Ships from/sold by
Artist: Deer Tick
Earn Super Points: Write a Review
Sorry, this selection is currently unavailable.
Black Dirt Sessions CD 1 of 1
(Save 21%)
$10.18 + $1.90 SHIPPING
What are Rakuten Super Points™?
Get rewarded when you shop! Earn 1 point per dollar spent. That's like getting cash back on every purchase. Easy to see matured points in checkout. Use points just like cash.
Learn More
IN STOCK: Usually Ships within 24 hours
Very few left In Stock! Order soon -- product may sell out.
45 day return policy

Learn more about Black Dirt Sessions:

Format: CD
Sku: 215958971
UPC: 720841900825
UPC 14: 00720841900825
Release Date: 6/8/2010
See more in Pop

Song Listing

Disc 1
Song Title
1. Choir of Angels ~ Deer Tick
2. Twenty Miles ~ Deer Tick
3. Goodbye, Dear Friend ~ Deer Tick
4. Piece By Piece and Frame By Frame ~ Deer Tick
5. Sad Sun, The ~ Deer Tick
6. Mange ~ Deer Tick
7. When She Comes Home ~ Deer Tick
8. Hand In My Hand ~ Deer Tick
9. I Will Not Be Myself ~ Deer Tick
10. Blood Moon ~ Deer Tick
11. Christ Jesus ~ Deer Tick

Album Notes and Credits

Notes & Personnel Info
Muze PNote Recording information: Black Dirt Studios, Westtown, NY.
Muze PNote The Black Dirt Sessions, Deer Tick's third full studio album, combines the easy balladry and boozy rock tunes of the band's prior two releases, but does away with the old-timey blues and country influences. The new sound of the group, which includes new member Ian O'Neil of Titus Andronicus on guitar, is contemporary and sincere. Vocalist John McCauley, the chief songwriter of the group, seems to have found his own distinct voice and is comfortable reeling back and singing quietly, harnessing his muscular, grainy timbre into a sweet instrument. The first half of the album never breaks a sweat, concentrating solely on stripped-down, melancholy ballads. Side two breaks away from the acoustic aspects, and kicks up a laid-back Nashville groove with honky tonk piano, Stonesy guitar riffs, and classic Americana harmonies. McCauley sounds liberated, calling up `70s hooks and harmonies that feel classic without being overtly retro. For The Black Dirt Sessions, the sepia tones are faded and less distracting. Songs written to sound like old pub standards helped to gain the group attention, but these heartfelt tunes gleam with McCauley's individuality. ~ Jason Lymangrover

Producer: Deer Tick; Jason Meagher

Compilation Appearances

Muze Music Compilations Songs For Slim:rockin Here Tonight Be
Muze Music Compilations Tribute To Bob Dylan In The 80s:v1

Technical Info

Music Release Date Release Date : 06/08/2010
Music Original Release Date Original Release Date : 2010
Music CatalogId Catalog ID : 008
Music Label Name Label : Partisan (Label)
Music Number of Discs Number of Discs : 1
Music Studio or Live Studio/Live : Studio
Music Mono or Stereo Mono/Stereo : Stereo
Music SPAR code SPAR Code : n/a
Music UPC UPC : 00720841900825

Professional Reviews

Spin - "BLACK DIRT delivers sulky dirges, alt-country hangovers, and funeral ballads with equal aplomb."

Alternative Press (p.102)
- 4 stars out of 5 -- "Deer Tick's John McCauley has emerged as a preeminent alt-country voice, both in terms of tone and content."

Billboard (p.44)
- "THE BLACK DIRT SESSIONS delivers even more grit and lyrical heaviness than its predecessors, revealing a desperate, wayworn side to McCauley's songwriting."

Paste (magazine)
- "THE BLACK DIRT SESSIONS is this band's AFTER THE GOLDRUSH, stuffed with devastating songs laid bare by weathered, redemption-seeking renegades."

Uncut (magazine)
- 4 stars out of 5 -- "Country harmonies and grimy Crazy Horse guitars usher in 'When She Comes Home,' a song of estrangement and separation which has the woozy gait of Neil Young's 'Roll Another Number (For The Road)

Product Attributes

Product attributeArtist:   Deer Tick
Product attributeMusic Format:   Compact Disc
Advertisement Bottom