Black Cherry CD (2003)

Artist: Goldfrapp

Customer Reviews   Write a Review

Be the first to review this item and earn 25 Rakuten Super Points™

Product Overview


Label Caroline Distribution
SKU 60597146
UPC 724596920626
UPC 14 00724596920626
Format CD
Release Date 5/6/2003
Author Goldfrapp
Artist Influence Angelo Badalamenti
Artist Influence Barry Adamson
Artist Influence Bj?rk
Artist Influence Brigitte Bardot
Artist Influence Burt Bacharach
Artist Influence Danielle Dax
Artist Influence Depeche Mode
Artist Influence Dubstar
Artist Influence Eartha Kitt
Artist Influence Ennio Morricone (Composer/Conductor)
Artist Influence John Barry (Conductor/Composer)
Artist Influence Karin Krog
Artist Influence Kate Bush
Artist Influence Massive Attack
Artist Influence Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds
Artist Influence Orbital
Artist Influence Portishead
Artist Influence Shirley Bassey
Artist Influence Sneaker Pimps
Artist Influence Stereolab
Artist Influence The Associates
Artist Influence Underworld
Artist Influence Ute Lemper
Artist Influence White Dove
Artist Contemporary Annie (Norway)
Artist Contemporary Bj?rk
Artist Contemporary Black Box Recorder
Artist Contemporary Broadcast
Artist Contemporary Death in Vegas
Artist Contemporary Esthero
Artist Contemporary Faithless
Artist Contemporary Gorillaz
Artist Contemporary Got a Girl
Artist Contemporary Gulp (Indie Pop)
Artist Contemporary iamamiwhoami
Artist Contemporary Ilya (UK)
Artist Contemporary Kudu
Artist Contemporary Lamb (Manchester)
Artist Contemporary Massive Attack
Artist Contemporary Miranda Sex Garden
Artist Contemporary Moloko
Artist Contemporary OOFJ
Artist Contemporary Portishead
Artist Contemporary Robyn
Artist Contemporary San Ilya
Artist Contemporary Sarah Nixey
Artist Contemporary Seefeel
Artist Contemporary Snowbird
Artist Contemporary Steven Wilson
Artist Contemporary The Bird and the Bee
Artist Contemporary The Go! Team
Artist Contemporary White Sea
Artist Contemporary Zero 7
Artist Follower Laura Welsh
Artist Follower Mr. Little Jeans
Artist Follower Nedry
Artist Follower Say Lou Lou
Technical Info
Engineer Goldfrapp; Nick Batt; Alison Goldfrapp; Will Gregory
Producer Goldfrapp; Alison Goldfrapp; Will Gregory
CatalogID 9206
Lable Name Mute
Released 05/06/2003
Original Release 2003
Number of Discs 1
SPARE Code n/a
Length 42m : 57s
Mono/Stereo Stereo
Studio/Live Studio
UPC 00724596920626
Album Notes and Credits
Goldfrapp: Alison Goldfrapp, Will Gregory.
Additional personnel: Adrian Utley (guitar, bass); Andy Davis (guitar); Mark Linkous (synthesizer); Charlie Jones (bass); Rowen Oliver (drums, percussion); Damon Reece (drums); Nick Batt, Rowan Oliver (programming).
Personnel: Allison Goldfrapp (vocals, synthesizer); Adrian Utley, Andy Davis (guitar); Nick Batt (synthesizer, programming); Will Gregory (synthesizer); Rowan Oliver (drums, percussion, drum programming); Damon Reece (drums).
Audio Mixers: Tom Elmhirst; Dave Bascombe; Allison Goldfrapp; Steve Orchard; Will Gregory.
Recording information: AIR (2002).
Illustrator: Big Active.
Photographer: Polly Borland.
Arrangers: Allison Goldfrapp; Will Gregory.
A striking departure from Goldfrapp's well-received, cinematically atmospheric debut, FELT MOUNTAIN, 2003's BLACK CHERRY finds the British electronica duo cutting loose with a more energetic and dynamic set. The approach allows vocalist Alison Goldfrapp to indulge her inner Debbie Harry, while multi-instrumentalist Will Gregory playfully nods to 1980s synth-pop on saucy, percolating tunes such as "Crystalline Green" and "Train." Though many of BLACK CHERRY's tracks are geared toward the dance floor, particularly the glam-tinged "Strict Machine," the record still has relaxed moments, including the gorgeously swooning title track and the wonderfully dreamy "Deep Honey." Adding texture to the mix are top-notch auxiliary musicians, most notably Sparklehorse's Mark Linkous on synthesizer and Portishead's Adrian Utley on guitar and bass, resulting in a surprisingly layered album that truly works its magic with repeated listens. For those enamored of the group's club-friendly direction, Goldfrapp would proceed down a strobe-lit alley even further on this disc's follow-up, SUPERNATURE.
Artist Overview
Alison Goldfrapp first gained recognition for her astonishing vocal work on albums by Tricky and techno duo Orbital. She joined forces with composer Will Gregory in the late '90s to create her own moody, sensual version of contemporary electronica. With a succession of critically lauded albums, the duo honed its approach and utilized an assortment of influences ranging from traditional soundtrack themes and vintage pop to '80s synth sounds, disco, and glam rock to create one of the most intriguing and satisfying electronica hybrids to emerge from the genre since its inception.
Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone (5/15/03, p.134) - 4 stars out of 5 - "...Both retro and futuristic, like vintage synth pop heard through a wall of disortion..."
Spin (5/03, p.116) - "...Singer Alison Goldfrapp still wails like Kate Bush haunting a fog-soaked moor..." - Grade: B
Q (01/01/04, p.76) - Ranked #35 in Q's "The 50 Best Albums of 2003" - "[T]his is plump, overripe music that squelches and squeals deliciously."
Uncut (01/04, pp.84-7) - Ranked #34 in Uncut's "Albums Of The Year 2003"
Uncut (6/03, p.98) - 5 stars out of 5 - "...Electro-funky and headily lovely, 'Crystalline Green' is just one of the album's several masterpieces..."
Magnet (4/03, p.88) - "...The synths are dank and gloomy, and Goldfrapp's sad-girl voice sounds suitably disembodied and ethereal..."
CMJ (5/503, p.10) - "...The mesmerizing arctic chill of FELT MOUNTAIN is gone, replaced instead with the leather, mascara, beats and muscle of BLACK CHERRY..."
Mojo (Publisher) (5/03, p.91) - 4 stars out of 5 - "...[Goldfrapp] possess a masterful ear for stirring melodies, a healthy carnality and a furtive sense of humour that makes for rich, three-dimensional, six-sensual pop music that raises them high above many contemporaries..."
Disc 1
1 Crystalline Green
2 Train
3 Black Cherry
4 Tiptoe
5 Deep Honey
6 Hairy Trees
7 Twist
8 Strict Machine
9 Forever
10 Slippage
Sold Out
Sorry, you missed the deal!
This product is currently not available.