Ships from/sold by Buy.com
See All Buying Options
advertisement

Blood Meridian Or the Evening Redness in the West (Paperback)

Author:  Cormac McCarthy
Earn Super Points: Write a Review
37%
OFF
Sorry, this selection is currently unavailable.
Blood Meridian McCarthy, Cormac 1 of 1
$15.95
(Save 37%)
$10.03 + $2.90 SHIPPING
EARN 11 RAKUTEN SUPER POINTS™ Super Points
What are Rakuten Super Points™?
Get rewarded when you shop! Earn 1 point per dollar spent. That's like getting cash back on every purchase. Easy to see matured points in checkout. Use points just like cash.
Learn More
FORMAT: Paperback
CONDITION:  Brand New
IN STOCK: Usually Ships within 24 hours
1 New
from
$10.03
See all sellers
45 day return policy
Share
promo
 
Description
 

Product Details:

Format: Paperback
ISBN-10: 0679728759
ISBN-13: 9780679728757
Sku: 30118030
Publish Date: 5/1/1992
Dimensions:  (in Inches) 8.25H x 5.25L x 0.75T
Pages:  352
See more in Westerns
 
An epic novel of the violence and depravity that attended America''s westward expansion, Blood Meridian brilliantly subverts the conventions of the Western novel and the mythology of the "wild west." Based on historical events that took place on the Texas-Mexico border in the 1850s, it traces the fortunes of the Kid, a fourteen-year-old Tennesseean who stumbles into the nightmarish world where Indians are being murdered and the market for their scalps is thriving.
Publisher''s Note: The 25th Anniversary Edition has been reset, causing the text to reflow. Page references based on earlier editions will no longer apply, so Vintage Books has compiled the following chart as a conversion aid. Download the chart by copying and pasting the following link into your browser:
http: //knopfdoubleday.com/marketing/BloodMeridianPageReference.pdf
From the Publisher:
An epic novel of the violence and depravity that attended America's westward expansion, Blood Meridianbrilliantly subverts the conventions of the Western novel and the mythology of the "wild west."  Based on historical events that took place on the Texas-Mexico border in the 1850s, it traces the fortunes of the Kid, a fourteen-year-old Tennesseean who stumbles into the nightmarish world where Indians are being murdered and the market for their scalps is thriving.
Annotation:
Cormac McCarthy's BLOOD MERIDIAN is an epic nightmare of a novel. Set in the 1850s on the Tex-Mex border, it is about a 14-year-old runaway--known only as "the kid"--who comes of age in a brutal culture. Joining up with a gang of Indian-killers, the kid learns to kill Apaches for bounty. Barely escaping with his life from a group bent on revenge, he takes up with a larger-than-life figure called Judge Holden, a truly vicious man who represents all that is evil in humanity. In the end, it's the kid vs. the judge: only one will survive. The kid's journey through a landscape fraught with violence and horror is a kind of satire of the traditional literary epic quest, and an allegory of the transformation of the American west as it became increasingly despoiled by blood, greed, and its own fake heroic grandeur. Considered by many to be McCarthy's masterpiece, BLOOD MERIDIAN reads like an American parable of Biblical proportions, a dire warning for the fate of man.
Author Bio
Cormac McCarthy
One of America's most formidable, iconoclastic, and enigmatic writers, Cormac McCarthy has been critically acclaimed since the publication of his first novel, THE ORCHARD KEEPER, in 1965, but he has resolutely stayed outside of the limelight of the literary world, diligently building a canon of works hailed as following in the tradition of Melville and Joyce. His editor at Random House, Albert Erskine, had edited William Faulkner, and echoes of Faulkner appeared in McCarthy's novels about the brutal and surreal South. He grew up in Tennessee, the third of six children, and oldest boy, in a Roman Catholic family; he was originally named Charles, but renamed himself Cormac after an Irish king. After dropping out of the University of Tennessee, and serving four years stationed in Alaska in the U.S. Air Force, McCarthy married the poet Lee Holleman, and moved to Chicago where he worked as an auto mechanic while finishing his first novel. (After their marriage ended, Holleman wrote DESIRE'S DOOR, a book of poems about their relationship.) Using fellowship money from the American Academy of Arts and Letter, McCarthy traveled to Ireland; on the ship crossing, he met an Englishwoman, Anne DeLisle, and they were married in England in 1966. The two traveled Europe and lived on the island of Ibiza where he completed his second novel, OUTER DARK, a bleak parable about the birth, theft, and early death of a child born out of incest. Though his fiction received wide-spread acclaim, McCarthy's dark novels never achieved large sales. He survived through various grants (including a Guggenheim) and by living an austere lifestyle in a barn on a hog farm in Tennessee--he renovated it entirely by himself, building a stone chimney, cutting and kiln-drying wood, and making a fireplace out of bricks salvaged from the boyhood home. Despite their poverty, McCarthy would decline offers to speak or lecture, and has only given one print interview (to The New York Times). In 1985, after winning the McArthur "Genius Grant" McCarthy wrote BLOOD MERIDIAN, the first of his novels to be set in Texas and the Southwest, and considered by many to be his masterpiece. By this time, his second marriage had ended, and McCarthy was living in motels, carrying a high-watt bulb to write by. With ALL THE PRETTY HORSES, the first of his "Border Crossing" trilogy, McCarthy finally began to emerge in the public consciousness, and when in 2007 his post-apocalyptic novel THE ROAD was selected for the Oprah Book Club and won the Pulitzer Prize for Literature, his literary ascendance was complete. Over 1,000,000 copies of the novel were printed, and critics lavished praise on McCarthy's starkly riveting and prophetic prose. McCarthy's subjects have always been universal, Biblical, and filled with the desperation of humanity; in the 1980s, Saul Bellow honored McCarthy's "absolutely overpowering use of language, his life-giving and death-dealing sentences."

Praise

"A classic American novel of regeneration through violence...this is [McCarthy's] masterpiece." - Michael Herr

USA Today
"A Western that evokes the styles of both Sam Peckinpah and Hieronymus Bosch...McCarthy employs a neo-Biblical rhetoric, a soaring, pulsing...always stirring diction without parallel in American writing today." - Alan Cheuse

Independent (London)
"The book reads like a conflation of 'The Inferno,' the 'Iliad,' and 'Moby Dick'...an extraordinary, breathtaking achievement." - John Banville

Product Attributes
Product attributeeBooks:   Kobo
Product attributeBook Format:   Paperback
Product attributeNumber of Pages:   0352
Product attributePublisher:   Vintage Books USA
Advertisement Bottom