Best Of The Irs Years 1982-1987 CD (2006)

Artist: R.e.m.

Customer Reviews   Write a Review

Be the first to review this item and earn 25 Rakuten Super Points™

Product Overview

A compilation ideal for those who have worn out their copies of Eponymous, 2006's And I Feel Fine surveys R.E.M.'s lauded 1980s output for the I.R.S. label, going into far greater depth than the former disc. In fact, this 2006 collection presents album versions of almost every song on Eponymous, and bolsters the track listing to 21 classic tunes, from the spare, chiming "Radio Free Europe" to the rustic, melancholy "Cuyahoga" to the surging college-rock anthem "It's the End of the World As We Know It (And I Feel Fine)."

Charting a non-chronological course through the band's early years--when Michael Stipe and company gradually began branching out from their earnest post-punk sound--the set serves to highlight the cohesiveness of R.E.M.'s vision, an aesthetic that made the group one of the most respected and beloved rock acts of the '80s and '90s.

Track Listings
Disc: 1

1. Begin The Begin
2. Radio Free Europe
3. Pretty Persuasion
4. Talk About The Passion
5. (Don't Go Back To) Rockville
6. Sitting Still
7. Gardening At Night
8. 7 Chinese Bros.
9. So. Central Rain (I'm Sorry)
10. Driver 8
11. Can't Get There From Here
12. Finest Worksong
13. Feeling Gravity's Pull
14. I Believe
15. Life And How To Live It
16. Cuyahoga
17. The One I Love
18. Welcome To The Occupation
19. Fall On Me
20. Perfect Circle
21. It's The End Of The World As We Know It (And I Feel Fine)


Label Capitol
SKU 202864249
UPC 094636994123
UPC 14 00094636994123
Format CD
Release Date 9/12/2006
Author R.e.m.
Product Attributes
Artist R.e.m.
Label Capitol Records
Sold Out
Sorry, you missed the deal!
This product is currently not available.