Blinded by the Right : The Conscience of an Ex-Conservative (Paperback)

Author: Brock, David

Customer Reviews   Write a Review

Be the first to review this item and earn 25 Rakuten Super Points™

Product Overview

"Blinded by the Right" provoked an outpouring of controversy and became an instant "New York Times" bestseller in hardcover. Now in paperback and with a new Afterword by the author, Brock comes clean about a deeply disturbing moment in American politics.

Specifications

Publisher Random House Inc
Mfg Part# 9781400047284
SKU 31071441
Format Paperback
ISBN10 1400047285
Release Date 2/1/2003
Physical
Dimensions (in Inches) 8H x 5.25L x 0.75T
Praise
"The book is consistently articulate and very funny from time to time. It undeniably holds the reader's interest. But it is also disconcerting in unintended ways. Brock brings a strange boastfulness even to passages in which he is supposedly raking himself over the coals, and he litters the book with derogatory comments about other men's appearances that have ambiguous relevance to the narrative at hand....BLINDED BY THE RIGHT is valuable in its vivid depiction of a take-no-prisoners era--perhaps in retreat, perhaps merely in quiescence--when genuine political debate took a back seat to playground bullying and much of journalism, not just Brock's, descended to a gossipy and lascivious low. Brock flourished in that muddy gutter, which is why it clings to him still."
"In sum: You cannot fully understand this fevered era without reading this book."
"It seems clear that Brock never understood, and apparently still doesn't, the way genuinely objective reporting is supposed to work....BLINDED BY THE RIGHT brims with salacious gossip, now about conservatives rather than liberals...."
From the Publisher
Annotation In this political and journalistic mea culpa, a former conservative reporter recants many of the things he wrote in his earlier book, THE REAL ANITA HILL, which sought to undermine the credibility of the main witness at the Clarence Thomas confirmation hearings. Brock reveals the sources of much of the damaging material that appeared in that book, and examines what he sees as the extreme mistrust in the rightwing media (and among Clarence Thomas's circle of friends) and their search for sympathetic journalists. Brock names names and and reveals serious ethical lapses of his own, which included frightening off a woman who had information that seemed to corroborate Hill's charges by saying he would expose something in her personal life.
Editors Note In a powerful and deeply personal memoir in the tradition of Arthur Koestler’s The God That Failed, David Brock, the original right-wing scandal reporter, chronicles his rise to the pinnacle of the conservative movement and his painful break with it.David Brock pilloried Anita Hill in a bestseller. His reporting in The American Spectator as part of the infamous “Arkansas Project” triggered the course of events that led to the historic impeachment trial of President Clinton. Brock was at the center of the right-wing dirty tricks operation of the Gingrich era–and a true believer–until he could no longer deny that the political force he was advancing was built on little more than lies, hate, and hypocrisy.In Blinded By the Right, Brock, who came out of the closet at the height of his conservative renown, tells his riveting story from the beginning, giving us the first insider’s view of what Hillary Rodham Clinton called “the vast right-wing conspiracy.” Whether dealing with the right-wing press, the richly endowed think tanks, Republican political operatives, or the Paula Jones case, Brock names names from Clarence Thomas on down, uncovers hidden links, and demonstrates how the Republican Right’s zeal for power created the poisonous political climate that culminated in George W. Bush’s election.Now in paperback and with a new afterword by the author, Blinded By the Right is a classic political memoir of our times.
Product Attributes
eBooks Kobo
Book Format Paperback
Number of Pages 0400
Publisher Three Rivers Press (CA)

More Buying Options

Seller Infomation Price & Shipping  
Buy.com
$10.97 + $2.90 shipping
Condition: Brand New
In Stock, 45 Day Returns

On Order
Add to Cart
Books2AnywhereUS $14.02 + free shipping
Condition: Brand New
In Stock
New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000.
Usually ships in 1 to 2 business days
Add to Cart
M and N Media $18.20 + $3.34 shipping
Condition: Used-Acceptable
In Stock

Usually ships in 1 to 2 business days
Add to Cart
Synergy Data Inc $22.38 + $0.42 shipping
Condition: Brand New
In Stock

Usually ships in 1 to 2 business days
Add to Cart
M and N Media $35.20 + $3.34 shipping
Condition: Used-Like New
In Stock
"We guarantee all of our items - customer service and satisfaction are our top priorities. Please allow 4 - 14 business days for Standard shipping, within the US. Thank you for supporting our small, family-owned business!"
Usually ships in 1 to 2 business days
Add to Cart
loading
$10.97 + $2.90 shipping
$16.00 You save $5.03 (31%)
Earn 11 ($0.11) Rakuten Super Points™
What are Rakuten Super Points™?
Get rewarded when you shop! Earn 1 point per dollar spent. That's like getting cash back on every purchase. Easy to see matured points in checkout. Use points just like cash.
Learn More
Format: Paperback
Condition: Brand New
More coming soon, order now. On Order
Please select an option to buy
Add to Cart

Sold By:  Buy.com
For Books, Music, Movies & TV place over $40 (before tax and shipping charges) of eligible products in your shopping basket. Not valid with marketplace products, other restrictions apply.
ADVERTISEMENT
Promotions & Offers (1)
  •  custom promo
    5% Back Sitewide with Promo Code REWARDME at Checkout - Ends 8/31/15 *See page for details
Buy From Other Sellers (5)
kobo
  • Take your library with you wherever you go
  • Use the device you want to use… smartphone, desktop and many of today’s most popular eReaders

WHY KOBO?

We love the Kobo eReading service… and we know you will too. We’ve partnered with them to bring you the most flexible, enjoyable eReading experience in the U.S.

SHOPPING ON KOBO

You’ll be asked to sign in or create a new account with Kobo. Once you do, you’ll immediately get access to millions of titles and be ready to start eReading. Anytime. Anyplace.

continue to kobo
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT