Sold Out
This product is currently not available.
Artist: Various Artists
Earn Rakuten Super Points™: Write a Review
Sold Out!
Sorry, this selection is currently unavailable.
Night Train To Nashville: Music City Rhythm & Blues 1945-1970 CD 1 of 1

Learn more about Night Train To Nashville: Music City Rhythm & Blues 1945-1970:

Format: CD
Sku: 60626721
UPC: 602498618240
UPC 14: 00602498618240
Release Date: 2/24/2004
See more in R&B / Soul

Song Listing

Disc 1
Song Title
1. Nashville Jumps - Cecil Gant ~ Various Artists
2. Buzzard Pie - Rudy Green & His Orchestra ~ Various Artists
3. Skip's Boogie - Kid King's Combo ~ Various Artists
4. L&N Special - Christine Kittrell ~ Various Artists
5. Sittin' Here Drinking - Christine Kittrell ~ Various Artists
6. Just Walkin' In The Rain - The Prisionaires ~ Various Artists
7. If You And I Could Be Sweethearts - The Varieteers ~ Various Artists
8. Baby Let's Play House - Arthur Gunter ~ Various Artists
9. Christene - Little Hank Crawford & The Rhythm Kings ~ Various Artists
10. It's Love Baby (24 Hours A Day) - Louis Brooks & His Hi-Toppers/Earl Gaines ~ Various Artists
11. Rollin' Stone - The Marigolds ~ Various Artists
12. You Can Make It If You Try - Gene Allison ~ Various Artists
13. Rockin' The Joint - Esquerita ~ Various Artists
14. Let's Trade A Little - Audrey Bryant ~ Various Artists
15. Say You Really Care - Roscoe Shelton ~ Various Artists
16. Somebody, Somewhere - Larry Birdsong ~ Various Artists
17. Pipe Dreams - Jimmy Beck & His Orchestra ~ Various Artists
18. WLAC Commercial - Little Richard (bonus track) ~ Various Artists
19. White Rose - Earl Gaines (bonus track) ~ Various Artists
Disc 2
Song Title
1. WLAC Air Check / Monkey Doin' Woman - John Richbourg/Shy Guy Douglas - (bonus track) ~ Various Artists
2. What'd I Say - Etta James (live) ~ Various Artists
3. Really (Part 1) - Johnny Jones & The Imperial 7 ~ Various Artists
4. Just Like Him - Frank Howard & The Commanders ~ Various Artists
5. Anna (Go To Him) - Arthur Alexander ~ Various Artists
6. Snap Your Fingers - Joe Henderson ~ Various Artists
7. Mama, He Treats Your Daughter Mean - Ruth Brown (Nashville version) ~ Various Artists
8. Something Tells Me - Sam Baker ~ Various Artists
9. Sunny - Bobby Hebb ~ Various Artists
10. I Want To (Do Everything For You) - Joe Tex ~ Various Artists
11. Bigger And Better - The Hytones ~ Various Artists
12. Since I Met You Baby - The Avons ~ Various Artists
13. Chokin' Kind, The - Joe Simon ~ Various Artists
14. She Shot A Hole In My Soul - Clifford Curry ~ Various Artists
15. Gotta Get Yourself Together - The Valentines ~ Various Artists
16. Soul Shake - Peggy Scott/Jo Jo Benson ~ Various Artists
17. Reconsider Me - Johnny Adams ~ Various Artists
18. Everlasting Love - Robert Knight ~ Various Artists

Album Notes and Credits

Notes & Personnel Info
Muze PNote Compilation producers: Daniel Cooper, Michael Gray.
Muze PNote Recorded between 1945 & 1970. Includes liner notes by Michael Gray.
Muze PNote Though R&B is hardly the first thing that comes to mind when Nashville, Tennessee is mentioned, the town known worldwide as the cradle of country music does indeed have a long, rich tradition of blues, soul, and more. The revelatory two-disc collection NIGHT TRAIN TO NASHVILLE makes Nashville's R&B legacy clear by tracing it across four decades. The first disc abounds with delightful obscurities like Cecil Gant's jump-blues tune "Nashville Jumps" and convict vocal group the Prisonaires' haunting ballad "Just Walkin' in the Rain." The second disc contains more familiar fare, such as Joe Simon's soul gem "The Chokin' Kind" and Arthur Alexander's legendary Brill Building-goes-South lament "Anna (Go to Him)" (later covered by the Beatles). The context provided by NIGHT TRAIN's theme also serves to underscore the not-so-subtle connections that have always existed between country music and R&B; it's easy to imagine a great country singer sinking his teeth into virtually any of the soulful gems on offer here.

Technical Info

Music Release Date Release Date : 02/24/2004
Music Original Release Date Original Release Date : 2004
Music CatalogId Catalog ID : 0002100
Music Label Name Label : Lost Highway
Music Number of Discs Number of Discs : 2
Music Studio or Live Studio/Live : Studio
Music Mono or Stereo Mono/Stereo : Mixed
Music SPAR code SPAR Code : n/a
Music UPC UPC : 00602498618240

Professional Reviews

Rolling Stone (p.92)
- 3 1/2 stars out of 5 - "[I]nteresting on this collection are lesser-known artists such as Christine Kittrell, who shines on the depressive blues number 'Sittin' Here Drinking'..."

Mojo (Publisher)
- 4 stars out of 5 - "The tunes here speak for themselves....NIGHT TRAIN TO NASHVILLE proves indispensable and irresistible."

Advertisement Bottom