shop by

Anthracite! : An Anthology of Coal Region Drama (Paperback)

Customer Reviews   Write a Review

Be the first to review this item and earn 25 Rakuten Super Points™

Product Overview

"Anthracite!" brings together six unjustly neglected plays that grippingly portray the world of Appalachian coal mining. Deftly revealing the injustice and suffering of mining life early in the twentieth century, the plays in this collection are an important addition to the history of American theatre, giving voice to the mostly immigrant miners who fashioned lives and families amidst the suffering, poverty, and injustice that surrounded them. 
The anthology includes Jason Miller’ s "Nobody Hears a Broken Drum," a hard-eyed but loving tribute to Pennsylvania's miners that is considered by many Miller fans to be a stronger work than his Pulitzer Prize– winning "That Championship Season," Also featured is Jack McDonough and Robert Schlesinger’ s "The Fire Down Below," which centers on the contentious 1902 Anthracite Strike and the ensuing federal trial in which Clarence Darrow presented closing arguments on the side of the miners. 
"Anthracite! "makes these six compelling plays available once again for those interested in American drama, the immigrant experience, and the history of labor.


Publisher Univ of Chicago Pr
Mfg Part# 9781589661172
SKU 202250586
Format Paperback
ISBN10 1589661176
Release Date 6/11/2013
Product Attributes
Book Format Paperback
Number of Pages 0340
Publisher University of Scranton Press
Sold Out
Sorry, you missed the deal!
This product is currently not available.
Promotions & Offers (1)
  •  custom promo
    5% Back* Sitewide with Promo Code Rewardme *See page for details