Smithsonian Folkways-American CD (1996)

Artist: Various Artists

Customer Reviews   Write a Review

Be the first to review this item and earn 25 Rakuten Super Points™

Product Overview


Label Smithsonian Folkways
SKU 60027806
UPC 093074006221
UPC 14 00093074006221
Format CD
Release Date 6/18/1996
Author Various Artists
Technical Info
CatalogID 40062
Lable Name Smithsonian Folkways Recordings
Released 06/18/1996
Original Release 1996
Number of Discs 1
SPARE Code n/a
Length 71m : 54s
Mono/Stereo Mixed
Studio/Live Mixed
UPC 00093074006221
Album Notes and Credits
Compilation producers: Anthony Seeger, Amy Horowitz.
This assemblage of blues, bluegrass, mountain ballads, topical songs, and jazz shows the wide range of American vernacular music, and Smithsonian Folkways' commitment to it. Among the many highlights here are Clarence Ashley and Doc Watson's ragged and yet sleek version of "The Coo Coo Bird," Doug Wallin's creaky and breathless a cappella version of "Pretty Saro," Lucinda Williams' Cajun two-step, "Lafayette," and a compelling take by Elizabeth Cotten of her signature song, "Freight Train." The New Lost City Ramblers bring their urban string band chops to a kinetic revitalization of "Old Joe Bone," while Michelle Lanchester (with Sweet Honey in the Rock) turns "I Was Standing By the Bedside of a Neighbor (If You See My Savior)" into a kind of gospel doo wop. Hearing the jazz piano of Mary Lou Williams on "Virgo" and "Syl-O-Gism" is another high point here. This fine disc works as a sampler for Smithsonian Folkways, but it also works as an enjoyably cohesive sequence on its own. ~ Steve Leggett
Disc 1
1 Penitentiary Blues - Lightnin' Hopkins
2 Sweet Old Chicago - Roosevelt Sykes
3 Blue Moon Of Kentucky - Bill Monroe & His Bluegrass Boys (live)
4 If I Had A Hammer - Pete Seeger (live)
5 Lafayette - Lucinda Williams
6 Bosco Stomp - Allie Young/Bessyl Duhon/Rodney Balfa
7 Better Day - Brownie McGhee/Sonny Terry
8 Long Road To Travel - Lonnie Johnson
9 Coo-Coo Bird, The - Doc Watson/Clarence Ashley
10 Pretty Saro - Doug & Jack Wallin
11 Freight Train - Elizabeth Cotten
12 Old Joe Bone - New Lost City Ramblers
13 Have A Feast Here Tonight - Bill Monroe/Doc Watson (live)
14 Freedom Road - Josh White
15 This Land Is Your Land - Woody Guthrie
16 Two Good Men - Woody Guthrie
17 In The Pines - Leadbelly
18 Irene - Leadbelly
19 Somebody's Been Fooling #1 - Big Joe Williams
20 Hesitation Blues - Dave Van Ronk
21 Gonna Be An Engineer - Peggy Seeger
22 Delgadina - Mercedez Lopez
23 I Was Standing By The Bedside Of A Neighbor (If You See My Saviour) - Michele Lanchester/Sweet Honey In The Rock
24 Virgo - Mary Lou Williams
25 Syl-O-Gism - Mary Lou Williams
26 We Shall Overcome - The SNCC Freedom Singers/Dorothy Cotton/Pete Seeger
Sold Out
Sorry, you missed the deal! This product is currently not available.