Preacher's Wife CD (1996)

Artist: Soundtrack

Customer Reviews   Write a Review

Be the first to review this item and earn 25 Rakuten Super Points™

Product Overview

Whitney’s lifelong dream of creating a pop/gospel album was realized in November 1996, when Arista released the original motion picture soundtrack album for The Preacher’s Wife, the biggest selling gospel album in Billboard chart history. Nurtured by her mother, R&B/gospel star Cissy Houston (an original member of the Sweet Inspirations) and her legendary cousin Dionne Warwick, Whitney’s passion for gospel music has been there since birth. Her collaboration with an extraordinary roster of producers and artists resulted in one of the most unique albums to date. Whitney sang lead vocals on 14 of the album’s 15 tracks, including the beautiful first single "I Believe In You And Me," "Step By Step" (written by Annie Lennox), and two songs produced by Grammy award-winner Babyface. In addition, Cissy Houston sang solo on a special track, "The Lord Is My Shepherd," in which she turned the familiar 23rd Psalm into a spiritually touching song by adding music to the standard prayer. The gospel-driven tracks on the album were co-produced by Whitney and Grammy/Dove award winner Mervyn Warren (Sister Act I and Sister Act II). Other luminaries on the album included Shirley Caesar and the Georgia Mass Choir.


Label Bmg/arista
SKU 60133347
UPC 078221895125
UPC 14 00078221895125
Format CD
Release Date 11/26/1996
Author Soundtrack
Disc 1
1 I Believe In You And Me - Whitney Houston
2 Step By Step - Whitney Houston
3 Joy - Whitney Houston/Georgia Mass Choir
4 Hold On, Help Is On The Way - Whitney Houston/Georgia Mass Choir
5 I Go To The Rock - Whitney Houston/Georgia Mass Choir
6 I Love The Lord - Whitney Houston/Georgia Mass Choir
7 Somebody Bigger Than You And I - Whitney Houston/Bobby Brown/Faith Evans/Johnny Gill/Monica/Ralph Tresvant
8 You Were Loved - Whitney Houston
9 My Heart Is Calling - Whitney Houston
10 I Believe In You And Me - Whitney Houston (record version)
11 Step By Step - Whitney Houston (remix)
12 Who Would Imagine A King - Whitney Houston
13 He's All Over Me - Whitney Houston/Shirley Caesar/Georgia Mass Choir
14 Lord Is My Shepherd, The - Cissy Houston/Hezekiah Walker & The Love Fellowship Crusade Choir
15 Joy To The World - Whitney Houston/Georgia Mass Choir
Sold Out
Sorry, you missed the deal!
This product is currently not available.