Labour Of Love-Music Of Nick L CD (2001)

Artist: Various Artists

Customer Reviews   Write a Review

Be the first to review this item and earn 25 Rakuten Super Points™

Product Overview


Label Telarc
SKU 60506037
UPC 089408353826
UPC 14 00089408353826
Format CD
Release Date 9/21/2001
Author Various Artists
Technical Info
Engineer Chris Andersen; Dave Cook; John Peterson; Vince; Jeff Watson; Lincoln Clapp; Randy Miller; Steve Drown; Thomas "Doc" Cavalier; Tim Stambaugh; Elvis Costello
Producer Randy Labbe; Mike Campbell; Tom Petty; Randy Labbe (Compilation)
CatalogID 83538
Lable Name Telarc Distribution
Released 09/25/2001
Original Release 2001
Number of Discs 1
SPARE Code n/a
Mono/Stereo Stereo
Studio/Live Studio
UPC 00089408353826
Album Notes and Credits
Includes liner notes by Bill Bentley.
Personnel: Guy Davis (vocals, guitar, harmonica); Elvis Costello (vocals, guitar, percussion); Graham Parker, Greg Brown, Joe Louis Walker, Marshall Crenshaw, Sleepy LaBeef, Tom Petty (vocals, guitar); Charlie Musselwhite (vocals, harmonica); Christine Ohlman, Dar Williams, Joe Clay, Andrea Re (vocals); Bo Ramsey (guitar, background vocals); Doug Wainoris, G.E. Smith, Cranston Clements (guitar); Tom T-Bone Walk (mandolin, accordion, Wurlitzer organ); Levon Helm (mandolin); Steve Goulding , Steve Holley (drums).
Audio Mixer: Lincoln Clapp.
Liner Note Author: Bill Bentley.
Arranger: G.E. Smith.
Though his songs have been covered by others over the years (everyone from pal Elvis Costello to US soul-popster Curtis Stigers), pop poet Nick Lowe is generally thought of more as a recording artist than as a source of material for others. As this tribute album proves, however, Lowe's blend of soul, pop, rock, and country is infinitely adaptable to the approaches of other artists. After a shaky, whose-idea-was-this beginning courtesy of folkie Dar Williams, things quickly heat up as Lowe's pub-rock peer Graham Parker offers a folkie take on "The Rose of England," spiced up by T-Bone Wolk's accordion and the presence of original Rumour drummer Steve Goulding.
Tom Petty makes the bluesy "Cracking Up" his own, and first-generation rockabilly man Sleepy LaBeef lends his earth-shaking baritone voice to the Tex-Mex jumper "Half a Boy and Half a Man." Midwestern singer-songwriter Greg Brown's version of "Where's My Everything" manages to deftly capture both the desperation and self-deprecating humor inherent in the song. Marshall Crenshaw offers a heartfelt "Cruel to be Kind," from Lowe's brief, legendary tenure with Rockpile. Bluesman manque Guy Davis evinces the same lack of soul on "Soulful Wind" that mars his usual attempts at the blues, but things close nicely with the aforementioned cohort Costello's effectively understated version of the melodic ballad "Egypt."
Professional Reviews
Q (12/01, p.148) - 3 stars out of 5 - "...A loving tribute...with old muckers Graham Parker and Elvis Costello leading the charge..."
No Depression (9-10/01, p.148) - "...Lowe never shied away from blurring boundaries or bouncing around the musical landscape. Thus, it seems fitting that the album's contributors were recruited from a variety of musical worlds..."
Disc 1
1 All Men Are Liars - Dar Williams
2 Rose Of England, The - Graham Parker
3 Cracking Up - Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers
4 Half A Boy And Half A Man - Sleepy LaBeef/C.J. Chenier
5 Where's My Everything? - Greg Brown
6 Television - Marshall Crenshaw
7 Shting Shtang - Joe Clay
8 When I Write The Book - Andrea Re
9 Cruel To Be Kind - Marshall Crenshaw/Christine Ohlman
10 Faithless Lover - Charlie Musselwhite
11 Soulful Wind - Guy Davis/Levon Helm
12 Peace, Love And Understanding, (What's So Funny 'Bout) - Joe Louis Walker
13 Egypt - Elvis Costello
$19.98 + $2.98 shipping
Earn 20 ($0.20) Rakuten Super Points™
What are Rakuten Super Points™?
Get rewarded when you shop! Earn 1 point per dollar spent. That's like getting cash back on every purchase. Easy to see matured points in checkout. Use points just like cash.
Learn More
Format: CD
Condition: Brand New
In Stock. Usually Ships in 1 to 2 business days
Please select an option to buy
Add to Cart

Sold By:  Movie Mars
What is a Marketplace and Shop Owner?
  • Our marketplace is a platform where approved third-party retailers (Shop Owners) can sell their products
  • Items are sold and shipped by Shop Owners
  • Your credit card and personal information remain secure; meets all PCI Security Standards.
  • Purchases can only be returned to the Shop Owner
  • All purchases receive Rakuten Super Points™