Under The Covers CD (2012)

Artist: Dwight Yoakam

Customer Reviews   Write a Review

Be the first to review this item and earn 25 Rakuten Super Points™

Product Overview


Label Koch Entertainment
SKU 235465795
UPC 089353309923
UPC 14 00089353309923
Format CD
Release Date 8/28/2012
Author Dwight Yoakam
Associated Artist/Work On, Pickin'
Associated Artist/Work Original Soundtrack
Technical Info
Engineer Dusty Wakeman; Elijah Bradford; Mauricio Iragorri; Ken "Pooch" Van Druten; Michael Dumas; Peter Doell
Producer Pete Anderson
CatalogID ROCCD 3099
Lable Name Rockbeat Records
Released 2012
Original Release 1997
Number of Discs 1
SPARE Code n/a
Length 43m : 10s
Studio/Live Studio
UPC 00089353309923
Musical Guests
Sheryl Crow
Bruce Eskovitz
Pete Anderson
Anthony Crawford
Scott Joss
The Lonesome Strangers
Ralph Stanley
Album Notes and Credits
UNDER THE COVERS is a collection of songs originally recorded by the Beatles, The Rolling Stones, The Clash, Sonny & Cher, Johnny Horton and others. It contains a hidden track, "T For Texas."
Personnel includes: Dwight Yoakam (vocals, acoustic guitar); Sheryl Crow (vocals); Dean Parks (acoustic guitar); Pete Anderson (electric, baritone & 12-string guitars, electric sitar); Tom Brumley (pedal steel, lap steel); Ralph Stanley (banjo, background vocals); Scott Joss (mandolin, fiddle); Tom Peterson, Bruce Eskovitz (flute, alto, tenor & baritone saxophones); Earl Lon Price (tenor saxophone); Greg Smith (baritone saxophone); Lee Thornburg, Chris Tedesco (trumpet); Eric Jorgensen, Nick Lane (trombone); Skip Edwards (Hammond B-3 organ, keyboards); Charles Domanico (acoustic bass); Taras Prodaniuk (acoustic & electric basses); Jim Christie, Jeff Donovan (drums); Alex Neciosup-Acuna, Tempo (percussion); Ralph Forbes, Dusty Wakeman (drum programming); Tommy Funderburk, Beth Andersen, Anthony Crawford, The Lonesome Strangers (background vocals).
UNDER THE COVERS was nominated for a 1998 Grammy Award for Best Country Album.
Personnel: Dwight Yoakam (vocals, acoustic guitar, background vocals); Dean Parks (acoustic guitar); Pete Anderson (electric guitar, 12-string guitar, baritone guitar, electric sitar); Tom Brumley (lap steel guitar); Ralph Stanley (banjo); Scott Joss (mandolin, fiddle); Tom Peterson (flute, alto saxophone, tenor saxophone, baritone saxophone); Bruce Escovitz (flute, alto saxophone, tenor saxophone); Earl Lon Price (tenor saxophone); Greg Smith (baritone saxophone); Chris Tedesco , Lee Thornburg (trumpet); Nick Lane, Eric Jorgensen (trombone); Skip Edwards (Hammond b-3 organ, keyboards); Taras Prodaniuk (upright bass); Jim Christie (drums); Tempo (percussion); Beth Andersen, Anthony Crawford , Lonesome Strangers, Tommy Funderburk (background vocals).
Audio Mixer: David Leonard .
Recording information: Capitol Studios; Mad Dog Studios; Ocean Studios.
Photographer: Brad Bowman.
Arranger: Pete Anderson.
Yoakam takes a break from making Nashville safe for sophisticated songcraft, putting down his pen and letting his hair down on this album of songs made famous by other performers. Though many of Yoakam's choices were popularized by artists firmly ensconced in the baby boomer canon (The Beatles' "Things We Said Today," Van Morrison's "Here Comes The Night"); he ventures further afield on a couple of tracks, and the element of surprise works to his advantage.
Yoakam's reworking of the Clash's "Train In Vain" as a bluegrass lament is nothing short of inspired. Elsewhere, he dips deep into the Roger Miller catalog (never a bad idea) and comes up with "Playboy." Star-spotters will be entranced by his duet with Sheryl Crow on the Sonny & Cher chestnut "Baby Don't Go," while hardcore country enthusiasts will be more impressed by the hidden track at disc's end, a loving resurrection of Jimmie Rodgers' "T For Texas."
Professional Reviews
Entertainment Weekly (7/25/97, p.73) - "...Inspired as hell and absolutely out of control." - Rating: B
Disc 1
1 Claudette
2 Train In Vain
3 Tired Of Waiting For You
4 Good Time Charlie's Got The Blues
5 Baby Don'T Go
6 Playboy
7 Wichita Lineman
8 Here Comes the Night
9 Last Time, The
10 Things We Said Today
11 North To Alaska
12 T For Texas
Product Attributes
Artist Yoakam,Dwight
Label Koch Entertainment
Music Format Compact Disc
Sold Out
Sorry, you missed the deal!
This product is currently not available.