Island Def Jam Recording Presents 1 (Explicit Version) CD (2012)

Artist: Various Artists

Customer Reviews   Write a Review

Be the first to review this item and earn 25 Rakuten Super Points™

Product Overview


Label Universal Music Group
SKU 63982169
UPC 602498809495
UPC 14 00602498809495
Format CD
Release Date 10/24/2012
Author Various Artists
Technical Info
Producer Daryl Simmons; Sergio "Pix" Moore; Dutch; Dwayne Simon; Darryl Pierce; Prince Rhakeem; Brian Palmer; L.A. Posse; N. Titty; Irv Gotti; Ted Bishop; Kanye West; Montell Jordan; Oji Pierce; R. Kelly; Russell Simmons; Seven; Shep Crawford; The Neptunes; Ralph
CatalogID 000455502
Lable Name Def Jam (USA)
Released 06/14/2005
Original Release 2005
Number of Discs 1
SPARE Code n/a
Mono/Stereo Stereo
Studio/Live Studio
UPC 00602498809495
Album Notes and Credits
Personnel: Marc Dorsey (vocals); Growmico Collins, Shae Jones, Case (background vocals).
Audio Remixers: Wino; Prince Rhakeem.
Arrangers: Montell Jordan; R. Kelly.
A label that bases a compilation on its number one singles seems like it's more concerned with patting itself on the back than giving the consumer something useful. In Def Jam's case, #1 Spot serves both causes. Arranged in chronological order covering nearly 20 years, the disc begins with Oran "Juice" Jones' equally dramatic and gut-busting "The Rain" (an inspiration R. Kelly should've thought about taking more to heart for the "Trapped in the Closet" saga) and closes with Ludacris' hulking "Stand Up," the only inclusion with no discernible connection to R&B. Each selection hit the top of Billboard's R&B/Hip-Hop chart (a handful did as well on the Pop chart), but there's a definite slant toward the more relaxed side of R&B and pop-rap. After LL Cool J's "I Need Love," the track that follows "The Rain," the disc skips ahead eight years to Montell Jordan's "This Is How We Do It," and from there, the disc rolls through singles from the late '90s and early 2000s, when Def Jam was becoming known for R&B as much as raw hip-hop. (Who could've predicted back in the mid-'80s that the label would go through such a transformation?) The chronological sequencing and stylistic focus -- best exemplified by the back-to-back Neptunes productions, LL Cool J's "Luv U Better" and Jay-Z's "Excuse Me Miss" -- makes the disc that much easier to listen to from beginning to end. ~ Andy Kellman
Disc 1
1 Rain, The - Oran "Juice" Jones
2 I Need Love - LL Cool J
3 This Is How We Do It - Montell Jordan
4 I'll Be There for You - Mary J. Blige/Method Man
5 In My Bed - Dru Hill (remix)
6 Never Make A Promise - Dru Hill
7 Let's Ride - Master P/Montell Jordan/Silkk the Shocker
8 Friend Of Mine - Kelly Price/R. Kelly/Ronald Isley
9 How Deep Is Your Love - Dru Hill/Redman
10 Get It On Tonite - Montell Jordan
11 Incomplete - Sisq¢
12 Missing You - Case
13 Always On Time - Ja Rule/Ashanti
14 Foolish - Ashanti
15 Luv U Better - LL Cool J
16 Excuse Me Miss - Jay-Z/Pharrell Williams
17 Stand Up - Ludacris/Shawnna
$6.88 + free shipping
$10.98 You save $4.10 (37%)
Rakuten Super Points Earn 7 ($0.07) Rakuten Super Points™
What are Rakuten Super Points™?
Get rewarded when you shop! Earn 1 point per dollar spent. That's like getting cash back on every purchase. Easy to see matured points in checkout. Use points just like cash.
Learn More
Format: CD
Condition: Used-Very Good
In Stock. Usually Ships in 1 to 2 business days
Please select an option to buy
Add to Cart

What is a Marketplace and Shop Owner?
  • Our marketplace is a platform where approved third-party retailers (Shop Owners) can sell their products
  • Items are sold and shipped by Shop Owners
  • Your credit card and personal information remain secure; meets all PCI Security Standards.
  • Purchases can only be returned to the Shop Owner
  • All purchases receive Rakuten Super Points™