Ships from/sold by Movie Mars
Seller Rating:
See All Buying Options
Artist: Various
Earn Rakuten Super Points™: Write a Review
Sorry, this selection is currently unavailable.
Island 50 Reggae CD 1 of 1
(Save 20%)
$10.34 + $2.98 SHIPPING
EARN 11 RAKUTEN SUPER POINTS™ Rakuten Super Points™
What are Rakuten Super Points™?
Get rewarded when you shop! Earn 1 point per dollar spent. That's like getting cash back on every purchase. Easy to see matured points in checkout. Use points just like cash.
Learn More
IN STOCK: Usually Ships in 1 to 2 business days
3 New
See all sellers
View My Store
More Buying Options
Seller Information

Learn more about Island 50 Reggae:

Format: CD
Sku: 211513099
UPC: 600753204658
UPC 14: 00600753204658
Release Date: 8/25/2009
See more in Caribbean

Song Listing

Disc 1
Song Title
1. Harder They Come, The - Jimmy Cliff ~ Various Artists
2. Country Boy - The Heptones ~ Various Artists
3. Pressure Drop - Toots & The Maytals ~ Various Artists
4. King Tubby Meets the Rockers Uptown - Augustus Pablo ~ Various Artists
5. Marcus Garvey - Burning Spear ~ Various Artists
6. Satta Massagana - Third World ~ Various Artists
7. Dreadlocks In Moonlight - Lee "Scratch" Perry ~ Various Artists
8. War Ina Babylon - Max Romeo & The Upsetters ~ Various Artists
9. General, The - Dillinger ~ Various Artists
10. Handsworth Revolution - Steel Pulse ~ Various Artists
11. Police and Thieves - Junior Murvin ~ Various Artists
12. One Love Jam Down - General Smiley/Papa Michigan ~ Various Artists
13. Sponji Reggae - Black Uhuru ~ Various Artists
14. Pass the Kouchie - The Mighty Diamonds ~ Various Artists
15. Night Nurse - Gregory Isaacs ~ Various Artists
16. Murder She Wrote - Chaka Demus & Pliers ~ Various Artists
17. It's Me Again Jah - Luciano ~ Various Artists
18. Untold Stories - Buju Banton ~ Various Artists

Album Notes and Credits

Notes & Personnel Info
Muze PNote Photographers: Clive Allen; Jonnie Black; David Corio; Peter Simon.
Muze PNote Arrangers: Robbie Shakespeare; Sly Dunbar; Augustus Pablo.
Muze PNote There's no scarcity of compilations focused on Island's reggae output, and when it comes to the one-disc format, the vaults are just too big and meaty to be properly represented. Keeping artists to one track apiece is no easy chore either when considering the epic names Buju Banton, Black Uhuru, Jimmy Cliff, and Lee Perry, but the 50 years since Chris Blackwell launched Island with Laurel Aitken's hit single "Little Sheila" deserve some kind of marker in the record bins, so here it is. Note that Aitken's cut is missing and you'll see the story here isn't complete or even very sentimental, but what's shocking is that no Bob Marley cuts appear, which is akin to compiling Motown with no Michael Jackson or Diana Ross. Still, the material chosen is all stellar on a one-by-one basis, with the Cliff, Toots, Burning Spear, Junior Murvin, and Gregory Isaacs tracks being especially mammoth both in appeal and importance. The liner notes are informative and the way the disc flows is surprisingly good; just expect to buy more Island comps if your reggae fandom rises above the ground level. ~ David Jeffries

Producer: Danny Holloway; Donovan Germain; Gregory Isaacs; Jimmy Cliff; John Burns; Karl Pitterson; Leslie Kong; Robbie Shakespeare; Sly Dunbar; Augustus Clarke; Augustus Pablo; Lawrence "Jack Ruby" Lindo

Technical Info

Music Release Date Release Date : 08/25/2009
Music Original Release Date Original Release Date : 2009
Music CatalogId Catalog ID : 001321402
Music Label Name Label : Island (Label)
Music Number of Discs Number of Discs : 1
Music Studio or Live Studio/Live : Studio
Music Mono or Stereo Mono/Stereo : Stereo
Music SPAR code SPAR Code : n/a
Music UPC UPC : 00600753204658

Advertisement Bottom