Ships from/sold by Movie Mars
Seller Rating:
See All Buying Options
Artist: Various
Earn Rakuten Super Points™: Write a Review
Sorry, this selection is currently unavailable.
Rough Guide To English Folk CD 1 of 1
(Save 34%)
$9.78 + $2.98 SHIPPING
EARN 10 RAKUTEN SUPER POINTS™ Rakuten Super Points™
What are Rakuten Super Points™?
Get rewarded when you shop! Earn 1 point per dollar spent. That's like getting cash back on every purchase. Easy to see matured points in checkout. Use points just like cash.
Learn More
3 New
See all sellers
View My Store
More Buying Options
Seller Information

Learn more about Rough Guide To English Folk:

Format: CD
Sku: 221688015
UPC: 605633126129
UPC 14: 00605633126129
Release Date: 6/21/2011
See more in Folk

Song Listing

Disc 1
Song Title
0. DISC 1:
1. Yarmouth Town ~ Bellowhead
2. Tongue ~ Tied
3. Adieu To Old England ~ Ian King
4. Wedding/Because He Was a Bonny Lad ~ Kathryn Tickell
5. Byker Hill ~ Pete Coe
6. My Son John ~ The Imagined Village
7. Sweet Primroses, The ~ Bob & Ron Copper
8. Welcome Sailor, The ~ Nancy Wallace (previously unreleased)
9. Charlie/Come Back ~ Andy Cutting
10. Lord Bateman ~ Chris Wood
11. Bonaparte's Lament ~ Eliza Carthy/Norma Waterson
12. Revoiced ~ Marry Waterson/Oliver Knight
13. False Bride, The ~ Jason Steel
14. Walter Bulwer's No. 2 & 1 ~ Old Swan Band
15. Herring Girl, The ~ Bella Hardy
16. Just As the Tide Was Flowing ~ Shirley Collins
17. Bishop's Jig/No Song No Supper ~ Dallas/Dalla
Disc 2
Song Title
0. DISC 2:
1. Forward March, The ~ Coope, Boyes & Simpson
2. Horkstow Grange ~ Coope, Boyes & Simpson
3. Fairground Attraction ~ Coope, Boyes & Simpson
4. Uttoxeter Souling Song ~ Coope, Boyes & Simpson
5. Heaven's Waiting Room ~ Coope, Boyes & Simpson
6. John Barleycorn ~ Coope, Boyes & Simpson
7. Living It Up ~ Coope, Boyes & Simpson
8. Sea Must Have an Ending ~ Coope, Boyes & Simpson
9. River Flows, The ~ Coope, Boyes & Simpson
10. Twenty ~ Four Seven
11. Cold Coast of Iceland/Three Ships ~ Coope, Boyes & Simpson
12. Shuffling Jack ~ Coope, Boyes & Simpson
13. Since the Exodus Began ~ Coope, Boyes & Simpson
14. Shallow Brown ~ Coope, Boyes & Simpson

Album Notes and Credits

Notes & Personnel Info
Muze PNote Translators: Ir?ne Rognier; Isaac G¢mez Martel.
Muze PNote World Music Network's Rough Guide to English Folk delivers 15 cuts from up-and-coming contemporary folk artists along with a pair of songs from two of the genre's legends. Concerning the latter, the Shirley Collins and Bob & Ron Copper offerings, as good as they are, seem a tad out of place here, especially considering the genre's heavily populated 21st century rebirth (a track from someone like Laura Marling, Johnny Flynn, the Smoke Fairies, or the Unthanks would have fit nicely). That said, the collection is pretty solid, casting a wide net over the scene and reeling in some gems from the likes of vaudevillian folk collective Bellowhead ("Yarmouth Town"), spooky Glastonbury-based singer/songwriter/concertina player Emily Portman ("Tongue-Tied"), and multi-talented fiddler and Northumbrian small pipes player Kathryn Tickell ("Wedding/Because He Was a Bonny Lad"). A bonus disc, The Rough Guide to Coope, Boyes & Simpson, is also included, and features 14 classic English folk songs from the award-winning a cappella trio. ~ James Christopher Monger

Technical Info

Music Release Date Release Date : 06/21/2011
Music Original Release Date Original Release Date : 2011
Music CatalogId Catalog ID : 1261
Music Label Name Label : World Music Network
Music Number of Discs Number of Discs : 2
Music Mono or Stereo Mono/Stereo : Stereo
Music SPAR code SPAR Code : n/a
Music UPC UPC : 00605633126129

Advertisement Bottom