Ships from/sold by
See All Buying Options
Artist: Various Artists
Earn Rakuten Super Points™: Write a Review
Sorry, this selection is currently unavailable.
Rock n Roll at 50: A Galaxy of Hits from Rocks First Decade Box Set CD 1 of 1
(Save 32%)
$33.81 + $1.90 SHIPPING
EARN 34 RAKUTEN SUPER POINTS™ Rakuten Super Points™
What are Rakuten Super Points™?
Get rewarded when you shop! Earn 1 point per dollar spent. That's like getting cash back on every purchase. Easy to see matured points in checkout. Use points just like cash.
Learn More
More inventory may be available. Place your order today and be one of the first to receive this product when it arrives!
Alert me when this item is in stock.
3 New
See all sellers
45 day return policy
More Buying Options

Learn more about Rock 'n' Roll at 50: A Galaxy of Hits from Rock's First Decade Box Set:

Format: CD
Sku: 60619841
UPC: 826663028324
UPC 14: 00826663028324
Release Date: 11/18/2003
Sales Rank: 1289
See more in Pop

Song Listing

Disc 1
Song Title
1. Blue Suede Shoes - Carl Perkins ~ Various Artists
2. Tutti Frutti - Little Richard ~ Various Artists
3. Heartbreak Hotel - Elvis Presley ~ Various Artists
4. Charlie Brown - The Coasters ~ Various Artists
5. Ain't That A Shame - Fats Domino ~ Various Artists
6. Duke Of Earl - Gene Chandler ~ Various Artists
7. Whole Lot Of Shakin' Going On - Jerry Lee Lewis ~ Various Artists
8. Do Wah Diddy Diddy - Manfred Man ~ Various Artists
9. Love Is Strange - Mickey & Sylvia ~ Various Artists
10. Teenager In Love, A - Dion & The Belmonts ~ Various Artists
11. To Sir, With Love - Lulu ~ Various Artists
12. Hello Mary Lou - Ricky Nelson ~ Various Artists
13. Kansas City - Wilbert Harrison ~ Various Artists
14. In The Still Of The Night - The Five Satins ~ Various Artists
15. When You Dance - The Turbans ~ Various Artists
16. Lady Willpower - Gary Puckett & The Union Gap ~ Various Artists
17. Black Is Black - Los Bravos ~ Various Artists
18. Downtown - Petula Clark ~ Various Artists
19. Dream Lover - Bobby Darin ~ Various Artists
20. Chains - The Cookies ~ Various Artists
Disc 2
Song Title
1. Rock And Roll Is Here To Stay - Danny & The Juniors ~ Various Artists
2. Shake Rattle And Roll - Bill Haley & His Comets ~ Various Artists
3. That'll Be The Day - The Crickets ~ Various Artists
4. This Old Heart Of Mine (Is Weak For You) - The Isley Brothers ~ Various Artists
5. Game Of Love, The - Wayne Fontana & The Mindbenders ~ Various Artists
6. Bo Diddley - Bo Diddley ~ Various Artists
7. Sweet Nothin's - Brenda Lee ~ Various Artists
8. My Guy - Mary Wells ~ Various Artists
9. It's Not Unusual - Tom Jones ~ Various Artists
10. Come See About Me - The Supremes ~ Various Artists
11. 'Till - The Angels ~ Various Artists
12. Sealed With A Kiss - Brian Hyland ~ Various Artists
13. Johnny B. Goode - Chuck Berry ~ Various Artists
14. Way You Do The Things You Do, The - The Temptations ~ Various Artists
15. King Of The Road - Roger Miller ~ Various Artists
16. You Don't Own Me - Lesley Gore ~ Various Artists
17. Shop Around - The Miracles ~ Various Artists
18. Baby I Need Your Loving - The Four Tops ~ Various Artists
19. Remember (Walkin' In The Sand) - The Shangri-Las ~ Various Artists
20. You Don't Have To Say You Love Me - Dusty Springfield ~ Various Artists
Disc 3
Song Title
1. Gypsy Cried, The - Lou Christie ~ Various Artists
2. Sherry - The Four Seasons ~ Various Artists
3. Birds And The Bees, The - Jewel Akens ~ Various Artists
4. Bread And Butter - The Newbeats ~ Various Artists
5. Treat Her Right - Roy Head ~ Various Artists
6. She's Not There - The Zombies ~ Various Artists
7. Let It Be Me - The Everly Brothers ~ Various Artists
8. Don't Let The Sun (Catch You Crying) - Gerry & The Pacemakers ~ Various Artists
9. Save The Last Dance For Me - The Drifters ~ Various Artists
10. Sea Cruise - Frankie Ford ~ Various Artists
11. Fun, Fun, Fun - The Beach Boys ~ Various Artists
12. Easier Said Than Done - The Essex ~ Various Artists
13. Hey Paula - Paul & Paula ~ Various Artists
14. In Crowd, The - Dobi Gray ~ Various Artists
15. This Magic Moment - Jay & The Americans ~ Various Artists
16. Poetry In Motion - Johnny Tillotson ~ Various Artists
17. My True Love - Jack & Scott ~ Various Artists
18. Dead Man's Curve - Jan & Dean ~ Various Artists
19. It Hurts To Be In Love - Gene Pitney ~ Various Artists
20. Oh, Pretty Woman - Roy Orbison ~ Various Artists
We should all look so good at fifty.

Rock & Roll at 50: A Galaxy of Hits From Rock's First Decade is a three-disc companion to the PBS special produced in cooperation with WQED/Pittsburgh by the same team that created the famed Doo Wop 50 special (the #1 PBS fundraiser of all time). This new box set contains sixty chartbusting hits, from the genesis of rock in the mid-Fifties, through doo-wop, surf music, Motown, Brill Building pop and the British Invasion.

The track list looks like a Who's Who of rock: Elvis Presley, The Beach Boys, Chuck Berry, Buddy Holly, The Supremes, Roy Orbison and many, many more. Sixty smash hits in all!

Album Notes and Credits

Notes & Personnel Info
Muze PNote Audio Remasterer: Mike Thomas.
Muze PNote Liner Note Author: Billy Vera.
Muze PNote Recording information: 1956.
Muze PNote Shout! Factory's 2003 box set Rock and Roll at Fifty: A Galaxy of Hits from Rock's First Decade is an excellent triple-disc overview of the early days of rock & roll. Starting with Carl Perkins' "Blue Suede Shoes," the 60-track set features a little bit of everything from the late '50s and early '60s -- there's a bunch of driving rock & roll, but also hard-charging R&B, Motown, Brill Building pop, girl groups, teen idols, Merseybeat, and surf rock. While there are no surprises here (with the possible exception of beginning disc three with Lou Christie's "The Gypsy Cried"), there are absolutely no duds and most of this is both classic and important, making this a first-rate sampler and introduction to the best music from the early days of rock & roll. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Producer: Richard Foos (Compilation); T.J. Lubinsky (Compilation); Garson Foos (Compilation)

Technical Info

Music Release Date Release Date : 11/18/2003
Music Original Release Date Original Release Date : 2003
Music CatalogId Catalog ID : 30283
Music Label Name Label : Shout! Factory
Music Number of Discs Number of Discs : 3
Music Studio or Live Studio/Live : Studio
Music Mono or Stereo Mono/Stereo : Stereo
Music SPAR code SPAR Code : n/a
Music UPC UPC : 00826663028324

Advertisement Bottom