Get Free Shipping when you spend at least $0.01 with Blow It Outa Here.
Ships from/sold by Blow It Outa Here
Seller Rating:
See All Buying Options
Artist: Various Artists
Earn Rakuten Super Points™: Write a Review
Sorry, this selection is currently unavailable.
Vanguard: roots Of Folk CD 1 of 1
(Save 26%)
$17.59  + Free Shipping
EARN 18 RAKUTEN SUPER POINTS™ Rakuten Super Points™
What are Rakuten Super Points™?
Get rewarded when you shop! Earn 1 point per dollar spent. That's like getting cash back on every purchase. Easy to see matured points in checkout. Use points just like cash.
Learn More
IN STOCK: Usually Ships in 1 to 2 business days
5 New
See all sellers
View My Store
More Buying Options
Seller Information

Learn more about Vanguard: roots Of Folk:

Format: CD
Sku: 60564117
UPC: 015707020329
UPC 14: 00015707020329
Release Date: 8/13/2002
See more in Folk

Song Listing

Disc 1
Song Title
1. Joe Hillk - Paul Robeson ~ Various Artists
2. Irene - Leon Bibb ~ Various Artists
3. Kumbaya - The Weavers ~ Various Artists
4. This Land is Your Land - Cisco Houston ~ Various Artists
5. Roll On Buddy - Ramblin' Jack Elliott ~ Various Artists
6. Another Man Done Gone - Odetta ~ Various Artists
7. Turn, Turn, Turn - Judy Collins ~ Various Artists
8. If I Had a Hammer - The Weavers ~ Various Artists
9. Donna Donna - Joan Baez ~ Various Artists
10. Battle, The - Jimmie Driftwood ~ Various Artists
11. Amazing Grace - Clarence Ashley/Doc Watson ~ Various Artists
12. It Takes a Worried Man - Mother Maybelle Carter ~ Various Artists
13. Little Maggie - Sandy Bull ~ Various Artists
14. Freight Train - Elizabeth Cotten ~ Various Artists
15. Tom Dooley - Doc Watson ~ Various Artists
Disc 2
Song Title
1. Universal Soldier, The - Buffy Sainte-Marie ~ Various Artists
2. Violets of Dawn - Eric Andersen ~ Various Artists
3. M.T.a. - The Kingston Trio ~ Various Artists
4. Walk Right In - Rooftop Singers ~ Various Artists
5. Catch the Wind - Donovan/Joan Baez ~ Various Artists
6. Pack Up Your Sorrows - Mimi/Richard Fari¤a ~ Various Artists
7. It Ain't Me Babe - Joan Baez/Bob Dylan ~ Various Artists
8. People Get Ready - The Chambers Brothers ~ Various Artists
9. I Ain't Marchin' Anymore - Phil Ochs ~ Various Artists
10. Ramblin' Boy - Tom Paxton ~ Various Artists
11. Mr. Bojangles - Jerry Jeff Walker ~ Various Artists
12. Many a Mile - Patrick Sky ~ Various Artists
13. Early Morning Rain - Sylvia ~ Various Artists
14. Jug Band Music - Geoff Muldaur/Jim Kweskin & The Jug Band ~ Various Artists
15. Feel Like I'm Fixin' To Die Rag - Country Joe McDonald/The Fish ~ Various Artists
Disc 3
Song Title
1. Candy Man - Mississippi John Hurt ~ Various Artists
2. I'm So Glad - Skip James ~ Various Artists
3. Seventh Son - John Hammond ~ Various Artists
4. Rambling Round Your City - Odetta ~ Various Artists
5. Samson and Delilah - Rev. Gary Davis ~ Various Artists
6. Cocaine - Dave Van Ronk ~ Various Artists
7. Empire State Express - Son House ~ Various Artists
8. San Francisco Bay Blues - Jesse Fuller ~ Various Artists
9. Baby Please Don't Go - Lightnin' Hopkins ~ Various Artists
10. See See Rider - The Chambers Brothers ~ Various Artists
11. Walkin' Blues - Muddy Waters ~ Various Artists
12. Drink Muddy Water - Sonny Terry/Brownie McGhee ~ Various Artists
13. Great Fire of Natachez - John Lee Hooker ~ Various Artists
14. Midnight Special - Lafayette Leake/Pete Seeger/Willie Dixon ~ Various Artists
15. Blues With a Feeling - The Paul Butterfield Blues Band ~ Various Artists

Album Notes and Credits

Notes & Personnel Info
Muze PNote Vanguard was one of the leading folk labels of the 1960s, due both to its own studio releases and its anthologies of performances from the Newport Folk Festivals. This is a three-CD set of Vanguard material from that era, encompassing live and studio tracks by many of the major icons of the time. The list is pretty amazing, in fact: the Weavers, Ramblin' Jack Elliott, Joan Baez, Judy Collins, Doc Watson, Elizabeth Cotten, Buffy Sainte-Marie, the Kingston Trio, Mimi and Richard Fari¤a, Phil Ochs, Tom Paxton, Jerry Jeff Walker, Ian & Sylvia, Mississippi John Hurt, Dave Van Ronk, Skip James, Reverend Gary Davis, Son House, and John Lee Hooker make up only a portion of the lineup. It's divided into thematic discs that make sense and make the package more listenable, with "Roots of Folk" concentrating on the more traditional folk revivalists; "Singers & Songwriters" on the more contemporary folk-based performers, including a little folk-rock and even teetering on the edge of psychedelia with Country Joe & the Fish's "Feel Like I'm Fixin' to Die Rag"; and "Folk Blues," focusing on acoustic blues for the most part, though there are also some electric tracks by the likes of the Chambers Brothers and the Paul Butterfield Blues Band (and an odd collaboration between Pete Seeger, Willie Dixon, and Lafayette Leake on "Midnight Special"). A few of the selections are quite well-known classics, like Judy Collins' version of "Turn, Turn, Turn" (a live one, not the Elektra studio recording), Buffy Sainte-Marie's "The Universal Soldier," Mimi and Richard Fari¤a's "Pack up Your Sorrow," Elizabeth Cotten's "Freight Train," the Weavers' "If I Had a Hammer," Eric Andersen's "Violets of Dawn," the Rooftop Singers' number one single "Walk Right In," Donovan's "Catch the Wind" (a live duet with Joan Baez), Tom Paxton's "Ramblin' Boy," Mississippi John Hurt's "Candy Man," and Skip James' "I'm So Glad." There's also room for some interesting lesser-known names and performances, like Sandy Bull's "Little Maggie" and the Chambers Brothers' live covers of "People Get Ready" and "See Rider," though Joan Baez and Bob Dylan's "It Ain't Me Babe" demonstrates that their live duets were more cultural events than musical milestones. The big drawback to this set? Unbelievably, the annotation provides no original release or recording dates, which is especially vexing given that a bunch of these are live. That leaves even experts to guess as to when and even possibly where much of this was recorded, though it's safe to say that most or all of the live cuts are from the Newport Folk Festivals. ~ Richie Unterberger

Producer: Tom Vickers (Compilation)

Technical Info

Music Release Date Release Date : 08/13/2002
Music Original Release Date Original Release Date : 2002
Music CatalogId Catalog ID : 203/05-2
Music Label Name Label : Vanguard
Music Number of Discs Number of Discs : 3
Music Studio or Live Studio/Live : Mixed
Music Mono or Stereo Mono/Stereo : Mono
Music SPAR code SPAR Code : n/a
Music UPC UPC : 00015707020329

Advertisement Bottom