Greatest Hits CD (2004)

Artist: Maze

Customer Reviews   Write a Review

Be the first to review this item and earn 25 Rakuten Super Points™

Product Overview


Label Capitol Records
SKU 61016289
UPC 724357985628
UPC 14 00724357985628
Format CD
Release Date 8/10/2004
Author Maze
Associated Artist/Work Beverly, Frankie
Associated Artist/Work Maze & Frankie Beverly
Technical Info
Producer Frankie Beverly; Frankie Beverly; Tom Cartwright (Compilation)
CatalogID 5798562
Lable Name Capitol
Released 08/10/2004
Original Release 2004
Number of Discs 1
SPARE Code n/a
Length 78m : 43s
Mono/Stereo Stereo
Studio/Live Studio
UPC 00724357985628
Album Notes and Credits
Liner Note Author: Gail Mitchell.
Representative of the transition between late-1970s funk and the smooth R&B that came to dominate '80s pop radio, Frankie Beverly's Maze is rightfully recognized as an important band in the genre. This 2004 compilation brings together 18 of Maze's finest moments, ranging from 1979's bass-popping jam "Workin' Together" to the silky, Quiet Storm vibe of 1993's "The Morning After." In between is more than a decade's worth of accessible soul, including lock-step funk ("Running Away"), slow-pulse love balladry ("Never Let You Down"), and lounge-ready mid-tempo grooves ("We Are One").
Leader, songwriter, and singer Frankie Beverly is the focus here, and his smooth-as-butter croon, complete with emotive R&B embellishments, shines throughout. Though influenced by such '70s acts as Funkadelic, Smokey Robinson, and Marvin Gaye (Gaye, incidentally, helped Maze get its professional start), the music of Beverly and company is undeniably '80s, dominated by synthesizer, polished production, and a post-disco dance sensibility (as on the strong cut "Back in Stride"). The two live tracks--the audience-participation number "Joy & Pain," and "Happy Feelin's," the band's signature tune--are a bonus to this definitive greatest-hits package.
Disc 1
1 Workin' Together
2 Golden Time Of Day
3 Feel That You're Feelin'
4 Southern Girl
5 Running Away
6 Joy and Pain
7 Before I Let Go
8 Love Is The Key
9 Never Let You Down
10 We Are One
11 I Wanna Thank You
12 Back In Stride
13 Too Many Games
14 I Wanna Be With You
15 Happy Feelin's - (live)
16 Can't Get Over You
17 Silky Soul
18 Morning After, The
Product Attributes
Artist Maze
Label The Right Stuff Records
Music Format Compact Disc
$12.19 + $3.16 shipping
Rakuten Super Points Earn 13 ($0.13) Rakuten Super Points™
What are Rakuten Super Points™?
Get rewarded when you shop! Earn 1 point per dollar spent. That's like getting cash back on every purchase. Easy to see matured points in checkout. Use points just like cash.
Learn More
Format: CD
Condition: Brand New
In Stock. Usually Ships in 1 to 2 business days
Please select an option to buy
Add to Cart

Sold By:  amitcj
What is a Marketplace and Shop Owner?
  • Our marketplace is a platform where approved third-party retailers (Shop Owners) can sell their products
  • Items are sold and shipped by Shop Owners
  • Your credit card and personal information remain secure; meets all PCI Security Standards.
  • Purchases can only be returned to the Shop Owner
  • All purchases receive Rakuten Super Points™