Get Free Shipping when you spend at least $0.01 with Blow It Outa Here.
Ships from/sold by Blow It Outa Here
Seller Rating:
See All Buying Options
Artist: Various
Earn Rakuten Super Points™: Write a Review
Sorry, this selection is currently unavailable.
Randys 50Th Anniversary CD 1 of 1
(Save 11%)
$23.09  + Free Shipping
EARN 24 RAKUTEN SUPER POINTS™ Rakuten Super Points™
What are Rakuten Super Points™?
Get rewarded when you shop! Earn 1 point per dollar spent. That's like getting cash back on every purchase. Easy to see matured points in checkout. Use points just like cash.
Learn More
IN STOCK: Usually Ships in 1 to 2 business days
2 New
See all sellers
View My Store
More Buying Options
Seller Information

Learn more about Randy's 50Th Anniversary:

Format: CD
Sku: 209337390
UPC: 054645410021
UPC 14: 00054645410021
Release Date: 10/28/2008
See more in Caribbean

Song Listing

Disc 1
Song Title
1. Independent Jamaica ~ Various Artists
2. Let Me Dream - Alton & Eddie ~ Various Artists
3. Since You're Gone - Roy & Paulette ~ Various Artists
4. Rico Special ~ Various Artists
5. We Will Be Lovers - Norma Fraser ~ Various Artists
6. Don't Stay Out Late ~ Various Artists
7. Goodbye Pretty Darling ~ Various Artists
8. Make Hay - Cornel Campbell ~ Various Artists
9. Royal Charlie ~ Various Artists
10. Blow Roland Blow - Joanne Gordon/Roland Alphonso ~ Various Artists
11. Portrait of My Love ~ Various Artists
12. Malcolm X ~ Various Artists
13. Mouth a Massy ~ Various Artists
14. Rum Bumpers - John & Alton/Alton Ellis ~ Various Artists
15. John & James ~ Various Artists
16. Yagga Yagga - Delroy Byfield ~ Various Artists
17. Machine Shop - Don Drummand/Don Drummond ~ Various Artists
18. Home Home Home ~ Various Artists
19. Such Is Life ~ Various Artists
20. Sugar Sugar ~ Various Artists
21. You Can't Fool Me Again ~ Various Artists
22. Wha She Do Now ~ Various Artists
23. Warfare - Count Machuki ~ Various Artists
24. End Dust - Impact All-Stars/Randy's All Stars ~ Various Artists
25. True Man ~ Various Artists
Disc 2
Song Title
1. Java ~ Various Artists
2. Hospital Trolley - J-Roy/I-Roy ~ Various Artists
3. King of Babylon ~ Various Artists
4. Don't Go - Horace Andy ~ Various Artists
5. Little Love, A ~ Various Artists
6. Cheater - Dennis Brown/Donovan Carless ~ Various Artists
7. For the Love of You ~ Various Artists
8. Too Late to Turn Back Now ~ Various Artists
9. Be Thankful - Donovan Carless ~ Various Artists
10. Woman Of The Ghetto - Hortense Ellis ~ Various Artists
11. Children of the Ghetto ~ Various Artists
12. Lonely Soldier - Gregory Isaacs ~ Various Artists
13. Going to Zion ~ Various Artists
14. Ordinary Man ~ Various Artists
15. Ordinary Version 3 ~ Various Artists
16. Hold Tight ~ Various Artists
17. Righteous Man - Keith Popin/Keith Poppin ~ Various Artists
18. Created By The Father - Errol Dunkley ~ Various Artists
19. Race, The ~ Various Artists
20. My Guiding Star ~ Various Artists
21. Something On Your Mind - Hubert Lee ~ Various Artists
22. Country Boy - Dirty Harry/Charlie Ace ~ Various Artists
23. No Jestering ~ Various Artists
24. Knotty No Jester ~ Various Artists
25. Fattie Bum Bum ~ Various Artists

Album Notes and Credits

Notes & Personnel Info
Muze PNote Audio Remasterer: Chris Scott .
Muze PNote Liner Note Authors: David Katz; Steve Barrow.
Muze PNote It would probably be an exaggeration to say that the history of Randy's is the history of reggae music, but it wouldn't be a huge one. Founded in 1958 by Vincent Chin and his wife Patricia, Randy's pioneered what would soon become a standard Kingston enterprise: a combination record store, recording studio, label, and distribution service, a company which would eventually evolve into the still-market-dominant VP label. Randy's jumped on the reggae train before reggae even existed; this generously packed, two-disc retrospective documents both classic calypso and early ska recordings before moving through the rocksteady era at the end of the first disc and picking up with the beginning of the roots reggae period on the second. The total timespan covers 1960 through 1976, and featured artists include the great calypsonian Lord Creator, Baba Brooks, the Skatalites, Junior Byles, Gregory Isaacs, Black Uhuru, and the Heptones. Much of this material is relatively familiar: dedicated roots reggae fans will already own copies of Lord Creator's "Independent Jamaica," Augustus Pablo's "Java" (presented alongside a brilliant DJ cut by I-Roy), and Black Uhuru's "Going to Zion." But many listeners will be startled to learn that Bob Marley & the Wailers recorded a rocksteady version of the Archies' "Sugar Sugar," and some of the more obscure work by artists like Lloyd Parks and Carl Malcolm is likely to be a pleasant revelation even to many familiar with the genre. The package also includes a bonus DVD with a documentary film on the history of Randy's, featuring interviews with former employees, recording artists, and surviving family members. ~ Rick Anderson

Technical Info

Music Release Date Release Date : 10/28/2008
Music Original Release Date Original Release Date : 2008
Music CatalogId Catalog ID : VP4100
Music Label Name Label : VP
Music Number of Discs Number of Discs : 3
Music Studio or Live Studio/Live : Studio
Music Mono or Stereo Mono/Stereo : Stereo
Music SPAR code SPAR Code : n/a
Music UPC UPC : 00054645410021

Advertisement Bottom