Sold Out
This product is currently not available.
Artist: Various
Earn Super Points: Write a Review
Sold Out!
Sorry, this selection is currently unavailable.
Love Train: Sound of Philadelphia CD 1 of 1

Learn more about Love Train: Sound of Philadelphia:

Format: CD
Sku: 209254045
UPC: 886973527924
UPC 14: 00886973527924
Release Date: 10/21/2008
See more in R&B / Soul

Song Listing

Disc 1
Song Title
0. DISC 1:
1. Expressway To Your Heart ~ The Soul Survivors
2. La ~ La Means I Love You
3. Cowboys To Girls ~ The Intruders
4. Hey, Western Union Man ~ Jerry Butler
5. Ready or Not Here I Come (Can't Hide From Love) ~ The Delfonics
6. Only the Strong Survive ~ Jerry Butler
7. Didn't I (Blow Your Mind This Time) ~ The Delfonics
8. Brand New Me ~ Dusty Springfield
9. Don't Let the Green Grass Fool You ~ Wilson Pickett
10. You're the Reason Why ~ The Ebonys
11. Drowning In the Sea of Love ~ Joe Simon
12. I'm Stone In Love With You ~ The Stylistics
13. I Miss You ~ (featuring Teddy Pendergrass)
14. Back Stabbers
15. Sunshine
16. I'll Be Around ~ The Spinners
17. Slow Motion (Part 1) ~ Johnny Williams
18. Me and Mrs. Jones ~ Billy Paul
19. If You Don't Know Me By Now
20. Love is Here ~ The Futures
Disc 2
Song Title
0. DISC 2:
1. Love Train
2. Break Up To Make Up ~ The Stylistics
3. Family Affair
4. It's Forever
5. Time To Get Down
6. There's No Me Without You ~ The Manhattans
7. I'll Always Love My Mama ~ The Intruders
8. Love I Lost, The
9. I Wanna Know Your Name ~ The Intruders
10. Dirty Ol' Man ~ The Three Degrees
11. Put Your Hands Together
12. Thanks For Saving My Life ~ Billy Paul
13. Mighty Love ~ The Spinners
14. Be Thankful For What You Got (Pt.1)
15. For the Love of Money
16. Where Do We Go From Here ~ The Trammps
17. T.S.O.P. (the Sound of Philadelphia) ~ (featuring The Three Degrees)
Disc 3
Song Title
0. DISC 3:
1. Then Came You
2. Love is the Message
3. When Will I See You Again ~ The Three Degrees
4. Where Are All My Friends
5. Picture Us ~ Bunny Sigler
6. Bad Luck
7. Give the People What They Want
8. Billy's Back Home ~ Billy Paul
9. Hope That We Can Be Together Soon ~ (featuring Sharon Paige)
10. Do It Any Way You Wanna ~ People's Choice
11. Big Hurt, The ~ People's Choice
12. Let Me Make Love To You
13. Wake Up Everybody
14. I Love Music
15. Don't Leave Me This Way
16. Let's Groove ~ Archie Bell & The Drells
17. Livin' For the Weekend
Disc 4
Song Title
0. DISC 4:
1. Kiss and Say Goodbye ~ The Manhattans
2. I'm Not In Love ~ Dee Dee Sharp
3. You'll Never Find Another Love Like Mine ~ Lou Rawls
4. Rubberband Man ~ The Spinners
5. Enjoy Yourself ~ The Jacksons
6. Free Love ~ Jean Carn
7. I Don't Love You Anymore ~ Teddy Pendergrass
8. See You When I Git There ~ Lou Rawls
9. Use Ta Be My Girl
10. Close the Door ~ Teddy Pendergrass
11. Ain't No Stoppin' Us Now ~ McFadden & Whitehead
12. You Gonna Make Me Love Somebody ~ The Jones Girls
13. Hurry Up This Way Again ~ The Stylistics
14. Love T.K.O ~ Teddy Pendergrass
15. I Ain't Jivin', I'm Jammin'
16. It's Gonna Take a Miracle ~ Deniece Williams
17. If Only You Knew ~ Patti LaBelle

Album Notes and Credits

Notes & Personnel Info
Muze PNote Sony/Legacy's 2008 four-disc Love Train: The Ultimate Sound of Philadelphia isn't the first box set assembled on Kenneth Gamble and Leon Huff's legendary Philadelphia International Records -- most notably it follows the triple-disc Philly Sound: Kenny Gamble, Leon Huff and the Story of Brotherly Love (1966-1976) by just over a decade -- but it is surely the best, covering more ground and painting a fuller picture of the Philly soul sound than any other similar compilation. This is largely due to how Love Train doesn't focus solely on singles released on Philadelphia International: it encompasses sides released on early, pre-PIR imprints like Crimson, Philly Groove, and Gamble but, more importantly, it weaves in outside productions by Gamble & Huff and their crucial partner Thom Bell. Adding all these non-PIR singles greatly expands Love Train, as does the decision to have this set run all the way into 1983, thereby emphasizing how Gamble & Huff's symphonic soul opened the doors for both disco and quiet storm. Part of the set's appeal is that it does offer some education, illustrating how the psychedelicized soul of 1967's "Expressway (To Your Heart)" led to the cool, soft grooves of 1980's "Love T.K.O.," a document of how rich and adventurous '70s soul was thanks to Gamble & Huff and Bell, and all their artists and associates, but this set never drags like a history lesson. It keeps moving from peak to peak, spending the first disc on early triumphs from the Delfonics ("La-La -- Means I Love You," "Didn't I (Blow Your Mind)"), Joe Simon ("Drowning in the Sea of Love"), the O'Jays ("Back Stabbers"), the Spinners ("I'll Be Around"), Billy Paul ("Me and Mrs. Jones") and Harold Melvin & the Blue Notes ("If You Don't Know Me by Now"), the songs that established the Philly Sound, then giving way to the glory days documented on the second disc, which opens with the O'Jays' "Love Train" and closes with "T.S.O.P. (The Sound of Philadelphia)," the singles that helped cement the Philly sound on a broader scale. The third disc finds Gamble & Huff and Bell expanding their lush signature, ushering in disco with singles like Harold Melvin & the Blue Notes' "Don't Leave Me This Way," then the fourth disc charts the aftermath through the Spinners' "The Rubberband Man," Lou Rawls' "You'll Never Find Another Love Like Mind," and Deniece Williams' "It's Gonna Take a Miracle." Although there are assorted lesser-known singles scattered throughout the box, this is by design hits-heavy, which is how it should be, as this showcases a body of work -- and as this superb set proves, Gamble & Huff's body of work ranks among the strongest popular music of the 20th century. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Musical Guests
Muze Guest Artist Teddy Pendergrass
Muze Guest Artist The Three Degrees
Muze Guest Artist Sharon Paige

Technical Info

Music Release Date Release Date : 10/21/2008
Music Original Release Date Original Release Date : 2008
Music CatalogId Catalog ID : 88697352792
Music Label Name Label : Legacy
Music Number of Discs Number of Discs : 4
Music Studio or Live Studio/Live : Studio
Music Mono or Stereo Mono/Stereo : Stereo
Music SPAR code SPAR Code : n/a
Music UPC UPC : 00886973527924

Professional Reviews

Spin (p.98)
- 4.5 stars out of 5 -- "This four-CD box collects all the hits plus rarities, with forceful message songs..."

Record Collector (magazine)
- 5 stars out of 5 -- "Three decades removed from its heyday and, without too many of these songs having reached ubiquitous radio play status, the freshness, yet immediate familiarity of this compilation cannot be ignored."

Advertisement Bottom