Journey-The Very Best Of CD (2003)

Artist: Donna Summer

Customer Reviews   Write a Review

Be the first to review this item and earn 25 Rakuten Super Points™

Product Overview


Label Universal Music Group
SKU 60614396
UPC 602498606476
UPC 14 00602498606476
Format CD
Release Date 9/30/2003
Author Donna Summer
Associated Artist/Work Minnelli, Liza
Technical Info
CatalogID AAB000100902
Lable Name UTV
Released 09/30/2003
Original Release 2006
Number of Discs 1
SPARE Code n/a
Length 79m : 10s
Mono/Stereo Stereo
UPC 00602498606476
Musical Guests
Giorgio Moroder
Barbra Streisand
Brooklyn Dreams
Album Notes and Credits
Initial pressings of THE JOURNEY included a bonus CD featuring 12" remixes.
Personnel: Donna Summer, Barbara Streisand, Brooklyn Dreams (vocals); Giorgio Moroder, Vangelis (programming).
Producers include: Pete Belotte, Giorgio Moroder, Gary Klein, Quincy Jones, Michael Omartian.
Compilation producer: Bill Levenson.
Includes liner notes by Brian Chin.
As one of the few performers from the disco era to have a career beyond one-hit wonder status, Donna Summer has continued forward on her creative path well into the 1990s, necessitating the release of the two-disc THE JOURNEY: THE VERY BEST OF DONNA SUMMER. Summer neophytes will get their share of this diva's classic '70s fare including soft-core anthems ("Love to Love You Baby"), streetwalker tributes ("Bad Girls"), erstwhile Jimmy Webb covers ("Macarthur Park") and songs that became ubiquitously associated with proms and weddings ("Last Dance"). Disco aficionados also get a taste of deeper cuts, including "Heaven Knows," "I Feel Love," and "Bad Girls."
This set also features Summer's foray into more straightforward pop like "She Works Hard for the Money" and "This Time I Know It's for Real," the comeback dance-pop smash that also doubled as a collaboration with '80s production team Stock/Aitken/Waterman. Although the second disc only contains five songs, it showcases the lengthy extended versions of songs that dance music fans are accustomed to hearing. This means you get 12" inch remixes of "I Feel Love" and "Hot Stuff," along with an epic version of "You're So Beautiful" that clocks in at just under 11 minutes.
Disc 1
1 Love To Love You Baby
2 Could It Be Magic
3 I Feel Love
4 I Love You
5 Last Dance
6 MacArthur Park
7 Heaven Knows
8 Hot Stuff
9 Bad Girls
10 Dim All The Lights
11 No More Tears (Enough Is Enough) - (featuring Barbra Streisand)
12 On The Radio
13 Wanderer, The
14 Love Is In Control (Finger On The Trigger)
15 State Of Independence
16 She Works Hard For The Money
17 This Time I Know It's For Real
18 I Will Go With You (Con Te Partiro)
19 That's The Way
20 Dream-A-Lot's Theme (I Will Live For Love)
Sold Out
Sorry, you missed the deal!
This product is currently not available.