Quantity:
Ships from/sold by Buy.com
See All Buying Options
advertisement

Blinded by the Right The Conscience of an Ex-Conservative (Paperback)

Author:  David Brock
Earn Super Points: Write a Review
Sorry, this selection is currently unavailable.
Blinded by the Right Brock, David 1 of 1
$16.00
(Save 32%)
Today
$10.87 + $2.90 SHIPPING
EARN 11 RAKUTEN SUPER POINTS™ Super Points
What are Rakuten Super Points™?
Get rewarded when you shop! Earn 1 point per dollar spent. That's like getting cash back on every purchase. Easy to see matured points in checkout. Use points just like cash.
Learn More
Format: Paperback
Condition:  Brand New
In Stock: Usually Ships within 1 business day
Very few left In Stock! Order soon -- product may sell out.
2 New
from
$10.87
See all sellers
45 day return policy
Share

Product Details:

Format: Paperback
ISBN-10: 1400047285
ISBN-13: 9781400047284
Sku: 31071441
Publish Date: 2/1/2003
Dimensions:  (in Inches) 8H x 5.25L x 0.75T
Pages:  400
Age Range:  NA
See more in Political
 
"Blinded by the Right" provoked an outpouring of controversy and became an instant "New York Times" bestseller in hardcover. Now in paperback and with a new Afterword by the author, Brock comes clean about a deeply disturbing moment in American politics.
From the Publisher:
In a powerful and deeply personal memoir in the tradition of Arthur Koestler’s The God That Failed, David Brock, the original right-wing scandal reporter, chronicles his rise to the pinnacle of the conservative movement and his painful break with it.

David Brock pilloried Anita Hill in a bestseller. His reporting in The American Spectator as part of the infamous “Arkansas Project” triggered the course of events that led to the historic impeachment trial of President Clinton. Brock was at the center of the right-wing dirty tricks operation of the Gingrich era–and a true believer–until he could no longer deny that the political force he was advancing was built on little more than lies, hate, and hypocrisy.

In Blinded By the Right, Brock, who came out of the closet at the height of his conservative renown, tells his riveting story from the beginning, giving us the first insider’s view of what Hillary Rodham Clinton called “the vast right-wing conspiracy.” Whether dealing with the right-wing press, the richly endowed think tanks, Republican political operatives, or the Paula Jones case, Brock names names from Clarence Thomas on down, uncovers hidden links, and demonstrates how the Republican Right’s zeal for power created the poisonous political climate that culminated in George W. Bush’s election.

Now in paperback and with a new afterword by the author, Blinded By the Right is a classic political memoir of our times.In a powerful and deeply personal memoir in the tradition of Arthur Koestler’s The God That Failed, David Brock, the original right-wing scandal reporter, chronicles his rise to the pinnacle of the conservative movement and his painful break with it.

David Brock pilloried Anita Hill in a bestseller. His reporting in The American Spectator as part of the infamous “Arkansas Project” triggered the course of events that led to the historic impeachment trial of President Clinton. Brock was at the center of the right-wing dirty tricks operation of the Gingrich era–and a true believer–until he could no longer deny that the political force he was advancing was built on little more than lies, hate, and hypocrisy.

In Blinded By the Right, Brock, who came out of the closet at the height of his conservative renown, tells his riveting story from the beginning, giving us the first insider’s view of what Hillary Rodham Clinton called “the vast right-wing conspiracy.” Whether dealing with the right-wing press, the richly endowed think tanks, Republican political operatives, or the Paula Jones case, Brock names names from Clarence Thomas on down, uncovers hidden links, and demonstrates how the Republican Right’s zeal for power created the poisonous political climate that culminated in George W. Bush’s election.

Now in paperback and with a new afterword by the author, Blinded By the Right is a classic political memoir of our times.
Annotation:
In this political and journalistic mea culpa, a former conservative reporter recants many of the things he wrote in his earlier book, THE REAL ANITA HILL, which sought to undermine the credibility of the main witness at the Clarence Thomas confirmation hearings. Brock reveals the sources of much of the damaging material that appeared in that book, and examines what he sees as the extreme mistrust in the rightwing media (and among Clarence Thomas's circle of friends) and their search for sympathetic journalists. Brock names names and and reveals serious ethical lapses of his own, which included frightening off a woman who had information that seemed to corroborate Hill's charges by saying he would expose something in her personal life.

Praise

New York Times Book Review
"The book is consistently articulate and very funny from time to time. It undeniably holds the reader's interest. But it is also disconcerting in unintended ways. Brock brings a strange boastfulness even to passages in which he is supposedly raking himself over the coals, and he litters the book with derogatory comments about other men's appearances that have ambiguous relevance to the narrative at hand....BLINDED BY THE RIGHT is valuable in its vivid depiction of a take-no-prisoners era--perhaps in retreat, perhaps merely in quiescence--when genuine political debate took a back seat to playground bullying and much of journalism, not just Brock's, descended to a gossipy and lascivious low. Brock flourished in that muddy gutter, which is why it clings to him still." - Frank Bruni 03/24/2002

Nation
"In sum: You cannot fully understand this fevered era without reading this book." - Michael Tomasky 04/08/2002

New York Review of Books
"It seems clear that Brock never understood, and apparently still doesn't, the way genuinely objective reporting is supposed to work....BLINDED BY THE RIGHT brims with salacious gossip, now about conservatives rather than liberals...." - Jane Mayer 06/27/2002

Product Attributes
Product attributeeBooks:   Kobo
Product attributeBook Format:   Paperback
Product attributeNumber of Pages:   0400
Product attributePublisher:   Three Rivers Press (CA)
Advertisement Bottom
BloomReach Content