to the casual fan, more zealous listeners might notice the gaps. Covering the years from the network's sign-on during the afternoon of August 1, 1981 (with the Buggles' now classic "Video Killed the Radio Star"), until 1986, the collection gravitates to the slicker pop/new wave/R&B end of the scale, sacrificing edgier acts like the Clash, Stray Cats, and Prince, who were just as important to its early growth. Overall, the track list speaks for itself. The discs max out time-wise at a relatively conservative hour each, sticking firmly to a self-imposed 14-track limit, leaving at least 45 minutes of unused time across the triple album. Although the songs are sequenced to best blend into each other (synth pop standbys Eurythmics, a-ha, Frankie Goes to Hollywood, and the Fixx are positioned together on disc two), the mood sometimes wildly shifts direction. Disc three includes Suzanne Vega's plaintive, folksy "Luka," Yello's jittery high-tech "Oh Yeah," and Tiffany's brittle, ear-wincing version of "I Think We're Alone Now." Aside from sentimental value, it's difficult to imagine anyone would want to hear all three within the same 15-minute time span. But, nostalgia is what this is all about. Ultimately, this is a representative enough sampling bound to elicit knowing grins and fond memories at your next '80s party from now-aging boomers who remember the good ol' days when MTV actually aired videos. It'll jolt them back to the time these songs ruled the cable waves, for better or worse creating an indelible mark on their musical upbringing. ~ Hal Horowitz

Producer: Mike Ragogna; Chris Hughes; Chris Stein; Clive Langer; Dana G. Smart; Daniel Lanois; Daniel Miller; Danny Elfman; Mike "Clay" Stone; David Kershenbaum; David Z; Deodato; David L. Stewart; Fine Young Cannibals; John Ratcliff; Gene Griffin; Geoff Workman; G

Technical Info

Music Release Date Release Date : 07/17/2001
Music Original Release Date Original Release Date : 2001
Music CatalogId Catalog ID : 556758
Music Label Name Label : Hip-O
Music Number of Discs Number of Discs : 3
Music Studio or Live Studio/Live : Studio
Music Mono or Stereo Mono/Stereo : Stereo
Music SPAR code SPAR Code : n/a
Music UPC UPC : 00731455675825

Advertisement Bottom