What We Do Is Secret (Ost) CD (2008)

Artist: Various

Customer Reviews   Write a Review

Be the first to review this item and earn 25 Rakuten Super Points™

Product Overview


Label Lakeshore/red
SKU 208974538
UPC 780163403329
UPC 14 00780163403329
Format CD
Release Date 10/14/2008
Author Various
Associated Artist/Work California Dreams
Associated Artist/Work Original Soundtrack
Technical Info
Engineer Dale Lawton
Producer Howard Paar; Pat Smear; Howard Parr; Skip Williamson; Brian McNelis
CatalogID 34033
Lable Name Lakeshore Records
Released 10/14/2008
Original Release 2008
Number of Discs 1
SPARE Code n/a
Mono/Stereo Stereo
Studio/Live Studio
UPC 00780163403329
Musical Guests
Lukas Haas
Shane West
Michael Leblanc
Bijou Phillips
Pat Smear
Paul Roessler
The Mae Shi
Lorna Doom
Don Bolles
Album Notes and Credits
Audio Mixer: Paul Roessler.
The Germs are best remembered today for the cult of personality that grew around lead singer Darby Crash and his suicide via heroin overdose at the age of 22, but the band has long been a source of inspiration to budding punk rockers for their rather remarkable learning curve -- on their earliest recordings, the Germs were a laughably inept bunch of teenage losers, but by the time they cut their sole studio album a mere two years later, they'd grown into one of the most fiendishly powerful bands on the L.A. punk scene. Rodger Grossman's film What We Do Is Secret is a dramatization of the short but memorable life of both Crash and the Germs, and since it features new recordings of the group's songs performed by a mix of original members of the band (guitarist Pat Smear and drummer Don Bolles) and actors who appear in the movie (including Shane West as Crash and Bijou Phillips as bassist Lorna Doom), the film's soundtrack album walks a strange tightrope between historical accuracy and dramatic license. If there's a flaw in the new tracks on What We Do Is Secret, it's that they often sound better than the Germs really did -- the re-creation of "Forming," the A-side of the group's first single, is nearly as rudimentary as the original but reveals a telltale command of the instruments not clearly apparent on the originals, while the later "Germs" material boasts guitar work that's a few shades tougher and more elaborate than what Smear could conjure up in 1979. West is certainly game as Crash, and clearly did his homework, but he can't quite master Darby's drunken, consonant-swallowing bellow and unlike most of the tracks on (GI), you can actually understand what he's singing. The new material also sounds a bit tidy next to the classic L.A. punk tunes by the Weirdos, the Bags and X that have been added for the sake of local color, though Alice Cooper's "You Drive Me Nervous" tips the hat to an obvious influence and anyone who knows Crash's story will appreciate the two David Bowie tracks that open and close the album. Ultimately, the re-created Germs material on What We Do Is Secret falls into the same category as the soundtrack to The Buddy Holly Story -- in the context of the movie, it's a sincere and well-intentioned attempt to dramatize what was important about the Germs, but as a listening experience you're a lot better off with the old records (which are collected on the superb compilation (MIA): The Complete Anthology). ~ Mark Deming
Disc 1
1 Five Years - David Bowie
2 Forming - Lukas Haas/Shane West/Michael LeBlanc/The Germs - (featuring Shane West/Michael Leblanc/Bijou Phillips)
3 You Drive Me Nervous - Alice Cooper
4 Lexicon Devil - The Germs/Bijou Phillips - (featuring Lukas Haas/Shane West/Pat Smear)
5 We Are the One - Avengers
6 Sexboy - The Screamers/Paul Roessler - (featuring The Mae Shi)
7 Survive - The Bags
8 Circle One - The Germs - (featuring Lukas Haas/Shane West/Pat Smear/Bijou Phillips)
9 Life Of Crime - The Weirdos
10 Manimal - Lorna Doom/Don Bolles/Shane West/Pat Smear/The Germs
11 Nausea - X
12 We Must Bleed - Lorna Doom/Don Bolles/Shane West/Pat Smear/The Germs - (featuring Lukas Haas/Shane West/Bijou Phillips)
13 My Tunnel - Lorna Doom/Shane West/Pat Smear/The Germs (take, featuring Shane West/Don Bolles)
14 Rock 'N' Roll Suicide - David Bowie

More Buying Options

Seller Infomation Price & Shipping  
Blow It Outa Here $16.14 + free shipping
Condition: Brand New
In Stock, 45 Day Returns
All products are BRAND NEW and factory sealed. Fast shipping with tracking and delivery confirmation! 100% Satisfaction Guaranteed.
Usually ships in 1 to 2 business days
Add to Cart
Importcds $14.73 + $2.98 shipping
Condition: Brand New
In Stock, 45 Day Returns
All our items are brand new - Ships directly from our Warehouse in California - Estimated delivery time: 5-7 days after shipment.
Usually ships in 1 to 2 business days
Add to Cart
$16.14 + free shipping
$18.98 You save $2.84 (14%)
Earn 17 ($0.17) Rakuten Super Points™
What are Rakuten Super Points™?
Get rewarded when you shop! Earn 1 point per dollar spent. That's like getting cash back on every purchase. Easy to see matured points in checkout. Use points just like cash.
Learn More
Format: CD
Condition: Brand New
In Stock. Usually Ships in 1 to 2 business days
Please select an option to buy
Add to Cart

Sold By:  Blow It Outa Here
What is a Marketplace and Shop Owner?
  • Our marketplace is a platform where approved third-party retailers (Shop Owners) can sell their products
  • Items are sold and shipped by Shop Owners
  • Your credit card and personal information remain secure; Rakuten.com meets all PCI Security Standards.
  • Purchases can only be returned to the Shop Owner
  • All purchases receive Rakuten Super Points™