Ships from/sold by
See All Buying Options

Jazz Roots (2011)

Artist: Various
Earn Rakuten Super Points™: Write a Review
Sorry, this selection is currently unavailable.
Jazz Roots CD 1 of 1
(Save 19%)
$12.89 + $1.90 SHIPPING
EARN 13 RAKUTEN SUPER POINTS™ Rakuten Super Points™
What are Rakuten Super Points™?
Get rewarded when you shop! Earn 1 point per dollar spent. That's like getting cash back on every purchase. Easy to see matured points in checkout. Use points just like cash.
Learn More
More inventory may be available. Place your order today and be one of the first to receive this product when it arrives!
Alert me when this item is in stock.
1 New
See all sellers
45 day return policy
More Buying Options

Learn more about Jazz Roots:

Format: CD
Sku: 220191347
UPC: 886978577023
UPC 14: 00886978577023
Release Date: 4/5/2011
See more in Jazz

Song Listing

Disc 1
Song Title
1. Akiwowo - Babatunde Olatunji ~ Various Artists
2. Maple Leaf Rag - Scott Joplin ~ Various Artists
3. Livery Stable Blues - Original Dixieland Jazz Band ~ Various Artists
4. West End Blues - Louis Armstrong & His Hot Five ~ Various Artists
5. One O'Clock Jump - Count Basie & His Orchestra ~ Various Artists
6. Take the "A" Train - Duke Ellington ~ Various Artists
7. Sing, Sing, Sing - Benny Goodman & His Orchestra ~ Various Artists
8. In the Mood - Glenn Miller & The American Band of The Allied Expeditionary Force ~ Various Artists
9. Downhearted Blues - Bessie Smith ~ Various Artists
10. God Bless the Child - Billie Holiday ~ Various Artists
11. Saturday Night (is the Loneliest Night of the Week) - Frank Sinatra ~ Various Artists
12. Taking a Chance On Love/I'm In the Mood For Love - Ella Fitzgerald ~ Various Artists
13. Black Coffee - Sarah Vaughan ~ Various Artists
14. Cloudburst - Lambert, Hendricks & Ross ~ Various Artists
15. Muddy Water - Aretha Franklin ~ Various Artists
16. Ornithology - Charlie Parker ~ Various Artists
17. Manteca - Dizzy Gillespie & His Orchestra ~ Various Artists
18. Mambo Inn - Machito and His Afro-Cuban Orchestra ~ Various Artists
19. Ran Kan Kan - Tito Puente & His Orchestra ~ Various Artists
20. Tu Conga Bach [Conga] - Tiempo Libre ~ Various Artists
21. Take Five - The Dave Brubeck Quartet ~ Various Artists
Disc 2
Song Title
1. Two Bass Hit - Miles Davis - (featuring John Coltrane/Cannonball Adderley) ~ Various Artists
2. So What - Miles Davis ~ Various Artists
3. Monk's Dream - Thelonious Monk ~ Various Artists
4. Stone Flower - Antonio Carlos Jobim ~ Various Artists
5. Doralice - Eliane Elias ~ Various Artists
6. Sorceress - Return to Forever ~ Various Artists
7. Birdland - Weather Report ~ Various Artists
8. Funkin' For Jamaica - Tom Browne ~ Various Artists
9. Rockit - Herbie Hancock ~ Various Artists
10. Take Five - George Benson ~ Various Artists
11. Strawberry Moon - Grover Washington, Jr. ~ Various Artists
12. Phryzzinian Man - Wynton Marsalis ~ Various Artists
13. Songbird - Kenny G ~ Various Artists
14. When I Fall In Love - Chris Botti ~ Various Artists
15. Sweet Georgia Brown - Eldar Djangirov ~ Various Artists

Album Notes and Credits

Notes & Personnel Info
Muze PNote Photographer: Don Hunstein.
Muze PNote The 2011 Masterworks Jazz compilation Jazz Roots: The Music of the Americas collects a bevy of songs that trace the influence of African drum traditions on American music from early jazz and blues to later Latin and funk styles of music. Generally, the tracks move from the '20s through to the '80s with a few cuts from the 2000s. Featured are such artists as jazz trumpeters Louis Armstrong and Dizzy Gillespie as well as vocalists Billie Holiday and soul legend Aretha Franklin. Also included are cuts from Latin artists like Machito and Tito Puente as well as fusion pioneers Weather Report and smooth jazzers Kenny G and Chris Botti. This is a sprawling, ambitious, and unique collection of music. ~ Matt Collar

Producer: Larry Rosen

Musical Guests
Muze Guest Artist John Coltrane
Muze Guest Artist Cannonball Adderley

Technical Info

Music Release Date Release Date : 04/05/2011
Music Original Release Date Original Release Date : 2011
Music CatalogId Catalog ID : 85770
Music Label Name Label : Masterworks
Music Number of Discs Number of Discs : 2
Music Mono or Stereo Mono/Stereo : Stereo
Music SPAR code SPAR Code : n/a
Music UPC UPC : 00886978577023

Advertisement Bottom