Ships from/sold by BookCloseouts
Seller Rating:
See All Buying Options
advertisement

Ashenden (Hardcover)

$10 off $30 for New Registering Customers. Use promo code NEW10 at checkout. Ends 7/14/2014.
Earn Super Points: Write a Review
76%
OFF
Sorry, this selection is currently unavailable.
Ashenden Wilhide, Elizabeth 1 of 1
$24.99
(Save 76%)
$5.99 + $3.99 SHIPPING
EARN 6 RAKUTEN SUPER POINTS™ Super Points
What are Rakuten Super Points™?
Get rewarded when you shop! Earn 1 point per dollar spent. That's like getting cash back on every purchase. Easy to see matured points in checkout. Use points just like cash.
Learn More
FORMAT: Hardcover
CONDITION:  Brand New
IN STOCK: Usually Ships in 1 to 2 business days
3 New
from
$5.99
See all sellers
Special Offer!
View My Store
Share
 
Description
More Buying Options
Seller Information
 

Product Details:

Format: Hardcover
ISBN-10: 145168486X
ISBN-13: 9781451684865
Sku: 230695069
Publish Date: 1/8/2013
Dimensions:  (in Inches) 8.25H x 6.25L x 1.25T
Pages:  352
See more in Literary
 
Perfect for fans of "Downton Abbey," a beautifully atmospheric novel about anEnglish country house and the people who inhabit it, upstairs and downstairs, over the course of 240 years.
From the Publisher:
Perfect for fans of Downton Abbey, a beautifully atmospheric novel about an English country house and the people who inhabit it, upstairs and downstairs, over the course of 240 years.

?The house contains time. Its walls hold stories. Births and deaths, comings and goings, people and events passing through. For now, however, it lies suspended in a kind of emptiness, as if it has fallen asleep or someone has put it under a spell. This silence won't last: can't last. Something will have to be done.?

     When brother and sister Charlie and Ros discover that they have inherited their aunt's much-loved house, they must decide if they should sell it. Moving back in time, in an interwoven narrative spanning two and a half centuries, we meet those who have built the house, lived in it and loved it, worked in it, and those who would subvert it to their own ends, including the original architect as he directs the building of the house, the big Victorian family who happily live there for forty years, the maid who thinks her problems will be solved if she steals a small bibelot, the soldiers who are billeted there during World War I, the speculator who holds a treasure hunt there during the Roaring Twenties, the young couple who restores it during the 1950s, and the house's final owner. A novel about people, architecture, and living history, Ashenden is an evocative portrait of a house that becomes a character as compelling as the people who inhabit it.

Product Attributes
Product attributeeBooks:   Kobo
Product attributeBook Format:   Hardcover
Product attributeNumber of Pages:   0352
Product attributePublisher:   Simon & Schuster
Advertisement Bottom