Sold Out
This product is currently not available.
Artist: John Lennon
Earn Rakuten Super Points™: Write a Review
Sold Out!
Sorry, this selection is currently unavailable.
John Lennon Anthology CD 1 of 1

Learn more about John Lennon Anthology:

Format: CD
Sku: 60136095
UPC: 724383061426
UPC 14: 00724383061426
Release Date: 11/3/1998
See more in Pop

Song Listing

Disc 1
Song Title
1. Working Class Hero
2. God
3. I Found Out ~ (home recording)
4. Hold On
5. Isolation
6. Love
7. Mother
8. Remember
9. Imagine ~ (take 1)
10. Fortunately ~ (from "Bed
11. Baby Please Don't Go
12. Oh My Love
13. Jealous Guy
14. Maggie Mae ~ (home recording)
15. How Do You Sleep
16. God Save Oz
17. Do The Oz
18. I Don't Want To Be A Soldier
19. Give Peace A Chance
20. Look At Me
21. Long Lost John
Disc 2
Song Title
1. New York City
2. Attica State
3. Imagine
4. Bring On The Lucie
5. Woman Is The Nigger Of The World ~ (home recording)
6. Geraldo Rivera ~ (one to one concert)
7. Woman Is the Nigger of the World
8. It's So Hard
9. Come Together
10. Happy Xmas ~ (rough mix)
11. Luck of the Irish
12. John Sinclair
13. David Frost Show, The
14. Mind Games (I Promise) ~ (home recording)
15. Mind Games (Make Love, Not War) ~ (home recording)
16. One Day At A Time
17. I Know ~ (home recording)
18. I'm The Greatest
19. Goodnight Vienna
20. Jerry Lewis Telethon
21. Kiss Is Just A Kiss, A ~ (home recording)
22. Real Love ~ (home recording)
23. You Are Here
Disc 3
Song Title
1. What You Got ~ (home recording)
2. Nobody Loves You (When You're Down And Out)
3. Whatever Gets You Thru The Night ~ (home recording)
4. Whatever Gets You Thru The Night
5. Yesterday ~ (parody)
6. Be Bop A Lula
7. Rip It Up / Ready Teddy
8. Scared
9. Steel And Glass
10. Surprise, Surprise (Sweet Bird Of Paradox)
11. Bless You
12. Going Down On Love ~ (instructions only instrumental)
13. Move Over Ms. L
14. Ain't She Sweet
15. Slippin' And Slidin' ~ (previously unreleased)
16. Peggy Sue
17. Bring It On Home To Me / Send Me Some Lovin'
18. Phil And John 1
19. Phil And John 2
20. Phil And John 3
21. "When In Doubt, Fuck It"
22. Be My Baby
23. Stranger's Room ~ (home recording)
24. Old Dirt Road
Disc 4
Song Title
1. I'm Losing You
2. Sean's "Little Help" ~ (home recording)
3. Serve Yourself ~ (home recording)
4. My Life ~ (home version)
5. Nobody Told Me
6. Life Begins At 40 ~ (home recording)
7. I Don't Wanna Face It
8. Woman ~ (home recording)
9. Dear Yoko
10. Watching The Wheels ~ (home recording)
11. I'm Stepping Out
12. Borrowed Time ~ (home recording)
13. Rishi Kesh Song, The ~ (home recording)
14. Sean's "Loud" ~ (home recording)
15. Beautiful Boy
16. Mr. Hyde's Gone (Don't Be Afraid) ~ (home recording)
17. Only You
18. Grow Old With Me ~ (home recording)
19. Dear John ~ (home recording)
20. Great Wok, The ~ (home recording)
21. Mucho Mungo ~ (home recording)
22. Satire 1 ~ (home recording)
23. Satire 2 ~ (home recording)
24. Satire 3 ~ (home recording)
25. Sean's "In The Sky" ~ (home recording)
26. It's Real ~ (home recording)

Album Notes and Credits

Notes & Personnel Info
Muze PNote THE JOHN LENNON ANTHOLOGY is a 4-CD box set containing more than 100 previously unreleased tracks and a 60-page booklet including liner notes by Yoko Ono, Anthony DeCurtis, John Lennon and Rob Stevens.
Muze PNote Personnel includes: John Lennon (vocals, whistling, acoustic & electric guitars, piano, rhythm box); Yoko Ono (vocals, electric piano, percussion); Wayne "Tex" Gabriel, Rick Nielsen, (guitar); Eddie Mottau, (acoustic guitar); George Harrison (electric & slide guitars); Earl Slick, Hugh McCraken, David Spinozza (electric guitar); Stan Bronstein, Bobby Keys (saxophone); Nicky Hopkins (piano, electric piano); Ken Ascher (electric piano, keyboards, clavinet); Billy Preston, George Small (electric piano); Adam Ippolito (keyboards); Tony Levin, Tom Petersson, Klaus Voorman (bass); Ringo Starr, Bun E. Carlos, Jim Keltner, Andy Newmark, Jim Gordon (drums); Arthur Jenkins (percussion); Harry Nilsson (background vocals); The Plastic Ono Band.
Muze PNote Producers include: Yoko Ono, Rob Stevens, John Lennon, Phil Spector, Richard Perry.
Muze PNote Compilation producers: Yoko Ono, Rob Stevens.
Muze PNote Engineers include: Andy Strange, Peter Cobbin, Steve Orchard.
Muze PNote During the great John Lennon revival of the late '80s, Yoko Ono licensed to have the Westwood One Radio Network air scores of unreleased home recordings and demos as the Lost Lennon Tapes radio show. At the time, there was endless speculation about when highlights would be released, likely as a box set. The proposed set never materialized, yet most of the material was heavily bootlegged, as the producers and Ono must have suspected. Despite the bootlegs, Ono didn't agree to an official collection of unreleased Lennon material until 1998, after the Beatles' Anthology series proved a critical and commercial success. Hence, the birth of Lennon's Anthology -- a four-disc box set, comprised entirely of unreleased home recordings, demos, and outtakes, many of which have never been previously bootlegged. As it's constructed, it's more of an aural biography than a music album. All the dialogue snippets, half-finished songs, throwaways, and parodies ensure that it's never casual listening, yet that very approach creates an intriguing portrait of Lennon -- a portrait of the man, not the artist. As such, there aren't really any forgotten treasures buried on the collection, even if many of these songs and takes are either completely unheard of or legendary among collecting circles. For every small pleasure, such as the Cheap Trick-backed version of "I'm Losing You," there is a small disappointment, such as how the Dylan diatribe, "Serve Yourself," doesn't quite live up to its legend. Ultimately, it doesn't matter if there are no major works or revelations, just a few good alternate tracks, because Anthology goes a long way toward capturing Lennon with all of his strengths and weaknesses. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Musical Guests
Muze Guest Artist Ringo Starr
Muze Guest Artist Rick Nielsen
Muze Guest Artist Yoko Ono
Muze Guest Artist Earl Slick
Muze Guest Artist Billy Preston
Muze Guest Artist Tom Petersson
Muze Guest Artist George Harrison
Muze Guest Artist Harry Nilsson

Compilation Appearances

Muze Music Compilations Rushmore
Muze Music Compilations Royal Tenenbaums (Collector's Edition) (Bonus Tracks)
Muze Music Compilations Captain Fantastic (SACD Hybrid)
Muze Music Compilations Captain Fantastic (Bonus Tracks)
Muze Music Compilations The Us Vs John Lennon
Muze Music Compilations Children Of Men
Muze Music Compilations Goin Home:tribute To Fats Domingo
Muze Music Compilations 100 Greatest
Muze Music Compilations Mr Peabody & Sherman (osc)

Associated Artists and Works

Beatles (The)
The Beatles: Stereo Box Set ~ Beatles (The)
Elephant's Memory
Nilsson, Harry
Original Soundtrack
The U.S. VS. John Lennon ~ Original Soundtrack
Shine On

Technical Info

Music Release Date Release Date : 11/02/1998
Music Original Release Date Original Release Date : 1998
Music CatalogId Catalog ID : 8306142
Music Label Name Label : Capitol/EMI Records
Music Number of Discs Number of Discs : 4
Music Studio or Live Studio/Live : Mixed
Music Mono or Stereo Mono/Stereo : Stereo
Music SPAR code SPAR Code : n/a
Music UPC UPC : 00724383061426

Professional Reviews

Spin (1/99, pp.120-121)
- 9 (out of 10)
- "...Surprisingly intimate and immediate-sounding, ANTHOLOGY resurrects the cranky, funny, stoned, passionate, judgemental, sentimental, experimental, and temperamental reality of a man who otherwise survives as a cleaned-up legend..."

Advertisement Bottom