The Ultimate Collection CD (2005)

Customer Reviews   Write a Review

Be the first to review this item and earn 25 Rakuten Super Points™

Product Overview

One of the most immediately recognizable voices in all of contemporary music, Michael McDonald's signature sound fuses rock, R&B, soul, and gospel. As he evolved onward from his formative days as a backup singer for Steely Dan, McDonald's artistry bridged the gap between jazzy blue-eyed soul and and chart-topping pop rock, earning him superstardom both as lead vocalist/keyboardist for the Doobie Brothers and as a solo artist. Spanning 1976 to the present, this hit-packed new compilation spotlights his inimitable baritone on 19 timeless songs that will have you believing from the very first minute.


Label Rhino Records
SKU 63994510
UPC 081227316723
UPC 14 00081227316723
Format CD
Release Date 8/9/2005
Author Michael Mcdonald
Compilation Appearance Monster Music 123755-00 Monster Music® Ray Charles "Genius Loves Company" Music SuperDisc
Associated Artist/Work Benet, Eric
Associated Artist/Work Franklin, Aretha
Technical Info
Producer Michael McDonald; Simon Climie; Quincy Jones; Burt Bacharach; Don Was; Dick Rudolph; Lenny Waronker; Russ Titelman; Ted Templeman; Tommy Sims; Bruce Swedien; Simon Climie; Michael McDonald (Compilation)
CatalogID 8122731672
Lable Name Rhino (Label)
Released 08/09/2005
Original Release 2005
Number of Discs 1
SPARE Code n/a
Length 77m : 44s
Mono/Stereo Stereo
Studio/Live Studio
UPC 00081227316723
Musical Guests
Patti LaBelle
Greg Phillinganes
Quincy Jones
Burt Bacharach
Kenny Loggins
Album Notes and Credits
Personnel: Michael McDonald (vocals, piano, Fender Rhodes piano, Wurlitzer organ, keyboards, synthesizer, background vocals); Michael McDonald (Wurlitzer piano); John McFee (vocals, guitar); Cornelius Bumpus (vocals, saxophone); Tiran Porter (vocals, bass instrument); Bobby LaKind (vocals, congas, bongos); Wendy Moten (vocals, background vocals); Nicolette Larson, Rosemary Butler (vocals); Bernie Chiaravalle (guitar, coral sitar); Tommy Sims (guitar, Fender Rhodes piano, Clavinet, synthesizer); Dann Huff, David Pack, Michael Hart Thompson , Robben Ford, Warren Haynes, David E. Williams (guitar); Chris Rodriguez (electric guitar); Rev. Dave Boruff (flute, saxophone); Doug Moffet, Mark Douthit, Denis Solee (saxophone); Brandon Fields (alto saxophone); Albert Wing (tenor saxophone); Chuck Findley, Lee Thornberg, Gary Grant, Jerry Hey (trumpet); William Frank "Bill" Reichenbach Jr. , Bruce Fowler (trombone); Larry E. Williams (horns, keyboards, synthesizer); Tony Swain (Fender Rhodes piano); Jeff Bova (Clavinet, bass synthesizer); Jesse Butler (organ); Rod Temperton (keyboards, synthesizer); Danny Sembello, Rev. Patrick Henderson, Anthony Patler (keyboards); Michael Boddicker, Bill Payne, David Foster, Brian Mann (synthesizer); Wells Christy (Synclavier); Chet McCracken (vibraphone, marimba, drums); Louis Johnson, Nathan East (bass instrument); George Perilli, John "4 Daddman" Robinson, Manu Katch?, Steve Gadd , Dan Needham, Carlos Vega (drums); Ted Templeman (cowbells, maracas, tambourine, percussion); Tim Akers (tom tom, background vocals); Tom Roady (percussion); Jimmy Bralower, Toby Baker (drum programming); Clydene Jackson, Evette Benton, Barbara Ingram, Carla Benson, David Lasley, Cynthia Edwards, Lisa Young, Maureen McDonald, Tammy Taylor, Julia Tillman Waters, Arnold McCutler, Gale Mayes-West, Jenni Muldaur, Maxine Willard Waters, Amy Holland, Ann McCrary, Quincy Jones, Siedah Garrett, Sir Harry Bowens, Sweet Pea Atkinson (background vocals); Patrick Simmons (vocals, guitar); James Ingram (vocals, synthesizer); Keith Knudsen (vocals, drums); Patti LaBelle (vocals); Jeff Baxter, Paul Jackson, Jr. , Steve Lukather (guitar); Burt Bacharach (piano); Greg Phillinganes (Fender Rhodes piano, Clavinet, keyboards); Peter Wolf (synthesizer); John Hartman (drums, percussion); Jeff Porcaro, Ricky Lawson (drums); Paulinho Da Costa (percussion); Kenny Loggins (background vocals).
Audio Remasterers: Daniel Hersch; Bill Inglot.
Liner Note Author: Barry Alfonso.
Photographer: Roger Ressmeyer.
Since Warner/Rhino's 2005 Ultimate Collection appeared a mere four years after their last Michael McDonald compilation -- 2001's The Very Best of Michael McDonald -- it may seem that it's a little early to rehash the same recordings yet again. That suspicion is unfounded, since The Ultimate Collection finally delivers what McDonald fans have been waiting for: his solo hits and Doobie Brothers smashes on the same disc. Not that this has every hit he ever had -- his minor 1991 single "All We Got" isn't here, for instance -- but most listeners won't notice the omissions since this 19-track collection has "What a Fool Believes," "Takin' It to the Streets," "Minute by Minute," "You Belong to Me," "Real Love," "It Keeps You Runnin'," "I Gotta Try," "I Keep Forgettin' (Every Time You're Near)," "No Lookin' Back," "Sweet Freedom," "Yah Mo B There," and even his recent 2004 hit cover of "Ain't No Mountain High Enough." Consequently, this is by far the best showcase for his smooth, soulful soft rock, and the one Michael McDonald disc fans both casual and fanatical should own. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine
Disc 1
1 Ain't No Mountain High Enough
2 What a Fool Believes
3 I Keep Forgettin' (Every Time You're Near)
4 Yah Mo B There - (single version)
5 Takin' It to the Streets - (single version)
6 Sweet Freedom - (single version)
7 Minute by Minute
8 On My Own
9 You Belong to Me
10 Real Love
11 I Stand For You
12 It Keeps You Runnin'
13 Take It To Heart - (radio edit)
14 No Love To Be Found
15 I Gotta Try
16 No Lookin' Back
17 Blink Of An Eye
18 Open the Door - (Urban Remix, Urban remix)
19 Lost In The Parade
Product Attributes
Artist Mcdonald,Michael
Label Rhin/mesa/bluemoon Records
Music Format Compact Disc

More Buying Options

Seller Infomation Price & Shipping  
Importcds $9.09 + $2.98 shipping
Condition: Brand New
In Stock, 45 Day Returns
All our items are brand new - Ships directly from our Warehouse in California - Estimated delivery time: 5-7 days after shipment.
Usually ships in 1 to 2 business days
Add to Cart
Blow It Outa Here $12.89 + free shipping
Condition: Brand New
In Stock, 45 Day Returns
All products are BRAND NEW and factory sealed. Fast shipping with tracking and delivery confirmation! 100% Satisfaction Guaranteed.
Usually ships in 1 to 2 business days
Add to Cart
amitcj $14.35 + $3.16 shipping
Condition: Brand New
In Stock
Buy with confidence. Excellent Customer Service & Return policy. (ULTIMATE COLLECTION)
Usually ships in 1 to 2 business days
Add to Cart
Synergy Data Inc $23.89 + free shipping
Condition: Brand New
In Stock

Usually ships in 1 to 2 business days
Add to Cart
$9.09 + $2.98 shipping
$13.98 You save $4.89 (34%)
Rakuten Super Points Earn 10 ($0.10) Rakuten Super Points™
What are Rakuten Super Points™?
Get rewarded when you shop! Earn 1 point per dollar spent. That's like getting cash back on every purchase. Easy to see matured points in checkout. Use points just like cash.
Learn More
Format: CD
Condition: Brand New
In Stock. Usually Ships in 1 to 2 business days
Please select an option to buy
Add to Cart

Sold By:  Importcds
What is a Marketplace and Shop Owner?
  • Our marketplace is a platform where approved third-party retailers (Shop Owners) can sell their products
  • Items are sold and shipped by Shop Owners
  • Your credit card and personal information remain secure; meets all PCI Security Standards.
  • Purchases can only be returned to the Shop Owner
  • All purchases receive Rakuten Super Points™