Ships from/sold by Movie Mars
Seller Rating:

Reggae Gold (2005)

Artist: Various Artists
Earn Rakuten Super Points™: Write a Review
Sorry, this selection is currently unavailable.
Reggae Gold CD 1 of 1
(Save 46%)
$10.72 + $2.98 SHIPPING
EARN 11 RAKUTEN SUPER POINTS™ Rakuten Super Points™
What are Rakuten Super Points™?
Get rewarded when you shop! Earn 1 point per dollar spent. That's like getting cash back on every purchase. Easy to see matured points in checkout. Use points just like cash.
Learn More
IN STOCK: Usually Ships in 1 to 2 business days
View My Store
Seller Information

Learn more about Reggae Gold:

Format: CD
Sku: 63994841
UPC: 602498312100
UPC 14: 00602498312100
Release Date: 7/26/2005
See more in Caribbean

Song Listing

Disc 1
Song Title
1. Israelites - Desmond Dekker/The Aces/Desmond Dekker & the Aces ~ Various Artists
2. Viet Nam - Jimmy Cliff ~ Various Artists
3. You Can Get It If You Really Want - Desmond Dekker ~ Various Artists
4. Pressure Drop - Toots & The Maytals ~ Various Artists
5. Harder They Come, The - Jimmy Cliff ~ Various Artists
6. Country Road - Toots & The Maytals ~ Various Artists
7. King Tubby Meets The Rockers Uptown - Augustus Pablo ~ Various Artists
8. Country Boy - The Heptones ~ Various Artists
9. Carry Go Bring Come - Justin Hinds/The Dominoes/Justin Hinds & the Dominoes ~ Various Artists
10. War Ina Babylon - Max Romeo & The Upsetters ~ Various Artists
11. Man In The Hills - Burning Spear ~ Various Artists
12. One Step Forward - Max Romeo & The Upsetters ~ Various Artists
13. Police And Thieves - Junior Murvin ~ Various Artists
14. Cokane In My Brain - Dillinger ~ Various Artists
15. Sufferer's Time - The Heptones ~ Various Artists
16. Roast Fish and Corn Bread - Lee "Scratch" Perry ~ Various Artists
Disc 2
Song Title
1. Bionic Dread - Dillinger ~ Various Artists
2. Dreadlocks in Moonlight - Lee "Scratch" Perry ~ Various Artists
3. To Be a Lover (Have Mercy) - George Faith ~ Various Artists
4. Now That We Found Love - Third World ~ Various Artists
5. Social Living - Burning Spear (extended mix) ~ Various Artists
6. Mondays - Black Uhuru (U.S. 12" Remix) ~ Various Artists
7. World Is Troubled, The - Dennis Brown ~ Various Artists
8. Chill Out - Black Uhuru (U.S. 12" Remix) ~ Various Artists
9. Bed's Too Big Without You, The - Sheila Hylton (Extended Mix) ~ Various Artists
10. Sexual Healing - Jimmy Riley ~ Various Artists
11. Spiritual Healing - Toots Hibbert ~ Various Artists
12. Love Has Found It's Way - Dennis Brown ~ Various Artists
13. Pass The Kouchie - The Mighty Diamonds ~ Various Artists
14. Night Nurse - Gregory Isaacs ~ Various Artists

Album Notes and Credits

Notes & Personnel Info
Muze PNote Liner Note Author: Tom Terrell.
Muze PNote Photographer: Tom Terrell.
Muze PNote Arrangers: Augustus Pablo; Sly Dunbar; Robbie Shakespeare; Larry Fallon.
Muze PNote A concise sampler of Jamaica's signature musical genre, the two-disc REGGAE GOLD set features essential tracks recorded by a number of the style's major performers between 1969 and 1983. The chronologically arranged compilation begins with Desmond Dekker & the Aces' "Israelites," one of the first reggae singles to become an international hit. With its Motown-inspired vocals and amazingly catchy rhythms, the track is an archetypal reggae song that helped pave the way for the style's later far-reaching popularity. Moving into the '70s, reggae's golden era, the collection presents classics by Jimmy Cliff (the politically charged "Viet Nam"), Toots & the Maytals (the dance-floor favorite "Pressure Drop," famously covered by the Clash), Junior Murvin (the socially aware "Police and Thieves," another song later performed by the Clash), and Lee "Scratch" Perry (the dreamy dub tune "Roast Fish and Corn Bread"). For those with a limited knowledge of reggae, who may seeking to explore other key artists, REGGAE GOLD is an ideal starting point.

Producer: Leslie Kong; Jimmy Cliff; Warrick Lyn; Augustus Pablo; Danny Holloway; Lawrence "Jack Ruby" Lindo; Lee "Scratch" Perry; Alex Sadkin; Winston Rodney; Sly Dunbar; Joe Gibbs; Clive Hunt; Robbie Shakespeare; Chris Blackwell; Willie Lindo; Augustus Clarke; Gre

Technical Info

Music Release Date Release Date : 07/26/2005
Music Original Release Date Original Release Date : 2005
Music CatalogId Catalog ID : 9831210
Music Label Name Label : Hip-O
Music Number of Discs Number of Discs : 2
Music Studio or Live Studio/Live : Studio
Music Mono or Stereo Mono/Stereo : Stereo
Music SPAR code SPAR Code : n/a
Music UPC UPC : 00602498312100

Advertisement Bottom