Ships from/sold by
See All Buying Options
Artist: Various Artists
Earn Rakuten Super Points™: Write a Review
Sorry, this selection is currently unavailable.
Back Roads To Cold Mountain CD 1 of 1
(Save 23%)
$12.95 + $1.90 SHIPPING
EARN 13 RAKUTEN SUPER POINTS™ Rakuten Super Points™
What are Rakuten Super Points™?
Get rewarded when you shop! Earn 1 point per dollar spent. That's like getting cash back on every purchase. Easy to see matured points in checkout. Use points just like cash.
Learn More
IN STOCK: Usually Ships within 1 business day
Very few left In Stock! Order soon -- product may sell out.
5 New
See all sellers
45 day return policy
More Buying Options

Learn more about Back Roads To Cold Mountain:

Format: CD
Sku: 61706493
UPC: 093074014929
UPC 14: 00093074014929
Release Date: 10/19/2004
See more in Folk

Song Listing

Disc 1
Song Title
1. Field Holler - T. J. Chesser (previously unreleased) ~ Various Artists
2. I Wish My Baby Was Born - Dillard Chandler ~ Various Artists
3. Look Down That Lonesome Road - "Banjo" Bill Cornett (previously unreleased) ~ Various Artists
4. Morning Sun - Sacred Harp Singers ~ Various Artists
5. Camp Chase - French Carpenter ~ Various Artists
6. John Brown's Dream - Dacosta Woltz ~ Various Artists
7. Bright Sunny South - Dock Boggs ~ Various Artists
8. Battle Of Stone River, The - Oscar Parks ~ Various Artists
9. Sweet Glories Rush Upon My Sight - Old Regular Baptists ~ Various Artists
10. Roustabout - Dink Roberts ~ Various Artists
11. Fox Race - Joe Patterson (previously unreleased) ~ Various Artists
12. Jim and John - G.D. Young/Ed Young/Lonnie Young/Lonnie & Ed Young (previously unreleased) ~ Various Artists
13. Day Is Past And Gone, The - Dorothy Melton ~ Various Artists
14. Omie Wise - Roscoe Holcomb ~ Various Artists
15. Silk Merchant's Daughter, The - Dellie Norton ~ Various Artists
16. Hicks Farewell - Dillard Chandler ~ Various Artists
17. Three Little Babes - Texas Gladden ~ Various Artists
18. Wayfaring Stranger - Bill Monroe ~ Various Artists
19. Rank Stranger - The Stanley Brothers ~ Various Artists
20. Christmas Time Will Soon Be Over - Fiddlin' John Carson ~ Various Artists
21. And I Am Born to Die - Doc Watson/Gaither Carlton ~ Various Artists
22. Pullin' the Skiff - Ora Dell Graham ~ Various Artists
23. Pumpkin Pie - Joe Thompson/Odell Thompson ~ Various Artists
24. Give The Fiddler A Dram - James Crase ~ Various Artists
25. Angel Band - E.C. Ball/Orna Ball/E.C. and Orna Ball (previously unreleased) ~ Various Artists
26. Old Man Below, The - Gaither Carlton ~ Various Artists
27. When Sorrows Encompass Me 'Round - Fred Cockerham/Tommy Jarrell ~ Various Artists

Album Notes and Credits

Notes & Personnel Info
Muze PNote Personnel: Peter Rowan (vocals, guitar); Dock Boggs, "Banjo" Bill Cornett (vocals, banjo); Bill Monroe (vocals, mandolin); Gaither Carlton, James Crase, Tommy Jarrell (vocals, fiddle); Texas Gladden, Dillard Chandler, Dink Roberts, Doc Watson, Ora Dell Graham, Ralph Stanley, Roscoe Holcomb, Dorothy Melton, T. J. Chesser, Oscar Parks, Dellie Norton, Carter Stanley (vocals); Joe & Odell Thompson, Odell Thompson (banjo, fiddle); Dacosta Woltz (banjo); Fred Cockerham (fretless banjo); French Carpenter, Richard Greene & Beryl Marriott, Benny Jarrell (fiddle); Ed Young (fife); Lonnie Young (bass drum); G.D. Young (snare drum).
Muze PNote Audio Mixer: Thom Canova.
Muze PNote Liner Note Authors: John Cohen; Charles Frazier.
Muze PNote Recording information: Alabama (1927-2002); Alton, IN (1927-2002); Atlanta, GA (1927-2002); Carrboro, NC (1927-2002); Defeated Creek Church, Linefork, KY (1927-2002); Drew, MS (1927-2002); Norton, VA (1927-2002); Plantersville, AL (1927-2002); Salem, VA (1927-2002); Washington DC (1927-2002).
Muze PNote Photographer: Roger Haile.
Muze PNote Arranger: Texas Gladden.
Muze PNote Charles Frazier's novel Cold Mountain is a powerful, widely celebrated novel that takes places during the Civil War. But Frazier's book is not about the war itself so much as the lives lived in the rural American South during its long dark night. Back Roads to Cold Mountain is a collection of music assembled by ethnomusicologist and roots musician John Cohen, featuring the songs, hollers, and hymns that served as inspiration for Frazier during the writing of his book. There are no modern, O Brother, Where Art Thou?-styled revisionings of the music from the Civil War era. Instead, Cohen went through the Smithsonian's and the Library of Congress's vast collections of field and commercial recordings of a cappella narratives, string band songs, fiddle tunes, and sacred harp singing and assembled this volume from sources that were close to the originals. In other words, many of the performers here had learned these songs as hand-me-downs from their ancestors. They were familiar not only with tune, but style, arrangement, and grain. The end result is a 27-track collection of stunning music that is haunted, ghostly, raw, sparse and ultimately dignified in its presentation.
Muze PNote What is particularly stunning is the brilliant sound of these recordings. Recorded between 1944 and 2002, these selections, assembled from previously released compilations and all but unheard field recording volumes, have something strange and unwieldy at their core. There are well known personages here like Roscoe Holcomb, Dock Boggs or Bill Monroe and the Stanley Brothers, whose tunes from here have been heard before in other settings. But there are many more obscure entries, as well, from the wild wooly balladry and spoken word narration of Oscar Parks, the shambolic banjo blues of Dink Roberts, and the hunted, forlorn soul-searing darkness of Dorothy Melton, and the roof-raising joy of the Sacred Harp Singers. In either case, the effect is the same: one of true Otherness, where dislocation, quark strangeness, and untamed spirits gather in order to whisper, cry, moan, shout and laugh in a language that has not so much died as disappeared. Cohen's notes and annotations are fantastic, as always; they are not merely informative and authoritative, but offer (because of his welcoming prose) a glimpse of the ciphers themselves; they speak from the hollowed out place in his own heart that has been touched by these songs and the people who sang them. This is essential listening for anyone interested in authentic American roots musics. ~ Thom Jurek

Producer: John Cohen

Engineer: John Cohen; Amelia Ramsey; Francis Harper; Pat Dunford; Ken Davidson; Jeff Todd Titon; Ray Alden; "Banjo" Bill Cornett; Frederic Ramsey, Jr.; Cece Conway; John A. Lomax, Jr.; Alan Lomax; Mike Seeger; Ralph Rinzler; Art Rosenbaum; Wayne Martin

Technical Info

Music Release Date Release Date : 10/17/2004
Music Original Release Date Original Release Date : 2004
Music CatalogId Catalog ID : 40149
Music Label Name Label : Smithsonian Folkways Recordings
Music Number of Discs Number of Discs : 1
Music Studio or Live Studio/Live : Studio
Music Mono or Stereo Mono/Stereo : Stereo
Music SPAR code SPAR Code : n/a
Music UPC UPC : 00093074014929

Advertisement Bottom