Quantity:
Ships from/sold by Buy.com
See All Buying Options
advertisement

Annie John (Paperback)

Author:  Jamaica Kincaid
Earn Super Points: Write a Review
Sorry, this selection is currently unavailable.
Annie John Kincaid, Jamaica 1 of 1
$13.00
(Save 32%)
Today
$8.76 + $3.10 SHIPPING
EARN 9 RAKUTEN SUPER POINTS™ Super Points
What are Rakuten Super Points™?
Get rewarded when you shop! Earn 1 point per dollar spent. That's like getting cash back on every purchase. Easy to see matured points in checkout. Use points just like cash.
Learn More
Format: Paperback
Condition:  Brand New
In Stock: Usually Ships within 24 hours
2 New
from
$8.76
See all sellers
45 day return policy
Share

Product Details:

Format: Paperback
ISBN-10: 0374525102
ISBN-13: 9780374525101
Sku: 30052285
Publish Date: 4/10/2007
Dimensions:  (in Inches) 8.5H x 5.75L x 0.5T
Pages:  148
See more in Literary
 
The author of a prize-winning collection of short stories, At the Bottom of the River, presents her first novel, about a girl growing up in Antigua and her ambivalent but inescapable relationship with her mother. Reprint. *Author: Kincaid, Jamaica *Publication Date: 1997/05/01 *Number of Pages: 148 *Binding Type: Paperbound *Language: English *Depth: 0.50 *Width: 5.75 *Height: 8.50
From the Publisher:
The author of a prize-winning collection of short stories, At the Bottom of the River, presents her first novel, about a girl growing up in Antigua and her ambivalent but inescapable relationship with her mother. Reprint. NYT.
Annie John is a haunting and provocative story of a young girl growing up on the island of Antigua. A classic coming-of-age story in the tradition of The Catcher in the Rye and A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man, Kincaid’s novel focuses on a universal, tragic, and often comic theme: the loss of childhood. Annie’s voice—urgent, demanding to be heard—is one that will not soon be forgotten by readers.

An adored only child, Annie has until recently lived an idyllic life. She is inseparable from her beautiful mother, a powerful presence, who is the very center of the little girl’s existence. Loved and cherished, Annie grows and thrives within her mother’s benign shadow. Looking back on her childhood, she reflects, “It was in such a paradise that I lived.” When she turns twelve, however, Annie’s life changes, in ways that are often mysterious to her. She begins to question the cultural assumptions of her island world; at school she instinctively rebels against authority; and most frighteningly, her mother, seeing Annie as a “young lady,” ceases to be the source of unconditional adoration and takes on the new and unfamiliar guise of adversary. At the end of her school years, Annie decides to leave Antigua and her family, but not without a measure of sorrow, especially for the mother she once knew and never ceases to mourn. “For I could not be sure,” she reflects, “whether for the rest of my life I would be able to tell when it was really my mother and when it was really her shadow standing between me and the rest of the world."
Annotation:
Jamaica Kincaid's short story cycle concerns an Antiguan girl as she begins to separate from her mother, form her own personality, and come of age.
Author Bio
Jamaica Kincaid
Born Elaine Potter Richardson, Kincaid retains her citizenship in her birthplace of Antigua. She traveled to New York as a young woman to be an au pair, though she says she prefers the word "servant." She began to write for the "Village Voice", and then began writing stories. The material in her first book, "At the Bottom of the River", was published first in "The New Yorker", for which she became a regular writer. In 1985 she and her husband Allen Shawn moved to Vermont with their baby daughter to teach at Bennington College. Kincaid has also been an instructor at Harvard, but severed her connection with "The New Yorker" in the 1990s.

Praise

Boston Herald
"Her work...conveys the mysterious power and childhood attachments to mother, father, and friends, and the adolescent beginnings of separation from them." - Paula Bonnell 03/31/1985

Voice Literary Supplement
"She is a consummate balancer of feeling and craft. She takes not short or long cuts, breathes no windy pomposities: she contents herself with being direct." - Jacqueline Austin April 1985

New York Review of Books
"'Annie John' is technically a work of memory, but you read it as though it were written in the active past. That is one of the interesting things Kincaid can do with the voice of her narrator. Annie is talking about what happened when she was 10, 12, 15, then 16. The novel is constructed as a series of eight pointed episodes. You see her grow up. Incidents accumulate and the narrator, mesmerized by her observations, prolongs the moments being described and thus injects suspense into this tale of a restricted life and the need to rebel." - Darryl Pinckney 03/21/1996

San Francisco Review of Books
"In both ['Annie John' and 'Lucy'] the specter of the mother dominates. Viewed through the unforgiving lens of a daughter's disenchantment, the mother remains a strange figure, without her own actions or dialogue, a vessel filled with directed animosity." - Wendell Steavenson May/June 1996

Product Attributes
Product attributeeBooks:   Kobo
Product attributeBook Format:   Paperback
Product attributeNumber of Pages:   0148
Product attributePublisher:   Farrar Straus Giroux
Advertisement Bottom
BloomReach Content