Amok CD (2013)

Artist: Atoms For Peace

Customer Reviews   Write a Review

Be the first to review this item and earn 25 Rakuten Super Points™

Product Overview


Label XL Records/ada
SKU 247127514
UPC 634904058326
UPC 14 00634904058326
Format CD
Release Date 2/26/2013
Author Atoms For Peace
Associated Artist/Work Other Lives
Artist Contemporary Apparat (Germany)
Artist Contemporary Avey Tare
Artist Contemporary Bj?rk
Artist Contemporary Black Dice
Artist Contemporary Caribou
Artist Contemporary Dan Deacon
Artist Contemporary Darkstar (U.K.)
Artist Contemporary Emika
Artist Contemporary Four Tet
Artist Contemporary Indian Jewelry
Artist Contemporary James Blake (Dubstep)
Artist Contemporary Lykke Li
Artist Contemporary M83
Artist Contemporary Porcupine Tree
Artist Contemporary School of Seven Bells
Artist Contemporary Snow Ghosts
Artist Contemporary The D.O.T. (UK)
Artist Contemporary The Invisible (Indie Rock)
Artist Contemporary The Knife
Artist Contemporary Thom Yorke
Artist Contemporary Zola Jesus
Technical Info
Engineer Drew Brown
Producer Nigel Godrich
CatalogID XLCD 583
Lable Name XL
Released 02/25/2013
Original Release 2013
Number of Discs 1
SPARE Code n/a
Length 44m : 36s
UPC 00634904058326
Album Notes and Credits
Personnel: Thom Yorke (vocals, guitar, keyboards, programming); Joey Waronker (drums); Mauro Refosco (percussion); Nigel Godrich (programming).
Recording information: Joey's; ocean way; The Hospital.
Unknown Contributor Role: Stanley Donwood.
Thom Yorke's Atoms for Peace involves longtime Radiohead engineer/producer Nigel Godrich (Ultra¡sta) and bassist Flea (Red Hot Chili Peppers), as well as two session veterans in drummer Joey Waronker (R.E.M., Ultra¡sta) and percussionist Mauro Refosco (Forro in the Dark). For their first public performance, back in 2009, they performed Yorke's Godrich-assisted 2006 album The Eraser in its entirety, as well as some fresh material. Over three years later, they've come up with this, a product of jam sessions formed -- by Yorke and Godrich -- into a uniform nine-track album. It sounds more like a fleshier successor to Yorke's first solo album than it does a first step, and it's presented that way, from Stanley Donwood's woodcut illustrations to the band's name -- the same as a track title on The Eraser. Due to the nature of the recording process, the material is more about sounds -- rippling rhythms, more specifically -- than songs. Attempting to discern the organic from the mutated and the processed is a fool's errand yet part of the appeal. Listeners will be either unnerved or fascinated by the use of Flea's low-throbbing lines, which add warmth, rarely propel, and are sometimes obscured beneath piles of shifting percussion. Given all the thick layering of sounds, Yorke's words -- normally enunciated and mixed in such a way to enable transcription with only a slight headache as a reward -- tend to act as another element rather than as a focal point. The lyrics probably weren't written at the bassist's house after some drunken pool playing. They're in typical Yorke character, consisting of vaguely conveyed altercations and conflicts: "You got me into this mess," "I couldn't care less," "But it's eating me up," "They try to jump me," "Go back to where you came from," "I'm like the wind and my anger will disperse." In other words, this is another Thom Yorke solo album, and it sounds really nice on decent headphones. ~ Andy Kellman
Artist Overview
The band eventually named Atoms for Peace debuted at Los Angeles, California's Echoplex on October 2, 2009. Thom Yorke, Nigel Godrich, Flea, Joey Waronker, and Mauro Refosco performed Yorke's 2006 album The Eraser and some fresh material. Additional dates and an appearance at Coachella followed through 2010. The first release to bear their name was a 12" on the 50 Weapons label, released in July 2012; an Atoms for Peace remix of Other Lives' "Tamer Animals" appeared on the A-side, while the group's own "Other Side [Stuck Together Mix]" was on the B-side. Their first true single, "Default," followed that November on XL, with its parent album, the subdued yet rhythmically knotty Amok, issued the following February. ~ Andy Kellman
Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone (p.65) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "Driving it all forward are Flea's deftly looped bass lines, skipping from playful melody to rumbling menace as Yorke's voice weaves merrily around the beat."
Entertainment Weekly (p.65) - "'Ingenue' and 'Reverse Running' are heady pleasures..."
Q (Magazine) (p.92) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "AMOK shows Yorke successfully synthesizing his obsessions into a compelling and complete universe."
Disc 1
1 Before Your Very Eyes...
2 Default
3 Ingenue
4 Dropped
5 Unless
6 Stuck Together Pieces
7 Judge Jury and Executioner
8 Reverse Running
9 Amok
Product Attributes
Artist Atoms For Peace
Label Xl Recordings/beggars Group
Music Format Compact Disc

More Buying Options

Seller Infomation Price & Shipping  
Importcds $11.17 + $2.98 shipping
Condition: Brand New
In Stock, 45 Day Returns
All our items are brand new - Ships directly from our Warehouse in California - Estimated delivery time: 5-7 days after shipment.
Usually ships in 1 to 2 business days
Add to Cart
Blow It Outa Here $14.28 + free shipping
Condition: Brand New
In Stock, 45 Day Returns
All products are BRAND NEW and factory sealed. Fast shipping with tracking and delivery confirmation! 100% Satisfaction Guaranteed.
Usually ships in 1 to 2 business days
Add to Cart
amitcj $14.99 + $2.85 shipping
Condition: Brand New
In Stock
Buy with confidence. Excellent Customer Service & Return policy. (AMOK)
Usually ships in 1 to 2 business days
Add to Cart
Synergy Data Inc $24.30 + free shipping
Condition: Brand New
In Stock

Usually ships in 1 to 2 business days
Add to Cart
$11.17 + $2.98 shipping
$14.98 You save $3.81 (25%)
Rakuten Super Points Earn 12 ($0.12) Rakuten Super Points™
What are Rakuten Super Points™?
Get rewarded when you shop! Earn 1 point per dollar spent. That's like getting cash back on every purchase. Easy to see matured points in checkout. Use points just like cash.
Learn More
Format: CD
Condition: Brand New
In Stock. Usually Ships in 1 to 2 business days
Please select an option to buy
Add to Cart

Sold By:  Importcds
What is a Marketplace and Shop Owner?
  • Our marketplace is a platform where approved third-party retailers (Shop Owners) can sell their products
  • Items are sold and shipped by Shop Owners
  • Your credit card and personal information remain secure; meets all PCI Security Standards.
  • Purchases can only be returned to the Shop Owner
  • All purchases receive Rakuten Super Points™