Ships from/sold by Importcds
Seller Rating:
See All Buying Options

Diva Series (2003)

Artist: Nina Simone
Earn Rakuten Super Points™: Write a Review
Sorry, this selection is currently unavailable.
Diva Series CD 1 of 1
(Save 46%)
$5.82 + $2.98 SHIPPING
EARN 6 RAKUTEN SUPER POINTS™ Rakuten Super Points™
What are Rakuten Super Points™?
Get rewarded when you shop! Earn 1 point per dollar spent. That's like getting cash back on every purchase. Easy to see matured points in checkout. Use points just like cash.
Learn More
IN STOCK: Usually Ships in 1 to 2 business days
1 New
See all sellers
View My Store
More Buying Options
Seller Information

Learn more about Diva Series:

Format: CD
Sku: 60601291
UPC: 731458965329
UPC 14: 00731458965329
Release Date: 5/20/2003
See more in Jazz

Song Listing

Disc 1
Song Title
1. I Put A Spell On You ~ Nina Simone
2. He Ain't Comin' Home No More ~ Nina Simone
3. I Loves You, Porgy ~ Nina Simone
4. Mississippi Goddam ~ Nina Simone
5. Tell Me More And More And Then Some ~ Nina Simone
6. Love Me Or Leave Me ~ Nina Simone
7. See-Line Woman ~ Nina Simone
8. Wild Is The Wind ~ Nina Simone
9. Four Women ~ Nina Simone
10. Don't You Pay Them No Mind ~ Nina Simone
11. Lilac Wine ~ Nina Simone
12. Either Way I Lose ~ Nina Simone
13. Gal From Joe's, The ~ Nina Simone
14. Don't Explain ~ Nina Simone
15. I Love My Baby ~ Nina Simone
16. Don't Let Me Be Misunderstood ~ Nina Simone

Album Notes and Credits

Notes & Personnel Info
Muze PNote Personnel: Nina Simone (vocals, arranger, piano); Hal Mooney, Horace Ott (arranger, conductor); Rudy Stevenson (flute, guitar); Al Schackman (harmonica); Lisle Atkinson (bass, percussion); Bobby Hamilton (drums).
Muze PNote Producer: Hal Mooney.
Muze PNote Compilation producers: Ashley Kahn, Bryan Koniarz.
Muze PNote Recorded between 1964 & 1966. Includes liner notes by Will Friedwald.
Muze PNote This is part of Verve Records "Diva" series.
Muze PNote Personnel: Nina Simone (vocals, piano); Rudy Stevenson (guitar, flute); Al Schackman (harmonica); Bobby Hamilton (drums); Lisle Atkinson (percussion).
Muze PNote Liner Note Author: Will Friedwald.
Muze PNote Recording information: New York, NY (08/26/1966-03/21/1964).
Muze PNote Illustrator: Gary Kelley.
Muze PNote Photographer: Jan Persson.
Muze PNote Arrangers: Hal Mooney; Horace Ott; Nina Simone.
Muze PNote Nina Simone spent time recording with Verve or the associated Philips during the mid-'60s, so her entry in the label's 2003 The Diva Series focuses on that period, when she had an R&B hit with "I Put a Spell on You" and recorded many live albums. Though it is much longer than Verve's previous attempts, it certainly doesn't qualify as a solid compilation of Simone's career. A few career-defining songs like "I Loves You, Porgy" are presented in live versions which, fine as they are, don't rate with the studio recordings. For what it is, The Diva Series is a solid label wrap-up, including rarer material like "Wild Is the Wind" as well as a few classics like "Mississippi Goddam" and "Don't Let Me Be Misunderstood." ~ John Bush

Musical Guests
Muze Guest Artist Hal Mooney

Technical Info

Music Release Date Release Date : 05/20/2003
Music Original Release Date Original Release Date : 2003
Music CatalogId Catalog ID : 5896532
Music Label Name Label : Universal Distribution
Music Number of Discs Number of Discs : 1
Music Studio or Live Studio/Live : Studio
Music Mono or Stereo Mono/Stereo : Stereo
Music SPAR code SPAR Code : n/a
Music UPC UPC : 00731458965329

Advertisement Bottom