Road Goes On Forever (w/ Bonus DVD) (Limited Edition) CD (2005)

Artist: Highwaymen

Customer Reviews   Write a Review

Be the first to review this item and earn 25 Rakuten Super Points™

Product Overview


Label Capitol Records
SKU 64009179
UPC 724347450600
UPC 14 00724347450600
Format CD
Release Date 11/8/2005
Author Highwaymen
Associated Artist/Work Cash, Johnny
Associated Artist/Work Highwaymen (Folk) (The)
Technical Info
Engineer Rik Pekkonen
Producer Don Was
CatalogID 74506
Lable Name Capitol/EMI Records
Released 11/08/2005
Original Release 1995
Number of Discs 1
SPARE Code n/a
Mono/Stereo Stereo
Studio/Live Studio
UPC 00724347450600
Album Notes and Credits
The Highwaymen: Johnny Cash, Waylon Jennings, Kris Kristofferson, Willie Nelson (vocals, guitar).
Additional personnel: Mark Goldenberg (acoustic & baritone guitars, electric sitar); Al Anderson (electric & acoustic guitars); Reggie Young (electric guitar); Robby Turner (pedal steel, dobro); Mickey Raphael (harmonica); Danny Timms (acoustic piano, background vocals); Luis Resto (Wurlitzer electric piano); Benmont Tench (Hammond C-3); Michael Rhodes (bass); Kenny Aronoff (drums); Billy Swan (background vocals).
Recorded at Ocean Way, Hollywood, California.
The Highwaymen (Country): Johnny Cash, Kris Kristofferson, Waylon Jennings, Willie Nelson (vocals, guitar); Al Anderson (acoustic guitar, electric guitar); Mark Goldenberg (acoustic guitar, baritone guitar, electric sitar); Reggie Young (electric guitar); Robby Turner (pedal steel guitar, dobro); Mickey Raphael (harmonica); Danny Timms (piano); Luis Resto (electric piano, Wurlitzer piano); Benmont Tench (Hammond b-3 organ); Michael Rhodes (bass instrument); Kenny Aronoff (drums).
On THE ROAD GOES ON FOREVER, four venerable veterans emphatically prove that experience, talent, and strong material add up to a potent combination. The Highwaymen have few peers not only because each is a country music living legend, but because this quartet has lived its songs; they have turned the gravel to dust by endlessly riding down the roads they sing about.
Combining the songbooks of the four main participants with some tasty choices by outside writers, the Highwaymen offer an expansive look at life through crow-footed outlaw eyes. Whether it's the meditative, metaphysical marvel "Death And Hell," written by Johnny Cash and his son, or the sublime title track penned by relative newcomer Robert Earl Keen, the Highwaymen lend these songs a thoroughly lived-in feel. They often rotate the lead vocals within a song--singing the rafters off Steve Earle's "The Devil's Right Hand" both separately and together--and add their distinctive harmony styles to their compadres' solo turns. Willie Nelson's "The End Of Understanding" flows gently along, like a still, endless river, while Kristofferson's tired, gruff voice perfectly guides his ode to the bright side of human nature, "Here Comes The Rainbow Again."
THE ROAD GOES ON FOREVER is the kind of highly spirited, provocative effort that should send Nashville's new breed back to the rehearsal halls, in hope that one day they too can fill the boots of the country's still-kicking legends.
Professional Reviews
Entertainment Weekly (4/14/95, pp.62-63) - "...a solid collection of unconventional and often introspective songs....the new album veers from hymn-like meditations to honky-tonk shuffles to chugging country-rockers exploring acceptance, self-reliance and universal love..." - Rating: B
Q (5/95, p.104) - 3 Stars - Good - "...Worn, weather-beaten and just a little bit fierier this time around."
Disc 1
1 Devil's Right Hand, The
2 Live Forever
3 Everyone Gets Crazy
4 It Is What It Is
5 I Do Believe
6 End Of Understanding, The
7 True Love Travels On A Gravel Road
8 Death And Hell
9 Waiting For A Long Time
10 Here Comes That Rainbow Again
11 Road Goes On Forever, The
12 If He Came Back Again - (previously unreleased)
13 Live Forever - (previously unreleased, Acoustic demo)
14 I Ain't Song - (previously unreleased, Acoustic Demo)
15 Pick up the Tempo - (previously unreleased, Acoustic Demo)
16 Closer to the Bone - (previously unreleased, Acoustic Demo)
17 Back in the Saddle - (previously unreleased, Acoustic Outtake)
Product Attributes
Artist Highwaymen
Label Capitol Records
Music Format Compact Disc

More Buying Options

Seller Infomation Price & Shipping  
Blow It Outa Here $25.41 + free shipping
Condition: Brand New
In Stock, 45 Day Returns
All products are BRAND NEW and factory sealed. Fast shipping with tracking and delivery confirmation! 100% Satisfaction Guaranteed.
Usually ships in 1 to 2 business days
Add to Cart
amitcj $23.33 + $3.16 shipping
Condition: Brand New
In Stock
Buy with confidence. Excellent Customer Service & Return policy. (ROAD GOES ON FOREVER)
Usually ships in 1 to 2 business days
Add to Cart
Synergy Data Inc $37.62 + free shipping
Condition: Brand New
In Stock

Usually ships in 1 to 2 business days
Add to Cart
$25.41 + free shipping
Rakuten Super Points Earn 26 ($0.26) Rakuten Super Points™
What are Rakuten Super Points™?
Get rewarded when you shop! Earn 1 point per dollar spent. That's like getting cash back on every purchase. Easy to see matured points in checkout. Use points just like cash.
Learn More
Format: CD
Condition: Brand New
In Stock. Usually Ships in 1 to 2 business days
Please select an option to buy
Add to Cart

Sold By:  Blow It Outa Here
What is a Marketplace and Shop Owner?
  • Our marketplace is a platform where approved third-party retailers (Shop Owners) can sell their products
  • Items are sold and shipped by Shop Owners
  • Your credit card and personal information remain secure; meets all PCI Security Standards.
  • Purchases can only be returned to the Shop Owner
  • All purchases receive Rakuten Super Points™