Adjustment Bureau

Customer Reviews   Write a Review

AVERAGE RATING
5 out of 5
5
1
4
0
3
0
2
0
1
0
Total Reviews
1
5
Overall Satisfaction
5
Value
4
Ease of Use
5
Performance

Adjustment Bureau is a sci-fi thriller

on 9/5/2011

Matt Damon and Emily Blunt work well together in this movie. The screenplay is derived from a Philip K. Dick short story, “The Adjustment Team.” I saw the movie before I read the story, and they are different in significant ways. So, if you’ve read the story, you might still want to watch the movie. The way the movie begins, you might think it is merely a political thriller, but it is more. At the center, it is a romance, and the attempt of the two main characters to choose their own fate against cosmic odds. The Adjustment Bureau agents try to prevent the couple from ending up together, in order to maintain some sort of cosmic equilibrium. So, it’s a story about trying to take your fate into your own hands, to choose your life, your destiny. There is a lot of suspense. It moves at a good quick pace. Some questions never get answered, such as what the Adjustment Bureau really is, and who The Chairman is. Is he “God”? Are the agents “angels” in suits? (Their hats are important elements in the suspense, so there is some slight humor.) In the end, it doesn’t matter if some questions remain unanswered, because the story is good as it is. It is entertaining and thought-provoking. Read More

Was this review helpful to you?

YESNO

Product Overview

Academy Award® nominee Matt Damon (The Bourne trilogy) stars in this action thriller about a man who glimpses the future Fate has planned for him – and chooses to fight for his own destiny. Battling the powerful Adjustment Bureau across, under and through the streets of New York, he risks his destined greatness to be with the only woman he's ever loved (Emily Blunt: The Young Victoria, The Devil Wears Prada). Based on a story by the legendary Philip K. Dick (Total Recall, Minority Report and Blade Runner), The Adjustment Bureau is “entertaining and thought-provoking”. — Katey Rich, CINEMABLEND.COM

Specifications

Studio Universal
SKU 221147993
UPC 025192060571
UPC 14 00025192060571
Format DVD
Release Date 6/21/2011
Rating Rating
Keywords
Dancers
Fantasy
Romance
Romances
Science-Fiction
Editors Note
Note The budding romance between a rising U.S. congressman and a gifted ballet dancer is unexpectedly complicated by otherworldly forces seeking to drive them apart by altering the very fabric of reality in this high-concept sci-fi thriller based on a story by famed author Philip K. Dick. David Norris (Matt Damon) is a rising New York congressmen whose everyman charisma has earned him a loyal following among locals. One night, after suffering a crushing political defeat, David is rehearsing his concession speech in a hotel bathroom when out of a stall wanders Elise (Emily Blunt), who was hiding out from security guards after crashing a wedding. The chemistry between David and Elise is instant and electric. But as fast as she appeared, Elise has vanished, leaving David to wonder if he will ever see her again. A few days later, as if by chance, David is boarding a bus for work when he spots Elise in a window seat. Though he manages to get her number this time, David is terrified when he arrives at his new job and discovers a mysterious group of men performing an unusual procedure on his paralyzed co-workers. Informed by the imposing and sharp-dressed Richardson (John Slattery) that he has just seen behind a curtain that few will ever know even exists, David agrees never to tell anyone of their encounter or talk to Elise again lest his entire memory be completely erased. But three years later, when David spots Elise walking down the street from the window of a city bus, he can't resist the urge to rekindle their romance. Unfortunately for the two young lovers, the mysterious agents at the Adjustment Bureau are determined to keep them apart at all costs in order to ensure there is no deviation from the master plan drawn up by "The Chairman" for the future of all humankind.
Reviews
Chicago Sun-Times 3 stars out of 4 -- "Matt Damon and Emily Blunt have an easy rapport....Beneath its apparent sci-fi levels, a romantic comedy lurks here." 03/02/2011
Total Film 3 stars out of 5 -- "Blunt is funny and anarchic, Damon is determined and disarming. The chemistry is perfect..." 04/01/2011
Los Angeles Times "[A]n intriguing entertainment. ADJUSTMENT BUREAU's central concept is certainly ingenious..." 03/04/2011
New York Times "[A] fast, sure film about finding and keeping love across time and space....A witty mix of science-fiction metaphysics and old-fashioned fluttery romance." 03/04/2011
Washington Post 3.5 stars out of 4 -- "[A]n enormously entertaining speculative thriller....This is a movie of myriad genres and tonal gradations, including classic science fiction in the tradition of BLADE RUNNER and THE MATRIX..." 03/04/2011
Box Office 4 stars out of 5 -- "[B]oth a romance and a thriller, a vehicle that reunites Matt Damon with OCEAN'S TWELVE and THE BOURNE ULTIMATUM screenwriter George Nolfi, and allows the actor to work his considerable charm." 02/28/2011
Entertainment Weekly "THE ADJUSTMENT BUREAU is the thriller as glorified philosophical videogame...It's directed with a wide-eyed spirit." -- Grade: B 03/11/2011
Sight and Sound "[A]n essentially lighthearted diversion, dotted with romance, much BOURNE-style dashing around and the odd dab of existential musing." 05/01/2011
Actors
Matt Damon
Terence Stamp
John Slattery
Emily Blunt
Cast & Crew
Matt Damon - Star
Terence Stamp - Star
John Slattery - Star
Emily Blunt - Star
Michael Kelly - Star
Anthony Mackie - Star
Lauren Hodges - Co-Star
Jason Kravits - Co-Star
Donnie Keshawarz - Co-Star
Peter Epstein - Co-Star
Natalie Carter - Co-Star
Johnny Cicco - Co-Star
Shane McRae - Co-Star
Wayne Scott Miller - Co-Star
Dina Cataldi - Co-Star
Lorenzo Pisoni - Co-Star
Laura Kenley - Co-Star
Fabrizio Brienza - Co-Star
Lisa Thoreson - Co-Star
Florence Kastriner - Co-Star
Phyllis McBryde - Co-Star
Hitchen, Gregory P. - Co-Star
Darrell James LeNormand - Co-Star
Kar - Co-Star
R.J. Konner - Co-Star
Susan D. Michaels - Co-Star
Gregory Lay - Co-Star
Amanda Mason Warren - Co-Star
Sandhi Santini - Co-Star
Laurie Dawn - Co-Star
Christine Lucas - Co-Star
Jim Edward Gately - Co-Star
Kyoko Bruguera - Co-Star
David Gregoire - Co-Star
Julie Hays - Co-Star
Kate Nowlin - Co-Star
Rob Yang - Co-Star
Pedro Pascal - Co-Star
Michael Boyne - Co-Star
Sarah Bradford - Co-Star
Jessica Lee Keller - Co-Star
Kieran Campion - Co-Star
Mike DiSalvo - Co-Star
Paul DiPaola - Co-Star
Leroy McClain - Co-Star
Brit Whittle - Co-Star
Bart Wilder - Co-Star
Sandi Carroll - Co-Star
Jennifer Ehle - Co-Star
Anthony Ruivivar - Co-Star
Lawrence R. Leritz - Co-Star
Joel delaFuente - Co-Star
Kirsty Meares - Co-Star
Peter Jay Fernandez - Co-Star
David Bishins - Co-Star
David Alan Basche - Co-Star
Don Hewitt Sr. - Co-Star
Venida Evans - Co-Star
Brian Haley - Co-Star
George Nolfi - Screenwriter
Macall Polay - Photography
Kay Georgiou - Hairstylist
Cynthia Angel - Visual Effects Designer
Meghan Andrews - Co-Star
Peter Benson - Co-Star
Sandra Berrios - Co-Star
Roberto Fernandez - Sound Re-Recording
Nic Ratner - Music Editor
Susan Bode - Set Decorator
Thomas Newman - Composer
John Toll - Director of Photography
Bill Carraro - Production Manager/UPM
Robert Hein - Sound Re-Recording
G.A. Aguilar - Stunt Coordinator
Jennifer Lane - Post-Production Supervisor
Philip K. Dick - Source Writer
Andy Schwartz - Photography
Dave Paterson - Sound Re-Recording
Bill Bernstein - Music Editor
Carla Raij - Production Manager/UPM
Michael Bederman - Production Manager/UPM
George Nolfi - Director
Technical Info
Original Release Date 2011
UPC 00025192060571
Number of Discs 1
Running Time 106 minutes
Color (unknown/unconverted)
Aspect Ratio
Anamorphic Widescreen  1.85:1
Features
Widescreen, DVD, English, Spanish, French
Product Attributes
Video Format DVD
Quotes
Calvin Wilson, St. Louis Post-Dispatch An exhilarating balancing act, at once a science-fiction romp, a paranoid thriller and a philosophical treatise.
Mick LaSalle, San Francisco Chronicle easily one of the best American love stories of the past year.
Todd McCarthy, The Hollywood Reporter ...a genuinely romantic fantasy suspense thriller.

More Buying Options

Seller Infomation Price & Shipping  
Buy.com
$6.80 + $2.90 shipping
Condition: Brand New
In Stock, 45 Day Returns

Usually Ships within 1 business day
Add to Cart
Movie Mars $7.71 + $2.98 shipping
Condition: Brand New
In Stock
The Adjustment Bureau
Usually ships in 1 to 2 business days
Add to Cart
Importcds $9.58 + $2.98 shipping
Condition: Brand New
In Stock, 45 Day Returns
All our items are brand new - Ships directly from our Warehouse in California - Estimated delivery time: 5-7 days after shipment.
Usually ships in 1 to 2 business days
Add to Cart
Blow It Outa Here $14.18 + free shipping
Condition: Brand New
In Stock, 45 Day Returns
All products are BRAND NEW and factory sealed. Fast shipping with tracking and delivery confirmation! 100% Satisfaction Guaranteed.
Usually ships in 1 to 2 business days
Add to Cart
Synergy Data Inc $19.08 + $1.50 shipping
Condition: Brand New
In Stock

Usually ships in 1 to 2 business days
Add to Cart
Load More Buying Options
loading
$6.80 + $2.90 shipping
$14.98 You save $8.18 (54%)
Earn 7 ($0.07) Rakuten Super Points™
What are Rakuten Super Points™?
Get rewarded when you shop! Earn 1 point per dollar spent. That's like getting cash back on every purchase. Easy to see matured points in checkout. Use points just like cash.
Learn More
Format: DVD
Condition: Brand New
In Stock. Usually Ships within 1 business day
Please select an option to buy
Add to Cart

Sold By:  Buy.com
For Books, Music, Movies & TV place over $40 (before tax and shipping charges) of eligible products in your shopping basket. Not valid with marketplace products, other restrictions apply.
ADVERTISEMENT
Recent Product Reviews


Adjustment Bureau is a sci-fi thriller on Sep 05, 2011

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT